We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise noise noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Ranked #24 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Noise noise noise”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The rooms have no internal sound insulation. I could hear conversations in the next room last night. I was woken at about 5.30 by the noise from setting up the restaurant: jingling cutlery, plates and cups being placed down on glass tables. All morning, this din. And because the rooms all open onto gangways that overlook this restaurant atrium, it is going to be a problem for all the rooms. It is like being on a prison wing. The room is large enough and has good amenities with free wifi if you sign up to their frequent visitor programme, but the view I have is straight into an apartment window across the narrow alley outside. If my window opened (which it doesn't) I could have a chat with my "neighbour" in the apartment block as she's hanging towels out to dry on her balcony. We could almost shake hands.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Quelian,

Thank you for taking the time to write an online review from your most recent stay at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour. These reviews are an invaluable source of information and allow us to improve our standards and service.

I was sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our facilities. We completed a multi-million dollar refurbishment in February, which saw enhancements to our guestrooms, restaurant, bars and event spaces as well as our PARKROYAL Club Lounge and lobby.

Staying in a CBD-based hotel, you will find that there will be buildings around you, but at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour, you have the choice of staying in a room with a view of the city or with an outlook of Darling Harbour. Also, I would like to share with you that the hotel is an atrium hotel, so occasionally noise may travel throughout the building, but our staff do their utmost in preparing the restaurant with minimum noise.

I do apologise for any inconvenience that you encountered during your stay, and should you decide to stay at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour in the future, you can request a room away from the atrium.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write an online review.

Warm Regards

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    928
    230
    66
    53
See reviews for
577
1,038
81
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BRISBANE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel, more than three times. I remembered the first time was during Christmas, special cheap price on Christmas Day, big room, biggest double bed room. Water front view, just a bit hard for parking, no good for road trip.

Then a few time with friends, recommend to my family, they love it, even compare with other hotel in Australia, great location, decent beds.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank YINGJIE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear YINGJIE F,

Thank you so much for highlighting our excellent location - PARKROYAL Darling Harbour is close to some of Sydney's premier attractions, bars and restaurants.

We have an ongoing commitment to Creating Memorable Hotel Experiences for all of our guests and I was pleased to note that you found our facilities and services excellent.

I would like to share with you that we offer valet parking at the hotel and also have the option of self-parking.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward in welcoming you back to the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour in the near future.

Warm Regards

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband & I stayed 4 nights in August and from the minute we arrived we greeted by friendly staff and this continued throughout our stay including the restaurant staff. Our room was clean and beautifully presented and although we did not have a view of the harbour it was only a short walk away, and I imagine harbour views would be out of our price range. Room was quiet, bed extremely comfortable, all in all we would recommend this hotel to friends and family and if we ever return to Sydney we would stay here.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiejane44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear aussiejane44,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to Sydney. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour. Positive reviews such as yours only encourage us to further improve our services and facilities.

We would be delighted to welcome you back at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour on any of your future travels to Sydney.

Warm Regards

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormeau, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

First time we have stayed in Sydney and we had a wonderful time at the Park Royal Darling Harbour.
From the minute we arrived in the taxi we were greeted with outstanding customer service.
Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and went above and beyond for us.
Check in was a breeze also. As we arrived early we left our bags with the concierge and went for a walk, to be called very shortly after advising us our room was ready.
We had a club package which gave us use of the club lounge which was a wonderful experience and enjoyed the canapes and cocktails very much.
Our room had everything we required a very comfy bed, fantastic view of Darling Harbour,wide screen TV, delightful amenities which were heaven to use.
Buffet Breakfast didn't disappoint either, everything you would expect on a buffet and more.
We will certainly be back to stay at this hotel again as the experience was a happy one, we personally could not fault it and I have stayed in many hotels around the world. This hotel gets a rating 5 from me because of the way we were treated from start to finish and also because it was a very nice hotel which had everything we needed and more:)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki_kilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights and was generally underwhelmed. My booking described the hotel as refurbished, but on checking in I was offered a room on the 10th floor. I knew from Trip advisor that these rooms were not refurbished. I was then given a room on the 4th floor that looked straight out onto a noisy and visually distracting freeway. I persevered and was then given a room facing out the back of the hotel which was reasonably free of street noise. The drawback was that this all took about 40 minutes to sort out from my initial check-in.

The room was a good size, but with windows that do not open I had to constantly switch the aircon off and on to attempt to get a comfortable temperature on a very hot day. A reasonably sized desk and an ok bed but only furnished with pillows and no cushions. With only one rather hard armchair this left the room feeling a little spartan. The bar fridge was fairly quiet which I appreciated. The bathroom was adequate but the toiletries and bath towels were on the economy side with few frills. The hairdryer was good and thankfully not one of the built-in, underpowered models often found in hotels.

I ordered room service on one night and there was a good selection, the food wasn't bad and reasonably priced. There are lots of dining choices close by and a supermarket at Town Hall Station so your options are quite broad.

The main drawback was the noise from the other rooms, the soundproofing is really inadequate. I could hear music, televisions, conversations and coughing! If I had not been so tired from long days at work I don't think I would have slept at all.

Overall I thought the hotel was a little plain and spartan and certainly overpriced for what you get. I doubt I would stay again, as I said there are much better options in Sydney at this price range.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nina99Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear nina99Sydney,

Thank you for taking the time to write an online review from your most recent stay at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour. These reviews are an invaluable source of information and allow us to improve our standards and service.

I was sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our facilities. We completed a multi-million dollar refurbishment in February this year. The refurbishment included enhancements to our guestrooms, restaurant, bars and event spaces as well as our PARKROYAL Club Lounge and lobby. Also as part of our product upgrade, we have implemented new linen and new state-of-the-art televisions and will be rolling out new beds, a new television provider and installing sound proofing in 2014, ensuring extra comfort for our guests.


Once again, thank you for taking the time to write an online review. I sincerely hope that we can accommodate you in the future here PARKROYAL Darling Harbour.

Warm Regards

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
533 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 710 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent being a short stroll from the CBD and Darling Harbour. Staff were professional and friendly. We had room 1021 on the top floor. The view from the room although incorporating a main road (hard to avoid in the city) was excellent looking directly over Darling Harbour. The room was spacious with a comfortable king bed, a work desk and space to store your luggage. The blockout curtains worked well and sound proofing was good. The bathroom however was dated and worn with cheap fixtures with exposed screws and stains of years of use. It was quite a let down.
Breakfast was very good with a wide selection and a chef ready to cook your eggs to your liking. However some of the kitchen staff took shortcuts when cleaning up the tables. If cutlery looked like it had not been used they left it there for the next guest. We found this off putting.
Overall a quality hotel but given the exorbitant price despite booking two months in advance we expected a faultless and high quality stay. It did reinforce however that for whatever reason Sydney has made itself a very expensive city.

Room Tip: Room 1021 is located at the end of the hall so minimises corridor noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieTravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear TassieTravellers99,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the comments and feedback from your most recent stay at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour. The responses our guests provide us with are an invaluable source of information and allow us to improve our standards and service.

As part of our ongoing commitment to Creating Memorable Hotel Experiences we completed a multi-million dollar refurbishment in February. The refurbishment included enhancements to the majority of our guestrooms, restaurant, bars, event spaces, gymnasium as well as our PARKROYAL Club Lounge and lobby. I would like to share with you that we will be undergoing a refurbishment to the remainder of our guest rooms in early 2014 to bring them inline with the rest of the hotel.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and I do hope that you will return to the hotel to see the final refurbished product.

Kind Regards

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horsens
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Booked refurbished king room with dazzling views over Darling Harbour - got a "worn out - have seen better days" non-refurbished room on the 10th floor that have NOT been refurbished yet and the view was mainly a lot of roads. Checked in reception - they said we got the room that was booked for us????? I actually feel a bit, no not a bit a lot ripped off - of good points I can say that the refurbished parts looks nice and would assume the rooms are nice as well. The hotel is in handy walking distance to Darling Harbour.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dk-rasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear dk-rasmus,

Thank you for taking the time to write an online review from your most recent stay at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour. These reviews are an invaluable source of information and allow us to improve our standards and service.

I was sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our facilities. The majority of the hotel underwent a multi-million dollar refurbishment in February which included enhancements to a large number of guestrooms, restaurant, bars and event spaces as well as our PARKROYAL Club Lounge and lobby.

I would like to share with you that our guest rooms on Level 1 and 10, which are yet to be refurbished will be undergoing a transformation in early 2014 to bring them inline with the rest of the hotel.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write an online review. I sincerely hope that we can accommodate you in the future here at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour in one of our refurbished rooms.

Warm Regards

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,448 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney

Property: PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Address: 150 Day St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#29 Business Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Darling Harbour Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing