We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical homestead”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Ranked #15 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Tasmania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Historical homestead”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

6 of us stayed in 2 rooms overnight last Friday for the start of the Navy Review Celebrations on the harbour and were not disappointed. It's a character filled B&B in a very central location. Good restaurants are very close and Ree, the host , is friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet I would think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tastraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks Guys!

What a wonderful weekend in Sydney that was! Amazing Harbour display of warships and tall ships!

We are glad that you all enjoyed your time at "Simpsons" and our wonderful Potts Point neighbourhood!

Hope to see you again sometime!

Cheers....Keith, Ree, Marie and the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    161
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
116
565
77
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australian
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

From the moment you walk in to "Simpsons" you are made to feel at home. The hotel is full of character, the rooms are spacious and have that relaxing feel about them. We stayed two nights and came back after our Melbourne trip for another night. We were lucky enough to stay in the "Honeymoon" suite. It was so beautiful the décor is "stunning". Keith and staff, we would highly recommend your hotel to our friends. Close by to restaurants, and taxi's to take you to any destination required. Thank you for your hospitality. Gail & Tom

Room Tip: The Dormer room was lovely, we had a front room also, there was not a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thankyou for your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your time at "Simpsons", and that Sydney lived up to your expectations.

And particualrly thankyou for recommending us. That really is the best compliment !

Cheers....Keith and all the gang at "Simpsons"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great location, welcoming staff, great rooms - clean, spacious and yet charming and cosy. Close to everything. The best continental breakfast we've had, anywhere. Great value for money and we would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandg241113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thankyou for all those positive comments.

We were especially pleased at your praise of our healthy, continental buffet breakfast. We do explain to guests that we are not able to provide hot dishes, but for those who want fried food in the morning, there are several excellent cafes within a few minutes stroll of our front -door that can provide " fried bacon and eggs" style, and are also great for "people-watching"!

Most of our guests find that our choice of juices, fruits, breads, ham, salami, smoked salmon, boiled eggs, etc. is a great start to the day. Marie's home-made rhubarb and apple compote is especially popular, and is particularly tasty with our Greek-style yoghurt and Swiss-blend muesli!

Thanks again for you kind words and recommendation.

Cheers.....Keith and all the "Simpsons Team" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I only stayed here because my usual chain hotel wasn't available. But after staying here and experiencing the hotel I'm going to become a regular. I'd like to thank Ree for being so hospitable. You're a credit to the hotel. And I look forward to be seeing more of Simpsons of Potts Point

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello Brendan!

Thanks for that kind Review. Weren't we lucky that your usual hotel was full?

We do look forward to seeing you again sometime. A returning guest is our best compliment!

Glad that you found us ffirendly, especially Ree!

Cheers.....Keith and all the "Simpsons Team" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We took out daughter to Sydney to celebrate her 21st birthday, and stayed at Simpsons Hotel for 2 nights. We had the Cloud Room, and she had a Dormer room. Both were lovely with lots of charm and character, unlike the large hotel chains. Ree and Keith and the charming "breakfast man" were fabulous hosts and made us feel very welcome and the birthday girl special.
The location is perfect for walking to and exploring all the fabulous sights of Sydney, and there are some fantastic eating spots nearby. This is our 2nd stay, and the only place to stay in Sydney. Thanks again, Hilary, Michael & Lauren.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omnihorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thankyou Hilary and Michael, and the "Birthday Girl" !

Ree and I are very pleased that Lauren enjoyed her time in Sydney, and that we were able to assist in some way to make her birthday visit memorable!

Damien, our "breakfast man", was especially chuffed at his description! He is now very swollen-headed and quite impossible to work with!

Once again, thank you for staying with us yet again. It is the best compliment that a guest can give, namely to come back!

We hope to see you on another occasion.

Cheers.....keith and the "Simpsons Team" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was travelling on my own and needed accommodation for 2 nights in Sydney and, as I very much dislike large "luxury" hotels, I was pleased when I found this heritage boutique hotel on the net. Simpsons was just perfect. It was warm, personal and welcoming - thank you Ree and Keith - and the whole heritage establishment has an intimate and charming feel to it. I loved it! Furthermore, it is located close to some excellent restaurants - a good Italian one a few steps from the door - and while it is very central, it was remarkably quiet even on a Saturday night. Lovely walks in every direction from the hotel. This place is perfection in every way and I am glad it still seems be a "hidden" gem. I will always stay there when I pass through Sydney. Just lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thankyou Glynda!

That is a lovely positive Review.

We are also glad that you found us, and do hope to see you next time!

You highlight one of the great benefits of "Simpsons", and of Potts Point, in that we are surrounded by interesting neighbourhood restaurants, to suit all tastes and budgets, which is something you don't get in the " skyscraper canyons of the C.B.D."

Potts Point also has all the other neighbourhood conveniences, as well as interesting little boutiques, shops and cafes, and yet is only 15-20 minutes stroll into the city, along the edge of the Harbour and through the Domain Park, or through the beautiful Royal Botanic Gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Recently stayed at Simpsons for a 2 day business trip. Rather than stay in a sterile hotel, I chose Simpsons- what a perfect choice! From booking to arriving, I was welcomed with open arms by Ree who was so warm and for whome nothing was too difficult. Rooms large, airy and comfortable and I could leave the window open all night. Breakfast healthy and delicious. Simpsons enables you to come and go as you please and go about your business but still feels like being in a warm family home environment. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and have to really thank Ree for such a pleasant stay. Your kindness didn't go unnoticed - Thank you thank you

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
What a cheerful and pleasant Review!

I am glad that you found us welcoming, and enjoyed your time with us. Ree is especially pleased that she gave such a good impression, which is what she invariably does, after the negative comments by "Gronny24 from Melbourne" below.

Also pleased that you liked our healthy, small breakfast buffet, which is a good start to the day.

Hope to see you again.

Cheers.....Keith...."Simpsons Hotel"...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,232 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#38 of 179 in Sydney
1,636 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
5,723 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#39 of 179 in Sydney
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Property: Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing