We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and a pleasant place to spend time”

Royal Botanic Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.40*
and up
Sydney: Bondi Beach and Kings Cross Tour plus Sydney Harbour Lunch Cruise
Ranked #7 of 472 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely location and a pleasant place to spend time”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

In Macquarie Street and quite extensive. Can be approached from the foreshore and worthwhile looking across to the harbour. Cafe here is quite good. A good place to stroll around, lie down and relax, have a picnic; no alcohol.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,726
    1,739
    220
    28
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautifully space”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I had a few hours to kill before checking in to my hotel and decided to have a wander around the gardens. They really are beautiful and you can spend a long time here. Lots of different trees, flowers and birds are on show and the whole area is wonderfully well kept.

If you start from the art gallery/Domain end your trip with culminate with a view across the water of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge.

Helpful?
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A work of love”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Take your time to walk along the beautiful paths and trails within the gardens. I was here in late Feb. so many of the spring blooms were lonf gone. Take you time in the rose garden to enjoy the many varities of fragerant roses. We arrived after a few days of heavy winds and rain and the staff had done a spectacular job of resoration.
Pack a picnic lunch and enjoy the many great features of the gardens! My favorite was the fern garden.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jchopstix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You could get lost in these gardens..”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I loved the Botanic Gardens so much history, art and I love different flowers from all over the world plus I love the way they have different gates linking with different parts of the city so I walked from Potts Point over to the Harbour with a lovely view of pretty flowers :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The best part of this visit is that it was FREE! What a beautiful oasis in the city near the Opera House. It is certainly worth the time to walk through and enjoy a leisurely stroll.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hyattsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Botanic Gardens also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Royal Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing