We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful accommodations and welcoming hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Ranked #14 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodations and welcoming hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed this place. The owners have done a great job in preserving this building. The rooms were clean and the breakfasts offered much more than a continental type. It is also in a great location. Keith the owner was very knowledgeable about what sites to see and how to get around. Was a little pricey however, but better than a typical hotel room. If ever in Sydney again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowmellow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
I am pleased that these guests enjoyed our lovely old home, and also our healthy buffet breakfast.

There is no doubt that Potts Point is an expensive location, and in the latest Domain Real Estate guide it has been voted one of Australia's most sought-after places to live. The downside of that is that the real estate is amongst the most expensive!

We look forward to welcoming these guests back on another occasion should they re-visit our great city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    156
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
112
551
74
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This has been highly rated by many and we were not disappointed. The location was perfect...away from the city center but an easy walk there, through the Botanical Gardens or interesting neighborhoods. And the guest house was just lovely. Comfortable accommodations, delightful staff, and a very nice (if somewhat boring) continental breakfast. The hosts were very helpful in providing information. The neighborhood was lively and had great restaurants. We would definitely stay there again should we visit Sydney again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed nice but I imagine the ones on the upper levels would be quieter since the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellersTw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thankyou for the positive comments. We are glad that these East Coasters enjoyed their stay at "Simpsons" and in the pleasant Potts Point neighbourhood.

This is the area to visit when ".......you want to be in the City, but don't want to stay in the City! "

I am sorry that they found our continental buffet breakfast "somewhat boring" (albeit "nice"!). I will speak to Marie and Damien and see what they can do to "spice it up"! Marie's homemade rhubarb and apple compote is very popular, and is especially tasty with muesli and the Greek yoghurt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
515 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed only one night in this super B&B. Keith and Ree do an outstanding job. The rooms are very large and well appointed. The neighborhood is very nice with a lot of restaurants. You can easily walk to major attractions and the harbor.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drlehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
It is flattering to receive such a pleasant and positive Review from this nice Texan couple, succint and to the point.

They are obviously great travellers, and very serious Reviewers (judging by the great number of places that they have stayed at, and reviewed!).

Potts Point certainly has plenty of restaurants to choose from, all within easy walking distance of "Simpsons" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent quite some time reading reviews and researching this place. Large, impersonal hotels just don't do it for me ! Simpsons turned out to be the ideal choice. We arrived at about 7.30am after a very long flight from UK. We received a very warm welcome from the (wise and quietly witty) Keith and (elegant) Marie. We were promptly offered breakfast and given a wonderful introductory briefing. (Keith was there most mornings to offer sage advice). A real bonus was that the Cloud Suite was ready there and then - what more could anyone else ask for? The suite itself was super. It afforded all the luxuries of home and a few treats besides. The bed was supremely comfortable and the jacuzzi added further indulgence after a day's meanderings around Sydney. The house itself oozes elegance from the riches of the library, paintings on the walls to the sumptuous fabrics. At various times of the day the house is filled softly with eclectic
(never cheesy) classical music. Ree, the manager, is a sheer bundle of joy. She is so attuned to people and nothing is too much trouble (don't even mention clothes racks!) I must also mention the delightful Damien who provides gentle, efficient and warm service at breakfast - he is a real asset to Simpsons.

All in all, this is a classy outfit for discerning travellers.It was a superb location from which to discover the delights of Sydney and the restaurants nearby were abundant and of good quality. This introduction to my first trip to Australia set the scene for the rest of the holiday.

You have a great team here and the formula is spot on.Thank you all so much and I hope that we see you all again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Cloud Suite highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmos57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
WoW ! We will all get swollen heads!

How pleasing for us that these guests obviously enjoyed "Simpsons" and us! We feel very flattered.

As I have said before, it is our guests themselves that make "Simpsons" special. Most people have done their research, and taken the trouble to find us, reading the Reviews, mostly good (some not quite so good!), and then by looking at the photographs, and especially the video on our website, they get a pretty good idea of what to expect.

Not perfect, but with a lot of positives to compensate for any downside, and hopefully we won't disappoint!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Maybe 3 1/2 stars, but not 5. I went for 4 because the room we stayed in was tired and needed a freshen-up, but the welcome, the staff and the communal areas of the house are wonderful. Our room (top floor - lots of stairs) I picked as I thought road noise could be an issue in that area. The top floor was fine and had sky-light windows (that opened - fresh air was a great change from big hotel a/c), but the room could do with a repaint and 1 of the cupboard doors fell off slightly when it was windy outside, causing a noise (I wedged it shut and did not complain about it). The shower room worked well, but was not flashy - fine, but not 5 stars. The location is fantastic. There are a many good restaurants within a 10min walk, and the walk to circular quay is beautiful (you have to be good with hills). You'll get personal service and advice here that you would not get from a larger hotel (except maybe the very best) and would greatly add to your stay in Sydney if you don't know the city already. But the room we had let the place down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chazzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We remember this nice couple from St. Kilda, travelling back via Canberra to see the Toulouse Lautrec exhibition at the National Gallery.

I am glad that they generally enjoyed our lovely old home and our friendly staff, as well as our great location in Potts Point.

I appreciate their candid comments about the decor, and we have planned some re-painting during our quieter months ahead. I cannot quite work out the comments about the cupboard door in that particular room, one of our more economical second-floor Dormer-rooms, although I must say that I do walk around with screwdrivers in my pocket, constantly tightening-up doors, latches and locks! A perennial problem in a 100-year old property.

Whilst we do not claim our rooms to be "state-of-the-art", they are certainly comfortable, with all the modern conveniences. We also do not claim to be a Five-star hotel, as it is our guests that rate us, but I do appreciate that they gave us "Four *", based on their reasons specified.

I am also glad that they found us helpful, as we do enjoy giving advice to guests to get the best out of this lovely city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Ree welcomed us with an upgrade to the honeymoon suite which was a surprise - but so is everything when you step off the street at Simpsons. The house is beautifully restored, the fittings and trimmings perfectly attuned to guest comfort, and so quiet. You can walk to the city, Darlinghurst and Paddington easily, so our weekend away from home included meals at Bills, Spice I am, A Tavola, and the Queen Victoria Building, as well as the NSW Art Gallery, the movies, and shopping on Oxford Street. A perfect place to stay in town, yet a home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thankyou Cathy, for your kind words.

There is no doubt that Potts Point is a very central location in which to stay, especially if you do not really need to stay right in the Central Business District.

As Cathy says, there are some great restaurants all around this area, to suit most tastes and budgets.

Last night we tried "Bushari", a Japanese restaurant about 5-minutes walk away which we had previously not been able to get into, and apparently for good reason. Lovely, helpful staff and great food.

And a little bonus was that Nicole Kidman and her husband Keith Urban were sitting at the next table! But they probably said the same thing about us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is an absolute delight. The property is beautiful, refined, with a very cozy home-feling which has been kept with nice atention to detail. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and everything works well. Yet, what really makes a difference is the staff. Their performance is the perfect fit for the building, since they create a warm, friendly atmosphere, and dedicate time to ensure you make the most out of your visit, with great local tips. The neighborhood is nice, feels trendy and young, a 15-minute walk from Opera House, through the wonderful Royal Botanic Garden.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better wifi connection than other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hernan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thankyou for your kind words, which we do believe summarises the benfits of our Potts Point neighbourhood, and we are also very glad that they liked our lovely old building and found us helpful!

As I often say, if you do not need to stay right in the C.B.D., yet close enough to it to sample its attractions, then Potts Point is the place to stay! Great local restaurants, cafes and boutique shops, as well as all the usual neighbourhood conveniences (e.g. laundries, supermarkets, corner stores, delicatessens, newsagents, etc.) which you don't always get in a commercial or business environment.

Our WiFi seems to generally work throughout the hotel, but sometimes the various repeater stations we have just need a quick "re-booting". The WiFi, and our Broadand computer in the lounge-room are both complimentary.

Sadly, in Sydney, unlike in many other countries with better heritage protection provisions, most of the older-style historic hotels have long since been demolished for modern construction, and we feel lucky to manage one of the few surviving "grand old ladies" !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Property: Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing