We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Ranked #16 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

very nice hotel stayed 6 nights feb 13 nice breakfast helpful staff rooms are dated needs a refurb would stay again if we returned to sydney 10 min walk to kings cross station its the red light district of sydney but we had no problems there do not choose a top floor room there is no lift we arrived at 10pm there is no one to help you with your luggage at that time

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrymanc1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks Terry!

We appreciate your candid comments.

No, we do have an elevator, but we are usually around during the day to help with bags, if needed, but not always late at night.

Kings Cross has a somewaht mixed reputation, most of it exaggerated ! It is no different to night-life areas in most world class cities, and in fact is very handy for tourist shopping, camera and telephone shops, internet cafes, delis, funky coffee shops and fast food outlets, as well as the usual bars, night-clubs and other adult entertainment. It is close enough if you want to vist (10-minutes pleasant stroll), yet far enough away not to disturb you if you don't !

We do keep up with all essential repairs, and also try to give old dear old house gentle refurbishing, without losing her personality and patina with a full make-over. If you will forgive the odd chip on the paintwork and furniture, I am sure that you will love her as we do!

We are glad that these Manchester guests would stay with ua gain. A returning guest is the best recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    160
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
116
563
75
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Simpsons. Very spacious bedroom with adequate bathroom. Superb continental style breakfast with fresh fruit, juices, yogurts, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs and a selection of breads. Tea and cafetiere of coffee. Advice on trips and tours readily available. The Victorian building is a joy to see with a comfortable lounge. Fairly convenient walk to Circular Quay via the Botanical Gardens but there are steep steps on the return walk. The hotel is on a main road which was fine for us but if you want a quieter room, maybe ask for one that isn't at the front of the hotel. All in all, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llijyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
A very fair and thoughtful Review!

We were especially pleased with their description of our heatlhy complimentary breakfast buffet that seems to suit the palates of most of our guests.

Apart from our inability ot offer "bacon and eggs" and other fried food, we do try to change our offerings and make it as interesting as possible.

Our lovely old National Trust Classified building is a rarity in modern Sydney, and is a peaceful sanctuary to return to after a hectic day's sightseeing!

We are in a fairly quiet part of Potts Point, set back from Challis Avenue (which itself is not a main road), so we are not usually too troubled by noise, but do get the usual urban environment issues, especially the recycling collectors on a Wednesday morning who seem to make more noise than one would think humanly possible!

On the (very pleasant) walk into the city (15-20 mins), there are 116 downhill steps, but as I tell guests there are only 58 uphill steps on the return journey (by taking them two at a time for the excercise!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a wonderfull B&B to stay at when in Sydney for Australia Days .We walked all over the city starting at the botanical gardens, rain and sun. ,avioding all the Aus. days traffic. If you don't want to walk, there are great restraunts on the same block. We enjoyed the second foor, frount of the house room with balcony.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
The Australia Day Weekend is a great time to be in Sydney, and we are pleased that these American guets enjoyed their time (away from the then cold and wintry Washington!).

The Royal Botanical Gardens are a real joy, and amongst the best in the world, and of special interest for vistors from the Northern Hemisphere with all our somewhat strange, and so different, fauna and flora.

I can only imagine the wonder and awe shown by Sir Joseph Banks, the English naturalist and botanist who accompanied Captain James Cook on the first great voyage of the discovery of Australia in 1770! Banks is credited with the introduction to the Western world of eucalyptus, acacia, mimosa and the plant after him, Banksia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed this place. The owners have done a great job in preserving this building. The rooms were clean and the breakfasts offered much more than a continental type. It is also in a great location. Keith the owner was very knowledgeable about what sites to see and how to get around. Was a little pricey however, but better than a typical hotel room. If ever in Sydney again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowmellow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
I am pleased that these guests enjoyed our lovely old home, and also our healthy buffet breakfast.

There is no doubt that Potts Point is an expensive location, and in the latest Domain Real Estate guide it has been voted one of Australia's most sought-after places to live. The downside of that is that the real estate is amongst the most expensive!

We look forward to welcoming these guests back on another occasion should they re-visit our great city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This has been highly rated by many and we were not disappointed. The location was perfect...away from the city center but an easy walk there, through the Botanical Gardens or interesting neighborhoods. And the guest house was just lovely. Comfortable accommodations, delightful staff, and a very nice (if somewhat boring) continental breakfast. The hosts were very helpful in providing information. The neighborhood was lively and had great restaurants. We would definitely stay there again should we visit Sydney again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed nice but I imagine the ones on the upper levels would be quieter since the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellersTw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thankyou for the positive comments. We are glad that these East Coasters enjoyed their stay at "Simpsons" and in the pleasant Potts Point neighbourhood.

This is the area to visit when ".......you want to be in the City, but don't want to stay in the City! "

I am sorry that they found our continental buffet breakfast "somewhat boring" (albeit "nice"!). I will speak to Marie and Damien and see what they can do to "spice it up"! Marie's homemade rhubarb and apple compote is very popular, and is especially tasty with muesli and the Greek yoghurt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
526 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed only one night in this super B&B. Keith and Ree do an outstanding job. The rooms are very large and well appointed. The neighborhood is very nice with a lot of restaurants. You can easily walk to major attractions and the harbor.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drlehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
It is flattering to receive such a pleasant and positive Review from this nice Texan couple, succint and to the point.

They are obviously great travellers, and very serious Reviewers (judging by the great number of places that they have stayed at, and reviewed!).

Potts Point certainly has plenty of restaurants to choose from, all within easy walking distance of "Simpsons" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent quite some time reading reviews and researching this place. Large, impersonal hotels just don't do it for me ! Simpsons turned out to be the ideal choice. We arrived at about 7.30am after a very long flight from UK. We received a very warm welcome from the (wise and quietly witty) Keith and (elegant) Marie. We were promptly offered breakfast and given a wonderful introductory briefing. (Keith was there most mornings to offer sage advice). A real bonus was that the Cloud Suite was ready there and then - what more could anyone else ask for? The suite itself was super. It afforded all the luxuries of home and a few treats besides. The bed was supremely comfortable and the jacuzzi added further indulgence after a day's meanderings around Sydney. The house itself oozes elegance from the riches of the library, paintings on the walls to the sumptuous fabrics. At various times of the day the house is filled softly with eclectic
(never cheesy) classical music. Ree, the manager, is a sheer bundle of joy. She is so attuned to people and nothing is too much trouble (don't even mention clothes racks!) I must also mention the delightful Damien who provides gentle, efficient and warm service at breakfast - he is a real asset to Simpsons.

All in all, this is a classy outfit for discerning travellers.It was a superb location from which to discover the delights of Sydney and the restaurants nearby were abundant and of good quality. This introduction to my first trip to Australia set the scene for the rest of the holiday.

You have a great team here and the formula is spot on.Thank you all so much and I hope that we see you all again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Cloud Suite highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmos57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
WoW ! We will all get swollen heads!

How pleasing for us that these guests obviously enjoyed "Simpsons" and us! We feel very flattered.

As I have said before, it is our guests themselves that make "Simpsons" special. Most people have done their research, and taken the trouble to find us, reading the Reviews, mostly good (some not quite so good!), and then by looking at the photographs, and especially the video on our website, they get a pretty good idea of what to expect.

Not perfect, but with a lot of positives to compensate for any downside, and hopefully we won't disappoint!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Property: Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing