We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Sydney Fish Market
from $66.80
More Info
from $144.70
More Info
from $51.20
More Info
Reviews (1,970)
Filter reviews
1,411 results
Traveler rating
557
556
177
69
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
556
177
69
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood prawns fresh oysters abalone pacific oysters bottle shop light rail anzac bridge sit outside for sale behind the scenes central station darling harbour seagulls stalls auction fishmarket
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,411 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

Has been in Sydney for a while and we decided to finally visit Sydney Fish Market. It was expensive and sheep in presentation. This could be such a nice place but you just get the feeling someone is trying to milk as much money as they can out of you.

Thank 355rogerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my hubby went there for a meal at noon. We took bus 501 from St. Mary's Cathedral and reach there after a short walk. The place was packed with many tourists but luckily, we found seats outdoor and manage to eat in a much quieter and breezy ambience.

We went for Peter's where they served tasty warm whole Barramundi fish with chips at AUD18.50. Their salt and pepper calamari is a little too salty and it was cold.

I would recommend the aburi scallops which was sold from a stand alone stall that specialized in scallops and oysters. They cook it on the spot after taking your order. Wow, it was so tasty with all the melted cheese and fish roe.

Overall, it was a good experience but do try to go early to avoid the crowd.

Thank rezziet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a selection of high quality fresh seafood! Great prices, and options to eat there or take away. Its a MUST VISIT if you enjoy this kind of food and market experience

Thank MarcR3032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The market has various kind of seafoods. It's so attractive for who loves seafood: huge king crabs, prawns, oysters, baby octopus,...
Highly recommend when you're in Sydney.

Thank Le H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you’re visiting Sydney with limited time, this is not a must-do, but there is a decent selection of seafood, most of which is clearly marked if it comes from Japan, China, etc rather than being local.

Thank 677JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you love seafood you must visit this place. Wide selection of any seafood you can think of and so many great vendors to choose from. Patio seating by the water great view of Anzac Bridge. Beware of seagulls do not leave food unattended. Avoid the large tourist buses at lunch it gets very busy & crowded. Go between after 1:30pm. Visit the wine/beer shop buy a bottle to have with your meal.

Walking distance from Barangaroo/Darling harbor.

Thank Travelling_from_YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Best variety of seafood in Australia - always fresh and always delicious! Make sure you include in your visit down under

Thank Dragonboater_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my second visit to the fish market but my husband’s first. My daughter and her teenage son who accompanied us visit regularly. It is just wonderful to see all the piles of fresh fish and seafood displayed. There is such a variety and so many weird and wonderful fish I never knew existed. The place is bustling with people buying and eating. There are many cafes and restaurants where one can eat too and it is all very competitively priced. It can be rather noisy and the ground is damp with run off from the ice so don’t wear smart shoes. Surprisingly, it doesn’t smell fishy at all, just fresh and salty although in the summer months this may be different. There are of course lots of seagulls and other seabirds like ibis around but this adds to the ambience. It’s well worth a visit.

Thank philippa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

In you like Sea food go, look and eat. I went early morning. But this is not necessary. The market is open all day.

Relax watch, eat and enjoy.

Thank 3000refs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We bought so many delicious seafood (we couldn't help it) at Peter's and ended up with full stomach.. lol

Thank vallerie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews