We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good service and fair price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Ranked #24 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester,UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, good service and fair price”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Chose this hotel to be near to Darling Harbour
Checked in early after an overnight flight and staff were extremely helpful
Great location - can walk to retaurants on Darling Harbour and Circular Key is not far

Room Tip: Try to get a harbour view room as high as possible - great at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    928
    230
    66
    53
See reviews for
577
1,038
81
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Hotel is conveniently located in city centre with a short walk to Darling Harbour (restaurants, Sydney Aquarium and ferries). Rooms were large and had modern furnishings. However, rooms were a bit dated. Hotel was built some time ago and rooms could use some renovation. It could be cleaner and more kept up given it's self-proclaimed 4.5 star rating. Need to verify charges before checking out. We were charged breakfast and internet even though they were included in the room rate. The front desk quickly corrected the problem. Concierge was helpful with recommending excursions. Breakfast buffet was good quality with plenty of choices.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlee9097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Gr8 location right opposite Darling Harbor, Cockle Bay Cafe precinct & 2 blocks from Chinatown. Very quite location for sleeping ie NO street noise - but walls a little thin , could hear people in next room talking and TV but after 10pm not a problem!

We got a deal thru the internet ... the hotel is not super flash but is super clean and gr8 value for money. Trific location! Early check in and late check out no problem. We spent 2 days in Sydney ... for the City2surf run all good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzycruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

An overnight business stay at the Parkroyal Darling Harbour was fine, a room upgrade, high floor, good views, low outside noise, efficient check in and out, all spoiled by the penny pinching surcharge of my credit card.

First the good points. Very close to Darling Harbour, where I needed to be, just a short walk from the exhibitions centre.

The booking was made direct with the hotel, through a live reservation person, not through the web site as this was playing up. I was asked for my credit card details and this was given and accepted without question or comment.

Prompt check in and convinced by the receptionist to join the Parkroyal frequent user programme. For this I would get a room upgrade this visit, plus 2 free bottles of water, normal value $5.00 each. Not a bad deal so I joined. I was asked for my credit card as room guarantee and this was accepted also without question or comment.

Nice high room, overlook Darling Harbour, with great views, little or no road noise, clean and comfortable bed.

Prompt check out, but on tendering my credit card again for final payment was blythly informed a surcharge would be added.

The insidious surcharging of credit cards is just wrong. Having been in the card and hospitailty industry for many years I know hotels have always included card costs in their overheads and this surchraging is just a quick way to make more money.

This hotel had two chances to inform me of their card surcharging policy, on reservation and on check in, they chose not to do so, I guess so as not to lose a booking. (they would have lost me)

I have now come acrooss this card surcharging twice in recent months in Australia, and no where else in my frequent travlels. The cost is small, for now, but like all surcharges, they grow, (Think flight fuel surcharges)

The hotel was fine for the stay and if you don't mind being ripped off by extra charges for using a credit card, this hotel will serve your purposes well, if you object to a card surcharge look elswhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wizardoz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

From the elegant and comfortable foyer, with comfy chairs, newspapers and magazines and friendly, efficient staff, to the upgraded room (with a Darling Harbour view - otherwise no different from my colleagues' rooms), this hotel delighted. I have recently tried a few places around Darling Harbour, and they were all fine, but this was the finest. It's on the Cockle Bay side, is good value and has a pleasant 'feel' to it .

The room was comfortable and very clean, with many pillows. I don't like doonas, and it took me a while to track the blanket down to its resting place in a drawer, but it was there. I had two comfortable arm chairs and a desk chair, a long desk and a small table, a good TV with controls that worked from the bed, lights that were generally well-located (and some of which had dimmers), responsive heating, drawer storage (once the blanket came out), two large mugs for tea, and a safe.

Bathroom large and bright, with a long bench and a separate shower. It would be helpful to have a shelf in the shower for holding shampoo and conditioner; there is only the floor or the high walls. Generous with towels and products.

Very minor downside: the really odd artwork on the walls of our rooms. Looked like a blow-up of a few brightly-coloured amoeba. Not my taste, but not significant in the scheme of things.

Room Tip: There is an atrium, so if you want a quiet room, request one in the corridor away from the atrium or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EJHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
269 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife and 6-year-old joined me on their first visit to Sydney, and the ParkRoyal Hotel at Darling Harbour was a great choice. After flying from Abu Dhabi to Sydney (via Singapore), there was nothing like a quiet hotel room and black-out curtains to let us catch up to the time change.

Great location, great staff, and a great Hotel made for a memorable trip. If you would like a hotel right next to Darling Harbour with easy access to Circular Quay and other attractions (5 minute walk to the Town Hall train station), this is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneInaMillion50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krokstadelva, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We arrived early in the morning (around 6 am) and got access to the room at once. Very nice since the night flight was tiresome and we were awfully tired arriving in Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elly Therese T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,446 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney

Property: PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Address: 150 Day St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#29 Business Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Darling Harbour Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing