We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Ranked #14 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great place to stay and a great neighbourhood. Ree and staff were friendly without being too over bearing! Ree has a cheeky sense of humour which we enjoyed! Great to be able to use the bathroom/shower before we got on a later flight.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorrTighe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thanks for your kind words.

Yes, we are happy to store luggage during the day, and we are fortunate to have a complete bathroom/shower for guests to use to freshen-up if they are on a later flight.

Similarly for guests who arrive early after the long-flight from Europe or the U.S.A., or indeed anywhere! There is no doubt that Australia really is a long way from anywhere!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 938 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I last visited Sydney some 5 year ago and this is our return to our Sydney base. Booking was done some months ago and we were given a warm welcome upon our arrival with the room available for an early check in. This time around we decided to spend a little more on the bigger room and we were not disappointed. The room was decently sized with all the appropriate luxuries. There is also a mini bar but we could not find a safe box.

The nice part about Simpsons is the location as you will find many decent restaurants and specialty shops for the locals, you will quickly find your way around with a map provide by Keith, Marie or Ree. Advice on where to eat or shop is readily available with their great local knowledge.

The only reason why they did not get 5 stars is that I felt it is time for Simpsons to be updated, it is still very nice and comfy but needs refreshing with brighter colours. Potts Point is hip and happening and Simpsons must follow suite.

Room Tip: Overall it is quiet but sensitive sleepers may require a room at the back although that does not hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kesharoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We remember this lovely couple from Indonesia who recently stayed with us again after a five year break in Sydney, and we appreciate their kind comments. We are glad that they found the Potts Point area even more interesting than their last visit. There are certainly new restaurants and shops opening in this area all the time.

It is particularly rewarding when we have returning guests. It is the most flattering, yet the most sincere, recommendation!

Yes, as some guests mention, our grand old "Dowager Duchess" does show her century plus age in some respects It is a real dilemma for us. Does one completely modernise her, in "hip and happening" clothing and colours, and thus lose the charm and patina of age? Or do we try to gently patch and repair her elegant old apparel?

We are trying a compromise between the two, and are modernising some of the built-in furniture over the coming winter, but will probably stay with the tried and tested traditional colour schemes.

One good point raised by KC is the lack of room safes, which we will be installing in the new wardrobes. In the meantime, we have a safe in our office which is available for guests use should they wish to store valuables.

We hope to see these charming guests again, sooner than five years next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Simpsons of Potts Point is the place to stay. This small, elegant and friendly hotel is well situated just a short walk to Kings Cross Station, the Botanic Gardens and the harbour. It is situated on a tree lined avenue and although tranquil and peaceful inside it is only a few steps away from a good selection of bars, restaurants and shops.
Keith, Marie, Ree and the other staff members were all very friendly, welcoming and helpful, particularly to anyone on a first visit to the city. Breakfasts were excellent and taken in the pleasant conservatory at the back of the hotel. Our bedroom and bathroom were spacious, clean and very comfortable and we enjoyed a balcony which looked out over the tree lined street.
On any future visit to Sydney we would definitely hope to stay at Simpsons.

Room Tip: Something to bear in mind if you are disabled - there is no lift, so you would need to request a gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thankyou for your Review. It is appreciated when people take the time to do so.

I think that these guests from the U.K. have summarised us, and the Potts Point area accurately and succintly.

We are pleased that they enjoyed their stay in our interesting and convenient neighbourhood.

And yes, as they say, we do not have a lift, so please request a ground-floor room if stairs are a problem. We have three rooms on the ground-floor, and six on the first-floor ( although it a wide and easy set of stairs). On the second-floor ( the top-floor) we have our three smaller Dormer Queens (cute attic-style rooms). All our rooms have en-suite bathrooms, and the usual "mod-cons', air-cond. units, fridges ,flat-screen T.V.s, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was a woman staying by myself - recommended by a supplier.

It couldn't have been easier - location and the room.
Charming to say the least. Advise where to eat/experience as a single woman was thoughtful, maps of Sydney included.
Breakfast great and the dining room always interesting with the various types of people staying. Refreshing to not be only corporate clients, very social and interesting the type of persons.I would refer anyone to the Simpsons. And I will visit again.

I felt safe and extremely comfortable. Linen - big for me was really great. They didn't put a step wrong. Such a central/safe place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for a ground level floor, otherwise it is all good. Location is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debra685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We remember the lovely Debra from Auckland!

Actually, we have a lot of New Zealanders staying with us. I think that they like the traditional, yet casual, atmosphere of our old mansion, as well as the eclectic and sophisticated feel of the Potts Point neighbourhood, somewhat like a combination between Parnell and Ponsonby!

And yes, it is a very safe area, with lots of interesting cafes and restaurants where a single person does not feel conspicuous.

And it is true what Debra says, we do also get an interesting mixed clientele of both corporate and leisure travellers. Business people often like the change of style from the usual chain hotels. And yes, we can always book taxis if needed, and there is usually good availability even just to hail in the street.

Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had 3 nights at Simpsons found the whole experience excellent, great breakfast and support from Ree and her staff in finding our way around Sydney, We would use Simpsons every time we are in Sydney

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoretonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thankyou for this brief, but succint Review!

And most of all, for saying that you would stay with us again. The ultimate compliment to a hotelier/inn-keeper!

We do try to recommend interesting places to visit whilst in Sydney, especially those that are slightly off the well-worn tourist track!

We have planned (with maps, etc) an interesting day's outing for our guests which includes a harbour trip on the ferry from Circular Quay to pretty Watson's Bay (past all the lavish $20-million mansions), the lovely beach-side walk to the South Head light-house (with its spectacular harbour views), the bus-ride down to Bondi Beach, lunch on the balcony of the "Icebergs Club" overlooking the beach and the surf, then the famous three kilometre cliff walk to Bronte Beach and its great little cafes (for a caffeine-fix), before taking the bus to up-market Woollahra, and the stroll back through trendy Paddington with its smart boutiques and shops, past the stunning sandstone Georgian military buildings at Victoria Barracks, and back home to "Simpsons". A really good overall view of Sydney attractions.

Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Simpsons of Pots Point is THE place to stay in Sydney. If you want a charming Bed and Breakfast with old world charm this is the place for you. Our hosts, Ree, Keith, Marie, and Damian, were very friendly, welcoming and full of information about the city. Our room was on the top floor (one of the dormer rooms) and fit our needs perfectly. The bedroom was spacious with a comfortable bed and great pillows. The continental breakfast was generous with a great selection of meats, cheeses, cereals, breads and eggs. The French Press coffee was wonderful (thank you Damien). The garden outside the B&B was inviting and well manicured. Simpsons is in a great location, close to downtown, the Botanical Gardens, Circular Quay and a myriad of restaurants. We highly recommend Simpsons and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2wholv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We enjoyed the company of this interesting and sophisticated couple from Los Angeles. They came from prestigious Manhattan Beach on the West Coast, and coincidentally, at the same time we had guests from Manhattan on the East Coast!

I think that they enjoyed the laid-back atmosphere of Sydney, and especially the Potts Point area. They particularly enjoyed the ferry ride to Watsons Bay, and a leisurely lunch by the beach, overlooking the Harbour, on their last day in Australia.

We appreciate their comments about our healthy complimentary buffet breakfast. Some Reviewers have commented about the lack of hot, or fried dishes, but most of our guests enjoy the wide selection of fruits, nuts, grains, cold collations, etc., and especially Marie's home-made rhubarb and apple compote, which is particually delicious with the tasty Greek Yoghurt, muesli and honey! Yum!

Cheers....Keith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I do love a historic building Simpsons is a beautiful house. Our welcome was warm and our room huge. The furnishings were in keeping with the antique style however the wardrobe was literally falling apart. A small thing yes but since it faced our bed it was our first sight morning and last at night. The yellow cheap laminate doesnt add to the rooms decore surely a better piece could be found it devalues the room so badly! The bathroom also badly needs a renovation. Just small things like hot cold tops, replacemet of broken tiles and a few mouldy bits! The room had a few unpatched areas where some handyman work had been done. I get the feeling that. Its all getting abit hard for the lovely owners! I would hate to see these little thingas become bigger problems. A little tip! When a late flight causes luggage to be left due to your strict 10am check out dont leave said luggage in the lounge. I couldnt leave it just sitting in the room my computer etc was packed! I really felt rushed out the door and very unwelcome once we had paid our bill.. so much for the friendly welcome although I must state it was not the owner but another lady who failed to bid us farewell.

Room Tip: No pool, fitness centre no lifts staircase to most rooms. Breakfast consists of toast dried cereals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thankyou for your candid comments, and your kind words about our characterful old home.

Yes, I agree that some of the wardrobes are getting to (or even beyond!) their "use-by date"! They were all custom designed and built individually when the hotel was refurbished twenty years ago. They have lasted well, but now some of the hinges are drooping, and other wear and tear is showing !

We actually have had craftsmen in last month and are looking at replacing most of them over this coming winter period, as well as a little general 'tidy-up" all around.

We like to think that most guests accept the odd paint-chip here and there as part of the ambience of our lovely old building, and as these guests imply, keeping on top of maintenance in a century-old house is an on-going task, but his grand old lady needs a bit of tarting-up every now and again!

We were sorry to hear that they felt rushed-out in the morning. Our check-out in fact is not strict, and we do our very best to work around departing guests' individual requests, subject to the usual housekeeping and check-in needs of arriving guests.

We are happy to store luggage for guests with later flights, and to offer them a full bathroom to use to shower, or just freshen-up, before an evening flight. Not too many "five-star" hotels have that facility available.

I note that on that particular morning we did have a large number of check-outs/check-ins, and I am sorry if we were not able to personally say good-bye at the door. Usually, we make a point of helping departing guests into a taxi or car, and to guide the vehicle out of the driveway with a friendly wave. Our apologies that this did not occur on this occasion.

I note that these guests raise as a negative issue that we have no pool, nor fitness centre. I am sorry that they were not aware of that, but even a cursory glance at our website should bring this to anyone's attention. And yes, we are an old Victorian three-storey building, with no lift, but we are usually around to help with suitcases if needed.

Finally, I feel these guests description of our breakfast as "toast and dried cereals" is an unfair description of our healthy continental buffet. If one reads most other Reviews, and my responses, I think you will get a more balanced view of our complimentary buffet.

And. as I often mention, we do not charge for this buffet, and for those guests those who need a hot "bacon and eggs" style breakfast, there are three or four great little cafes within 100-metres stroll.

We hope that these guests come back and see us in the future, and maybe by then we will have some new wardrobes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 181 in Sydney
1,464 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#21 of 181 in Sydney
6,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Darling
#9 of 181 in Sydney
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $174 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing