We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special”
Review of Manly Beach

Manly Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$227.25*
and up
Northern Beaches Private Sydney Day tour
Ranked #12 of 472 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: SHOP .....in the sunshine with over 200 stores to explore. Discover funky boutiques in hidden lane ways, wander through the weekend outdoor markets or splurge on a whole new wardrobe on The Corso. At every turn, it's sheer shopping pleasure to satisfy everyone. TASTE .....an amazing array of flavours in over 100 cafes, restaurants, bars and eateries. Whether it's a lingering lunch of classy dining, a sumptuous seafood selection for dinner, fast and fresh takeaway or a walk along the beach front with an ice cream in hand. Any time of day or night, you'll find a taste to tempt. LIVE .....life and discover your hidden talents. Get active with surfing, sailing, scuba diving... and everything in between! Take a dip at the beach, or try your hand at beach volleyball. And when relaxation is on the agenda, treat yourself to a hotel stay or enjoy some pampering at one of our many salons. The perfect place for adventure or to relax and explore. FEEL ..... the sand between your toes after a long day at work. Absorb the geography and the nature that makes Manly special. Nestled between the harbour and the ocean, over 40 beaches and walkways give an escape to the daily grind. Just cast out a fishing line, pack a picnic basket, or bask in the sun. Relax in your favourite spot and soak up the serenity.
western Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

its a beach, maybe great for surfing, I don't know. For families, its like a busy WA beach anywhere with more yellow sand. Didn't excite us. Manly itself was beautiful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank goodolmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,297
    1,794
    416
    46
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice beach and great shops”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Manly has 1) A nice ferry ride associate with it (from Circular Quay), 2) Many shops and food choices (had Kangaroo Burger and Barramundi Fish and Chips), and 3) nice beach.

From the ferry, you have to walk across the town to get to the beach side. There are maps everywhere directing you how to get around Manly.

If you forgot sunscreen, there are many "Discount Shops" that will sell it from $10 (100ml tube) to $12 (200ml tube).

After 3PM (when I went) the trees shade the beach a little too much cooling it down (-1 star). The waves are unpredictable as well. The first day I went they were 4-6 feet. The second time I went, they were less than a foot.

Overall I would recommend this as one of the things to do in Sydney.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Griesimatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Serenity”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Manly beach is full of activity! There are great cafes, restaurants and shops lining the water, always plenty to do, or you can sit and relax on the waters edge.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EliseH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best days ever!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We drove to Manly as we were staying south of the City. We tried to park on the front overlooking the beach but realised it was short stay and very expensive so we headed towards one of the 3 or 4 other car parks that were signed and found a reasonably priced multi-story just a short walk from the beach. We played with our 3 and 6 year old kids on the beach all day and they thoroughly enjoyed being in and out of the sea in the safe swimming area. It's the furthest I've ever been in the sea (wet hair!!) and smiled all day. Do not (unlike the fool we watched have to be rescued) ignore the flags!The beach was clean and the loos were fine. Picnic area was great and a good shady break from the sun. Ben and Jerrys Ice Cream parlour was a pleasing find too. I count down the time 'til we can return to this fantastic beach!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizzy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
379 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Lovely beach with good views”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We too the walk from one end of manly beach to the other and enjoyed it. The only reason I haven't gone with 5 starts is that the bit where it joins the street from Manly Ferry is really busy with both people and seagulls. The seagulls are really aggressive and will try to pinch whatever you are eating.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manly Beach also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Manly Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing