We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down”
Review of Bondi Beach

Bondi Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.37*
and up
Sydney, Bondi Beach and Kings Cross Afternoon Tour
Ranked #32 of 474 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Bondi Beach is famous for its glistening ocean, pristine sands, reliable surf and seaside spirit. It's laid back coastal lifestyle, cafe culture, boutique shops and thriving, eclectic community is equally enticing.Come and enjoy the quintessential Australian culture and surf lifestyle of this vibrant seaside community!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Run down”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The beach is crowded, parking is hard to find or very expensive and there's nothing there that makes one want to stay very long. In fact it's a rather grotty area which is in desperate need of a radical facelift. Hard to find a clean-looking eatery and lots of cheap and nasty shops. Full of backpackers which gives an indication of the standard of the place. Stay long enough to take a photo, then go elsewhere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rosaposer165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,166
    1,499
    721
    158
    43
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Iconic Beach, must see but not as nice as other spots in Sydney”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I keep coming back to Bondi just because it is such an iconic place and a quirky one, but every time I return I see it more and more run down. I normally have a beer or a coffee there and then move on. The Council should make an effort to revive and restore the place, starting with the Pavillion. I must say the free 2 hour Wi-Fi is fantastic! Will come back, like the place anywhow. Recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elsita72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A lazy day at Bondi Beach.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We braved the public transit system and bussed and trained it to Bondi. At the train station, an attendant corrected me to say Bondeye, not Bondee as I had been mispronouncing it. It was a weekday and the beach was not crowded. Fabulous white sugar sand, blue blue water and fearless surfers made it a memorable trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rcurry17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Stunning beach”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a beautiful beach with pristine white sand which was reflecting in the sunlight on the day we were there. I t was busy with people enjoying the facilities. The promenade is long and again busy with people jogging or going back and forward with surfboards. The surrounding area could be doing with some attention as some of the shelters and outbuildings are in need of decoration.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clishmaclaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
239 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Visit but don't linger”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

It is somewhere you have to visit if in Sydney but I found it quite disappointing. The beach is clean but quite small and is full of all sorts of people strutting their stuff. The shops on the roadside are tacky and feel a little run down. Visit, take your photos, walk on the beach then leave! Manley is far more pleasant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank alfielanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bondi Beach also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Bondi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing