We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simpsons of Potts Point Just Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Ranked #18 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at this lovely little hotel on a quiet street in Potts Point. Very friendly and helpfull staff Keith and Ree are full of intesting facts and places to visit in Sydney. Immaculate rooms (they only have 12) well looked after far better than sterile chain hotels! Plenty of places to eat nearby and easy to wak into the city via the botaical gardens. The place to stay in this great city.

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thankyou for that kind Review.

Our dear old housekeeper, Juanna, who has been with us for over ten years,was especially gratified to hear you comments, as she does try so hard to keep everything immaculate.. Being an old building, it is often difficult to keep up with all the maintenance issues, but we do hope that our guests will forgive the odd paint chip here and there in return for the ambience of our lovely old mansion house.

Ree and I do enjoy sharing our knowledge of Sydney, and trying to show guests some of its hidden secrets they may not otherwise get to visit !

And yes, the walk into the C.B.D., along the Harbour and through the Domain Park, or the Royal Botanic Gardens is a real tonic ! Marie walks each day to work, near the Queen Victoria Building, in about 20-minutes, and tells me she enjoys every minute of it !.

Thanks again for your thoughtful Review.

Cheers....Keith and all of us at "Simpsons" !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 942 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our second stay at Simpsons. Cannot recommend this place too highly. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is superb. the rooms well-appointed, and the atmosphere of the whole place is wonderfully welcoming. Location is excellent for a pleasant walk into the city centre, and of course the local facilities in Potts Point.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thankyou Andrew for your kind words.

I am glad that you complimented us on our breakfast. Whilst our complimentary little buffet is not large, it is tasty and healthy, with a good range of interesting choices. Marie and Ree try to vary it as much as possible, and there seems to be something for most palates.

Marie's home-made rhubarb and apple compote is especially popular, and is very tasty with our Greek-style yoghurt, and Swiss-mix muesli! Yummy !

We are not able to offer hot food, for those who need the traditional " fried bacon and eggs style", there are a number of great "people-watching" cafes within a few minutes walk.

Thanks again for your Review....it does make all the difference, and we do appreciate it!

Cheers....Keith and all of us here at "Simpsons" !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Simpsons of Potts Point is a beautiful hotel or rather house dating back to the 19th century, marvelously decorated and situated in a very enjoyable area with many restaurants and shops. A bus stop nearby to Circular Quay and Kings Cross Station is within walking distance. The owners are very welcoming and friendly and can suggest several highlights of Sydney. The rooms and the breakfast are excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

We remember these nice guys from the Netherlands. Thay did enjoy our Potts Point neighbourhood, and the friendly local restaurant scene.

We are close enough to walk into town (Marie works near the Strand Arcade in George Street and walks door-to-door, each day in 20-minutes), yet far enough away to avoid the "busyness" of the commercial centre, (an unintentional play on words!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Simpsons is a magnificently appointed heritage mansion full of charm and character. The large rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and very comfortable. Located close to funky bars and cafes in the edgy Potts Point neighborhood, the Simpsons offers that perfect boutique hotel experience without being too far from the iconic landmarks of Sydney.

The staff are delightful! Thank you Keith, Marie and Ree for such warm and friendly service. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheriff U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Yes, we do love the Potts Point area, and so it seems do a lot of our Australian visitors. Melbourne is a very gracious city, with lots of great locations, but certainly Sydney has it for scenic location, and Potts Point is just far enough away from the "hustle and bustle" of the C.B.D., but close enough to walk in.

Thanks Sherriff for your kind words. We do appreciate it!

Cheers....Keith and all of us here at "Simpsons" !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have just had my third stay at Simpson's. The location is perfect: close to the practical and the exotic when it comes to shopping and dining; close to transport or, even better, a very walkable distance into the city centre; close to the harbour. Simpson's hosts are a delight - knowledgeable about their city and the history of the house itself, flexible, attentive without being intrusive, and very smooth organisation-wise. The three rooms I've stayed in were quite different in set up but equally clean, comfortable, stylish and light. Windows looking out over the rooftops give you a special perspective of the city and the local area. Sherry in the lounge before dinner, port when you finally wander back after a big day out. Treat yourself to Simpson's - you'll love it.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a bigger bathroom if sharing or if you are a larger body build.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Hi Peta !

Thankyou for that nice Review!

We do love returning guests, the best compliment one can receive!

I think that peta has summed us up very well. Thankyou.

We look forward to seeing you next year !

Cheers....Keith and all of us here at "Simpsons" !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Lovely hosts, lovely room and nestled in the best part of Sydney. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back (hopefully with slightly less of a hangover). Big thanks to Ree for her wonderful hospitality and to Keith for the superb breakfast! Andrew and Nerissa

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thanks Andrew!

Glad that you enjoyed your time with us!

Not so sure about that hang-over! Hopefully the healthy breakfast acted as a cure !

Ree also says "thankyou" for staying !

Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers......Keith and all of us here at "Simpsons" !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

A lovingly restored Arts and Crafts house furnished with beautiful period pieces. More like staying in a home than a hotel and far removed from chain hotels. It is ideally situated in a quiet area but within easy walking distance of the Botanical Gardens and the Sydney Opera House. Everyone was so friendly and helpful giving us lots of tips on places to stay. Found by accident on the net but will remain in our address book next time we come to Sydney.

Room Tip: There is no lift so choose ground floor if you have problems with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thanks Jane!

We are pleased that you just found us on the net!

We thankyou for your kind Review, and are glad that you enjoyed the various outings we planned for you.

Sydney is such a beautiful city, so we always feel a little disappointed when we hear that guests have only visited the traditional tourist spots, rather than some of the hidden secrets that the City has to offer.

Thanks again Jane.

Cheers....Keith and all of us here at "Simpsons" !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 186 in Sydney
1,510 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 186 in Sydney
2,126 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $188 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing