We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely located around sydney tourist attraction ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Ranked #24 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nicely located around sydney tourist attraction ...”
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel last week during our holiday trip to sydney. The hotel was under heavy renovation until late 2012 (start 9 AM to 5 PM you can hear the construction worker is startin to get busy). So we asked for the room that facing darling harbour and away from the renovation noise. The reception staff was really helpful to provide our request and gave us the newly renovated room.

Loved the location ! Just 5 minutes away from Darling Harbour where you can find all the nice restaurants, tourist attractions, and ferries to the circular quay. Very close to the CBD area and just couple blocks away from The Australian Museum. It also located just 1 block from Townhall Train Station, so for those who dont want to take taxi from the airport, can just hop on to the city circle train and stop at this station (takes around 20 minutes & AUD 15) ....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojdrahaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear ojdrahaR,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience on TripAdvisor. There is no greater satisfaction, as a customer service professional, than receiving kind words from a valued guest.

As you have mentioned we are currently undertaking a multi-million dollar refurbishment which will enhance our guest rooms, restaurant, bar, event spaces, lobby as well as our PARKROYAL Club Lounge. We are very excited about the finished product and look forward to sharing it with our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,392
    953
    236
    68
    53
See reviews for
589
1,060
83
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

It seems a bit unfair to review this hotel, as it was being refurbished during our three-night stay in August. The upper floors were curtained off, spoiling the impression of the open-plan atrium, and the lifts were approached through an undecorated external walk. That said, we were made welcome and comfortable. The staff were briskly attentive and our two rooms were new and efficiently furnished. One, with its dark grey walls and lack of pictures, seemed a tad soulless but had an uncluttered comfort about it. The location is perfect, with the soothing Chinese Garden a five minute walk away as well as Darling Harbour, with its aquarium, maritime museum, bars and restaurants. We dined at various places around the harbour every night and were impressed by the choices of cuisine available. We slept well - the traffic was unobtrusive and the workmen, external and internal, hammered and drilled only during civilised hours so there was no disturbance. i look forward to staying here again when its facelift is complete.

Room Tip: Our rooms were at the back, with views of a building site and flats, whereas the ones overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorucak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Dorukac,

Firstly, thank you for your online review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour.

We are getting closer to the finish line and look forward to presenting our new product very soon. I was very pleased to hear that you found our services and location of quality standard and that you found our staff attentive.

We do hope to welcome you back to PARKROYAL Darling Harbour in the near future for your next stay and experience our new rooms and facilities.

Warm Regards,

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Was kind of disappointed when my rooms were not ready upon my arrival as I specifically paid for one more night to make sure we could have an early check in. Was told that there could be some miscommunication between the hotel and my travel agent. This was quickly resolved by Stanley who was on duty and had to bear the brunt of my unhappiness. He arranged for an upgrade for both rooms and breakfast at the Restaurant while we waited for our rooms to be ready in about an hour's time.

I was also impressed with Scott and Olec (hope i got his name right) at the Concierge. They were very helpful with our sightseeing and flight confirmations as well as queries on getting around the place. Well done!

The rooms could be better, eg the rainshower, even after we turned the shower off, the water continues dripping for a long while. The soap holder was loose and rather small so we had to leave our bottles on the floor :(. Otherwise the rooms were quite spacious and comfy beds :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummybee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear mummybee73 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write an online review from your most recent stay at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour. These reviews are an invaluable source of information and allow us to improve our standards and service.

I was sorry to hear that you were disappointed your room was not ready for you to check in upon your arrival. I am however pleased to hear that Stanley was able to assist you and that you were pleased with the result. I will pass this on to Stanley as well as Scott and Oleg in Concierge.

You will be pleased to note; that as part of our ongoing commitment to Creating Memorable Hotel Experiences we are currently embarking on a multi-million dollar refurbishment scheduled to finish late 2012. The refurbishment will include enhancements to our guestrooms, restaurant, bars and event spaces as well as our PARKROYAL Club Lounge and lobby. The refresh will reflect the individuality of its location and provide a modern, comfortable and supportive guest environment. Also as part of our product upgrade, we will be implementing new pillows to ensure extra comfort for all of our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write an online review. I sincerely hope that we can accommodate you in the future here PARKROYAL Darling Harbour.

Warm Regards,

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Central
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel is excellently situated, a few minutes from Town Hall Station. Our room was on a refurbished floor (5th). The room and bathroom were beautifully appointed and lacked nothing. Breakfast in the restaurant was good value, plenty of choice including a comprehensive gluten free choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
2 Thank Moira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Moira P,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us here at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour.

I am delighted to read that you appreciated our great location as well as our newly refurbished rooms which we are very proud of. I am also extremely happy that we could cater for you for breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you once again for providing such a positive review.

Warm Regards,

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Excellent location, First time we stayed at this hotel and we will certainly return.The room was large and the staff were very helpful. The bed was very comfortable. even though our room was next to the highway we did not hear any traffic noise. Staying at this hotel helped make our stay in Sydney an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sluggoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear sluggoMelbourne ,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to Sydney. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour. Positive reviews such as yours only encourage us to further improve our services and facilities.

We would be delighted to welcome you back PARKROYAL Darling Harbour on any of your future travels to Sydney.

Warm Regards,

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very well located close to Darling Harbour and just a few minutes walk from George St. Excellent service as you'd expect from a quality-brand business hotel. As noted by others there's currently a small irritant with daytime construction noise but all hotels have to refurbish from time to time. And it is time for the Park Royal to be renovated: the guest rooms in particular need newer & better quality furniture (the cabinetry seems aging and not of top quality). Yes, I'd be happy to return for a third time...

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TimSWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear TimSWellington,

Firstly, thank you for your online review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour.

I would like apologize for any inconvenience caused due to our refurbishment, we are getting closer to the finish line and look forward to the finished product. I was very pleased to hear that you found our services and location of quality standard.

We do hope to welcome you back to PARKROYAL Darling Harbour in the near future for a third time and experience our new rooms and facilities.

Warm Regards,

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

For the price and 4star rating, i don't think it's worth it.
The hotel is awkward to get to and it really isn't as easy to get to Darling harbour as it should be (because there's a big highway and main roads surrounding the hotel with no direct access for pedestrians)
I stayed in a regular room once and it was really run down and a little dated. The bed was good though, but when i laid down in the tub to relax, the first thing you see is all the ugly trimmings and wiring and everything underneath the sink, and then theres a shower mat which was gross and broken.
I stayed in an executive suite once and it was REALLY dated... I only got the room because they made a stuff up with pricing on Wotif and only paid $200 for a saturday night... They were selling this room type for $450 that night.. Thank god i didn't pay $450 or i would've been REALLY unhappy.. The room looked like it was a luxury suite from the 70s.. The bar fridge barely worked and was about 10-15yo and had that grainwood plastic sheeting glued onto it.. The bathroom was nice but again very dated..
I wouldn't stay here again unless it was for a really good price and there was nothing better

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Branden1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Branden1990,

Thank you for taking the time to write an online review from your most recent stay at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour. These reviews are an invaluable source of information and allow us to improve our standards and service.

I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us due to the look and feel of our hotel. You will be pleased to note however, that as part of our ongoing commitment to Creating Memorable Hotel Experiences we are currently embarking on a multi-million dollar refurbishment scheduled to finish late 2012. The refurbishment will include enhancements to our guestrooms, restaurant, bars and event spaces as well as our PARKROYAL Club Lounge and lobby. The refresh will reflect the individuality of its location and provide a modern, comfortable and supportive guest environment. Also as part of our product upgrade, we will be implementing new pillows to ensure extra comfort for all of our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write an online review. I sincerely hope that we can accommodate you in the future here PARKROYAL Darling Harbour.

Warm Regards,

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#68 of 179 in Sydney
750 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 179 in Sydney
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney

Property: PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Address: 150 Day St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#29 Business Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Darling Harbour Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing