We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay in everyway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Ranked #16 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay in everyway.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

A first class place to stay..We enjoyed our time immensely at Simpsons.Our bedroom was the Challis room which was a beautiful heritage room equipped with all the modern conveniences.An ideal location to explore the main sights of Sydney.We loved the welcoming sherry and the breakfast.We found Keith, Marie and Ree most helpful and friendly with lots of suggestions.Definitely a place to return to and strongly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0ymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
We remember this charming couple from Dublin, out visiting their daughter in Adelaide!

So pleased that you found us friendly, and helpful. We do try to be!

Thankyou for your recommendation!

Cheers....Keith and the gang at "Simpsons" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    160
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
116
562
75
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invermere, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Simpson's of Potts Point Hotel in central Sydney provides an accommodation experience at a beautifully appointed heritage site that perfectly complements a visit to that great city. The owners, Keith and Marie, engage personally and most helpfully with guests.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thanks Dale!

Yes, Marie and I, and of course Ree and Damien, do try to mingle with our guests, without being intrusive, to try to assist them in gaining the best out of their (usually) short visit, and to see our beautiful City.

Cheers....Keith and the gang at "Simpsons" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were booked in here for 3 nights prior to walking in the Blue Mountains. The bush fires having put paid to the walking we had a hole in our itinerary but after our first night in Simpsons we had no hesitation in extending our stay by another 3 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The welcome from Ree was warm and friendly and she was ready with lots of suggestions for walks and activities. Thanks to her we found out about Sculpture by the Sea at Bondi which we enjoyed enormously. Everyone was helpful with ideas of things to do (especially in the rain!) and took an interest in what we'd done the day before.

The location is not central but it's very good from several points of view: there are so many decent restaurants within a few minutes' walk; it's a street without too much traffic; the bus service is reasonably frequent and it's only 10 minutes' walk to Kings Cross railway station. (The Kings Cross area can be quite exciting, especially in the evenings, but we never felt particularly unsafe). It takes just under 30 minutes to walk to the Opera House and much of that is a delightful stroll through the Botanical Gardens.

The house itself is substantial and beautifully built with some lovely period features (the stained glass, for example). Our room was one of the dormer rooms and we liked it. Not as big as rooms on the lower floors so there wasn't room for a sofa but were still very comfortable. Good firm bed and a luxurious bathroom and shower.

We used the sitting room on the ground floor a few times, a big space with lots of comfortable armchairs and sofas and loads of books for browsing. Oh, and the complimentary sherry and port was a bit of a pull, of course!

We enjoyed the very decent continental breakfast, especially the fantastic selection of breads, muffins and crumpets. Very drinkable coffee, too.

Wifi worked well in the ground floor sitting room but we could only connect sporadically up in our room - I think this is being worked on. The PC in the sitting room was ok for basic browsing but could do with a technology refresh. The most minor of blips in a most enjoyable stay.

Thank you all!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to comment on all the positive factors about us, and our interesting neighbourhood!

Glad that you enjoyed what we have to offer, and for your comments about our continental breakfast. We do try to vary it to make it interesting!

Thankyou for all those other positive remarks.

We think that we have the WiFi problem licked! We had a new system installed, and it had a few "bugs" to iron out!

Cheers.....Keith et al !

Cheers....Keith and the gang at "Simpsons" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Staying at Simpson's is a most calming, gracious and elegant retreat from the wonderfully diverse village that is Potts Point. With an easy stroll to the harbour and the city, Simpson's is a wonderful hotel in which to base yourself, yet be close at hand to all the very best that Sydney has to offer. From the soothing music to the elegant lounge and well-appointed rooms and suites, Simpson's has refinement and class, yet one feels complelely at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
What an interesting summation.

We like to think that encapsulates what Simpsons and Potts Point has to offer.

We are a pleasant oasis from te "hustle and bustle" of the outside world, but still just a pleasant stroll back in the downtown area.

Thanks for the clear description.

Cheers....Keith and the gang at "Simpsons" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was going to Sydney for a business trip but decided to make a weekend of it with my wife. I have stayed downtown in Sydney before and have found it to get very quiet very early. So having seen great reviews on Trip advisor i booked here.
Excellent choice . On a very early arrival from Singapore they had the room ready.The property is old but full of character and the rooms are very large and very comfortable . Couple this with great hospitality from the team and you have a great place to stay.
The area is also excellent with some very good restaurants just up the street.
Its a lovely walk through the Botanical gardens to the Opera house etc. -the location is excellent
I noted an earlier post from someone in Winnipeg cautioning people about the King's Cross area which is very close. I'm not sure what happened to them but i wouldn't worry. Yes its a colourful (red light) area but its tame compared to most and it enhances the experience of staying in the area.
All in all a great place to stay. When I return I will be back at Simpsons!

Room Tip: only saw one room but from the layout of the property i would suspect that they are all pretty large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thanks for the Review.

So glad that you enjoyed your change from the C.B.D. hotels. There is no doubt that the chain hotels have greater facilities and more modern accomdation, but we hope to compensate for that by the ambience and location of our lovely old home, and the personal service that we can offer!

And thankyou for clarifying the earlier comments from our Winnipeg Reviewer about Kings Cross. Sure it gets busy up there late on Friday and Saturday night when all the young people come into town, but overwise it is an interesting place to visit, with some good bars and restaurants, and convenient tourist shopping.

Cheers....Keith and the gang at "Simpsons" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We planned to stay at Simpson's for 4 days and were enjoying our stay very much. The room was lovely, the breakfasts were very good, and everyone was friendly. But our stay had a surprise - my husband became very ill and I needed help in a city where I knew no one. The staff, Ree, Keith, Marie, and Damien, went above and beyond to help us. They called an ambulance and were there for me for the time I stayed beyond our planned stay. Without this support, I would have felt very alone, but Simpson's became my refuge. We can't begin to thank the staff enough. We are home now and my husband is doing well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thankyou for writing this Review Linda!

We were very sorry about your problems, and of course were only too happy to assist, and we are all so glad that it worked out well.

Never fun to be unwell on holidays, but as far as it could, this turned out O.K.

Thankyou for thaking the time to write this Review.

Good luck with health in the future.

Cheers....Keith and the gang at "Simpsons" !

Cheers....Keith and the gang at "Simpsons" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Simpsons Hotel is very charming indeed. We loved the classical music and fresh flowers in the entrance hall - it added such a welcoming feel each time we walked in. The guest lounge is so elegant, the rooms are beautifully decorated and clean, and the staff are warm and helpful (even with an emergency sewing kit for a recalcitrant dress hem, just before we were about to go out to dinner!!) We also enjoyed the breakfast, which had a good range of options. The location is excellent - a nice walk into the city passing many iconic Sydney sights. Most of all, the ambiance in a place so rich in history and eclectic art was truly memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCEVTA6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thankyou for your kind words and excellent summary.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere of "Simposns" and our charming Potts Point neighourhood!

And your comments about our little breakfast buffet were appreciated, as we do try to make in intersting and tasty. Whilst we are not able to serve hot fried food, we do think that this is good healthy start to the day!

Cheers....Keith and the gang at "Simpsons" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Property: Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing