We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$236
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$231
$132
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$238
$141
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$154
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$211
$158
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$190
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$186
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$230
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mantra 2 Bond Street(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$154
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (967)
Filter reviews
967 results
Traveler rating
764
167
25
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
764
167
25
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensdrawing roomdormer roomchallis avenuecloud roomopera housekings crossbed and breakfastquiet neighborhoodboiled eggscircular quaysmall hotelhome from homeboutique hotelwithin walking distanceshort walkrestaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 967 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at Simpsons Hotel in early March of 2013 for 2 nights. It was very clean, friendly staff, and a great location within walking distance of the opera house. There were a variety of small restaurants nearby. The continental breakfast was fabulous and well organized. It was quiet, peaceful, and a house like setting.
We were on the top floor (two flights of stairs) so stairs could be an issue for some but was not a concern of ours. We would definitely recommend this smaller boutique hotel to other travelers.
It was about 30 mins from the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

A nice succint Reviw, summarising waht we feel are the attractions of staying at "Simpsons" We do seem to get a lot of guests from Canada these days, I think at this time of year avoiding the cold North American winters.

Again, pleased that they enjoyed our healthy, small buffet brealfast.

Thanks again for taking the time to write!

Cheers....keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

if you like a smaller more cosy hotel then this is the place to stay, we stayed for a week as a part of a business trip to buy things in Australia, and were v impressed by the staff at this hotel, who couldn't do enough for us

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henlubski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thanks for your kind Review.

Whilst most of our guests are here as tourists, we do get quite a number of business people, some of whom are great regulars, even weekly!

We are glad that they found us helpful, as we certainly do try to be!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

You like upmarket B&B´s ? This is for you. Simpsons hôtel is located in the quiet and trendy pots point neighbourhood with shops ( including same day launderies and dry cleaning ! )and good restaurants. À lovely 19th century house with large rooms and Nice sittingrooms down stairs. Free wifi (not alwaysvstable on top floor). Only 30' from the AirPort (40+ A$). Good breakfast (could do with more egg varieties). We loved it and the hosts are excellent at helping you plan day trips to visit Sydney.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Nice to receive compliments for sophisticated Parisiens!

Potts point is a very pleasant area, with all the neighbourhood conveniences one usually needs, as Terry points out.

We do try to make our littlr breakfast buffet interesting, but can only offer eggs of the boiled variety! There is however, usually a choice of ham, salami, smoked salmon, cheeses, four or five breads, cereals, a selection of fresh and preserved fruits, and other interesting tit-bits to give a healthy start to the day!

And yes, we are quite convenient to the Airport, avoiding the cogestion in the C.B.D. itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ree, Keith, & Damien made our 3 night stay in Sydney so very comfortable. The house is a beautiful old victorian set in the Potts Point neighborhood. Very convenient for walking to Circular Quay and buses/trains elsewhere. Breakfast was served in a beautiful conservatory with just the right amount of food that was nicely presented. Damien kept our coffee filled. Keith recommended taking a day to get outside city center by taking a water taxi to Watson's bay, then a bus to Bondi Beach (lunch @ Iceberg Club), and a cliffside walk to Bronte beach. It was not to be missed!. Dinner was recommended at restaurants right in Potts Point: Sardines & Zinc, One bit of warning: Simpson's is on a rather busy street (Challis) which can be a little noisy for country folks like us. But, Ree came to our rescue by buying a floor fan that did drown out the cars buzzing by at night, so we slept very well.
This is the place to stay for B&B in Sydney!

Room Tip: Rooms in the back aren't on Challis street. However, they are smaller. We had a balcony off our which was nice to sit on with a cup of tea or morning coffee. Beware: mosquitos are on the balcony at dawn & dusk, but bug-juice is provided.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuchessKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

We do remember thse lovely folk from Minnesota, as Marie and I have actually spent some time in the beautiful Minneapolis/Stillwater area.

Marie is always pleased to hear good reports of her home-made rhubarb/apple and raspberry compote. It is especially delicious with muesli and tasty Greek yoghurt.

We do try to make our complimentary, small buffet breakfast interesting, with many healthy options, and most guests seem to enjoy it. However, as we often say, we are not able to cook hot food, but for those who need bacon and eggs or other fried food, there are numerous small restuarants and cafes within a few minutes stroll that can offer those choices.

"Simpsons" is set back from Challis Avenue, which is not itself a main road, and generally noise is not an issue, unless you need absolute silence, which is not possible in an urban environment.

Thanks for your thoughtful Review.

Cheers....keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Simpson in Potts Point in March and what a great choice it was. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated, far nicer than the normal run of hotels that you find around the world. The location is also great with plenty of good restaurants nearby and a short 15/20 minute walk to Circular Quay/Rocks through the beautiful Botanical gardens(note: some longish steps to climb via Botanical gardens to get to hotel so people with walking problems may find it a problem) . Also Keith was great in providing maps and suggested itineraries to make the most of your time in Sydney. My particular favourite was one that included Watson Bay and Bondi Beach. His routes are well detailed giving suggested walks, Bus numbers and places to eat etc; thanks Keith. The Continental breakfasts were excellent and set you nicely for the day. Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here and if we are lucky enough to visit Sydney again, we know where we shall be staying. Thanks to Keith and Marie.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thanks Richard !

We appreciate your kind words.

Yes, our favourite itinerary for guests is as Richard describes.

The wonderful walk through the Botanic Gardens to Circular Quay, the pleasant 20-minute ferry ride past all the $20-million mansions to pretty Watsons Bay. Then the scenic thirty minutes walk alongside the beach and the harbour and National Park (put the blinkers on as you pass the "clothing optional" Lady Jane Beach !), to the historic South Head Lighhouse with its spectacular views all over the Harbour and Pacific Ocean. One of the world's really great urban outlooks.

Then a 30-mins. comfortable bus ride through pleasant middle-class housing to Bondi Beach, and a casual all-day lunch menu at the Icebergs Club, overlooking the famous Bondi surf-board riders and the Pacific Ocean.

This is then the start of the well-known cliif-walk alongside the ocean waves, about 2kms. to Bronte Beach for coffee.

The bus is then ready to take you to Queen St. Woollahra, our smart "Consular" suburb, then the stroll back through Paddington with its trendy boutiques, galleries, pubs and cafes, past the historic Victoria Barracks ( with an impressive Parade Square of intact Georgian sandstone military buildings), and home to us!

As I say to guests, you could follow that itinerary, and leave Sydney with a good overall undersatnding of it, and some beautiful sights to remember.

I am glad that you enjoyed it Paul. Thanks for taking the time to review us!

Cheers....keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews