We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect spot to stay in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Ranked #15 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Basalt, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect spot to stay in Sydney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Arrived exhausted after long flight and was so grateful that Ree let us into our room at 8am and even upgraded us. Immaculately clean, beautifully appointed home and rooms. Comfortable bed and strong shower. Bountiful breakfast. We're walkers, so easy walk to the Circular Quay and Opera House area via the Botanic Garden. Simpson's occupies a quiet spot on the street, but half block away are shops and restaurants. Had a very good dinner at a lively Italian place half a block away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rentoinbasalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for your positive Review.

Yes, whilst our officail check-in is 3.00.pm., we do try to get our rooms ready as soon as possible, especially for our long-distance travellers.

However, if they are on an early morning flight, and their room is not ready, we do have a downstairs bathroom that they can use to "freshen-up". we can make them a cup of coffee, give them a local map and a geography lesson, and store their bags whilst they go exploring!

As these Colorado guys mention, it is a wonderful walk into the City, along the Harbour Foreshore and through the Royal Botanical Gardens to the Opera House and the City.

Cheers....keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    160
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
116
562
75
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This charming B&B is located in a quiet neighborhood away from the bustle of busy Sydney, yet with convenient access to the city highlights. Upon arrival our charming host gave us an introductory tour of the premises as well as an overview of the Sydney sights. Although the locals walk to town, we weren't quite up to that and took a short taxi ride. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the breakfast is ample and nicely presented, and the always-available sherry and port are a delightful way to end a day of touring. Several nearby restaurants provide a variety of dining options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBuckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
We remember this lovely couple form Cailfornia who seemed to enjoy their time with us!

And yes, we always like it when we need to re-fill the port and sherry decanters in the morning, as it means our guests are enjoying participating in them!

And of course, a myriad of great neighbourhood restaurants and little bars to enjoy.

Cheers....keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed at Simpsons for two weeks in February 2013 and can't say enough good things about my experience. The room was bright & comfortable -- good A/C, if needed -- and the location had a "neighborhood feel" and yet was only a short walk to the Kings Cross train station or a longer but doable walk to the CBD. The proprietors were extremely friendly and helpful. In addition, Simpsons served a nice breakfast, and there are many good cafes & restaurants in the immediate area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks Don!

A nice straightforward and positive Review. We like "positive" !

Yes, we are in a very nice neighbourhood, yet close enough to walk to the centre of the City in about 20-minutes.

We think Potts Point is " the place to stay when you want to be in the City, but don't want to stay in the City" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We found Simpsons lived up to most of what has been said. We had our 2 yr old with us and they did try to accommodate our needs. It was a bit hard to get around the local steep streets and stairs with the pram with dodgy wheels (bring your own) and the taxis were unreliable. We couldn't find any kid-friendly places to eat near-by (zinc cafe is your best bet). The down-stairs areas of Simpsons was not kid-friendly, with many breakables within reach of a child so unfortunately we couldn't spend any time in those areas. Outside street noise was not too bad, but gushing plumbing noises inside the walls of the house were very bad in one of the queen rooms (also had a broken wardrobe) so Ree nicely moved us to a king room which was much better but then it had a sagging bed which was another issue. Just a few little things were a let down for us. We can see now that it was not the best choice for us, but all up still a peaceful oasis in the middle of all the hustle and bustle of the city - recommend it for more for older couples.

Room Tip: top floor king rooms in side corner to avoid plumbing noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utopiablokeQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thankyou for your constructive Review.

Yes, it is difficult to find suitable restaurants for babies anywhere, but there are a few that we can recommend. Whilst we do welcome "hotel-trained" children, as they say, we probably are more suited to couples, or people with older children.

We were surpsied to hear of the plumbing noise being an issue, but of course were happy to move rooms. We have tested that King-bed, and whilst no previous guest had complained, we see that it is starting to sag just a little, so we have ordered a replacement. Nothing more important than a comfortable bed in a hotel! So thankyou for pointing it out to us.

These guests did explain to us that they very rarely came to Sydney, from the country, and were more used to staying in suburban motel accomodation with their baby, and as they said in their Review, "Simpsons" was probably not their best choice.

We do appreciate, however, their considered Review and for their honest appreciation of our good points! Thankyou.

Cheers....keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This intimate B&B is conveniently located in the centre of Sydney. Lovely 'old world' Victorian style home in a leafy quiet street of Potts Point within walking distance to many major tourists attractions, restaurants and public transport. The staff are friendly, helpful and could not do enough for us. We enjoyed staying in this intimate, friendly home style accommodation, and not in a large hotel chain. Try it, you'll love it...........

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks Trish!

Nice to get some favourable comments from an Aussie!

We do get quite a few Canberra guests, as "Simpsons" offers something unique, with our lovely old heritage building.

There is no doubt that the large chain hotels have many advantages over "Simpsons" from the point of view of major facilities, conference rooms, swimming pools, etc., but we do try to compensate for that by offering a more intimate environment, and personal service!

Cheers.....keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Simpsons Hotel in early March of 2013 for 2 nights. It was very clean, friendly staff, and a great location within walking distance of the opera house. There were a variety of small restaurants nearby. The continental breakfast was fabulous and well organized. It was quiet, peaceful, and a house like setting.
We were on the top floor (two flights of stairs) so stairs could be an issue for some but was not a concern of ours. We would definitely recommend this smaller boutique hotel to other travelers.
It was about 30 mins from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
A nice succint Reviw, summarising waht we feel are the attractions of staying at "Simpsons" We do seem to get a lot of guests from Canada these days, I think at this time of year avoiding the cold North American winters.

Again, pleased that they enjoyed our healthy, small buffet brealfast.

Thanks again for taking the time to write!

Cheers....keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

if you like a smaller more cosy hotel then this is the place to stay, we stayed for a week as a part of a business trip to buy things in Australia, and were v impressed by the staff at this hotel, who couldn't do enough for us

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henlubski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for your kind Review.

Whilst most of our guests are here as tourists, we do get quite a number of business people, some of whom are great regulars, even weekly!

We are glad that they found us helpful, as we certainly do try to be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Property: Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing