We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed in Jimmi Liks Asian food and restaurant in Kings cross Victoria street”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Cross

Kings Cross
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.98*
and up
Sydney, Bondi Beach and Kings Cross Afternoon Tour
Ranked #122 of 470 things to do in Sydney
Attraction details
Sutton, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed in Jimmi Liks Asian food and restaurant in Kings cross Victoria street”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

My partner and I went there for dinner. It was the most expensive meal for a very average food experience. The cocktails were very expensive (15 dollars ) and that consisted in a glass three quarters full of ice cube. It was extremely noisy on a Friday evening. The food was below average and very fat. We were told we could not sit opposite each other at the large communal tables, and were crammed on a little one next to very noisy customers. We each paid 80 dollars. so for a total of $167, we had below average food, and noisy meal and felt taken for granted. The only advantage, it was 5 mn from our hotel, waiters were nice and service was quick. This is to be compared to a lebanese restaurant Junnis desert at Walsh bay where we had a very nice meal and a bottle of champagne for 70 dollars at 3 pm one afternoon with a view hard to match by the bay. Why so much contrast??

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank val s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    93
    90
    54
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Real Kings X”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have lived here my whole life. Kings Cross has some beautiful cafe's and is just near the stunning harbour.

But it has also been Sydney's most dangerous red light district since the 50's so do be careful and streetwise should you visit
Paste this video into your browser to see a real glimpse of "The Cross"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jpuQ9UnPAPg

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MisterJMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goor
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kings Cross; Great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I've been numerous times in Sydney, stayed many times in Kings Cross!
I've never seen any violence in/on her Streets.
visited several bars; my favorites B&B and the Fountain Bar...good food and cold beer!
every now and then You might see some drunk people and/or junks.
But remember, it's a big city and this happens in every big city!
'The Cross' will remain one of my fave spots in Sydney.
It's just like Amsterdam; if You heven't been in the Redlight District, You haven't been in Amsterdam...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman56_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“no where near expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you visit Kings Cross don't have high expectations. The suburb (that'
s what is is) has a certain amount of sleaze and reputation. During the day it is ordinary and really only kicks into gear after midnight when it can get a bit dangerous with all the drunks and riffraff. Not recommended for the faint hearted or sensible.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not a plesent place to be in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I work near by, sometimes I have to pass from/to train station or one of the banks. You feel your passing a lot of dangers around. What strengthen this feeling the continuous presence of police around.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank m76gmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Cross also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing