We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An outstanding stay at a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Ranked #14 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An outstanding stay at a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Simpsons has incredible character and is a beautiful place to stay. We spent 11 days there and loved every one of them. It certainly felt like we were staying in a home not a hotel. From the moment we arrived Keith or Ree provided advice and guidance to maximize our enjoyment in Sydney and Damien always had a great breakfast ready for us. They listened closely to our interests and always had suggestions to keep us busy throughout our stay. Ree suggested we did not really need a rental car during our visit and she was absolutely right. Our frequent walks down to Woolloomooloo wharf and then across the incredible Royal Botanic Garden to downtown or Circular Quay was a real highlight of our visit. We would recommend Simpsons without reservation!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithwherry, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We well remember these great folk from Canada!

They are quite correct that the walk into the city is a real highlight, especially if one goes through the Royal Botanic Gardens.

Marie works in the city, near the historic Strand Arcade, and she walks each morning 20-minutes door-to-door! Coming back is a little more exercising, with the 116 steps up to Challis Avenue!

Sydney is better explored without a car, particulary using the excellent ferry service over to Manly or to Watsons Bay (from where one catches the convenient bus to Bondi Beach), or to the other harbourside subsurbs of Mosman, Balmain, etc.

The only outing where a car is helpful is to go north to the National Park, but even then the train to the Hawkesbury River is a convenient alternative, and catch the "Last Riverboat Postman" ferry boat to help deliver the mail to the "water access only" riverside villages is a unique experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    154
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
112
540
73
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

For our second visit to Sydney we wanted to stay in a small hotel and found Simpsons. A very good choice! Keith welcomed us in a very nice way and immediately made us feel at home and provided us with valuable information for our visit to Sydney. Nice authentic rooms with modern facilities like good beds, wi-fi internet access and a good and clean bathroom.

Potts Point is a great location for a stay in Sydney. The popular sites as the Opera House and Harbor Bridge are close (20 min. walk) and a very nice Sydney district Paddington is also very close. And for the party people: King Cross is literally around the corner without noticing this when you stay at Simpsons.

Knowing all this Simpsons would have been our first choice for our first visit to Sydney.

Room Tip: The Victoria room is the room with a glimpse of the city. Or as Keith mentioned: " The only roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgar-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
What a kind Review. We would like to think that it accurately describes both us, our lovely old building, and the convenient and eclectic Potts Point neighbourhood.

Potts Point sems to have something for everyone, sophisticated boutique shops, restaurants and bars, and yet is still an easy 20-minutes stroll into the City, along the Harbourfront, and through the Domain Park or the Royal Botanic Gardens. And for the "night-owls", it is also within easy walking of the nightlife of Kings Cross and Oxford Street .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingil Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was our second trip to Simpsons and we were immediately made to feel at home by Keith. On our last visit we had some issue with road noise at the front of the house and had therefore gone for a rear room this time. It turned out to be a great decision as we had 5 peaceful nights!
The position in Potts Point is simply perfect; close enough to the CBD to walk in through the park, a relaxing morning jog to the Opera House, and surrounded by all the great food and wine that Potts Point has to offer.
We would like to see a little care and attention being lavished on the rooms (a quick repaint etc. would go a long way) and some of the room furniture is well past its use-by date.
However, we will certainly be back next time we're in Sydney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missi0nary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithwherry, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
We always love to hear from returning guests! The very best recomendation!

We don't normally hear any concerns about traffic noise from the front of the hotel, as we are set back from the road, and Challis Avenue is not a major thoroughfare.

Generally the house is pretty well insulated, both from extremes of temperature, and from ambient noise, being of triple-brick construction

The rooms at the back may be a little quiter, except on Wednesday mornings when the Recycler bottle-collectors sometimes make more noise that one would think possible! But I suppose that we are in an urban environment!

Maintenance is always on ongoing issue in old house (this one 120-years old). Whilst we do try to keep on top of things, sometimes the odd painting gets behind, and some of the furniture could be described as "shabby chic" although certainly servicable and comfortable.

We hope that our guests will forgive these occasional shortfalls, and hopefully keep on visiting to see ongoing improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A historic house near Kings Cross, quiet and comfortable. Antique furniture, modern bathrooms. Very helpful advises from the warmhearted hosts to see the best spots in Sydney. Distance to the airport. 30 minutes by car.
We´ll come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatrinBohmSchmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks Guys!

Succint and to the point!

And best of all, "you will be back" !

Cheers....keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerro Maggiore, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Lovely place where I spent three days last August with my family. The hospitality is very warm and we got great advantage from suggestions Keith and his family gave us every morning during breakfast on the itinerary to follow to visit all the best spots in Sidney. We loved those breakfast conversations with maps: they gave us the opportunity to see places that probably we wouldn't have visited on ourselves. It is a lovely boutique hotel, very well positioned, close to the botanic garden. Easy walk to Opera House and Circular Quay. Clean and comfortable rooms, nice breakfast, a very independent stay. The only weakness was wifi connection, slow and not very stable.

Room Tip: Few suites, all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks Antonio!

We enjoyed having your family stay with us, and that you had a good time in Sydney.

We know that it does make a difference to receive local knowledge, and we enjoy imparting suggestions when requested.

Our WiFi generally seems to work throughout, but the repeater stations occasionally need "re-booting". It is complimentary, as it should be in all hotels !. Don't you find that it is usually the more expensive chain hotels that charge extortionate WiFi fees ? Like $28.00 extra per day !

We also have a complimenatary Broad-band computer in the front lounge for those without their own laptops. And there are several Internet cafes nearby for those that have more major needs.

Cheers....keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Far enough away from the city to be peaceful, but close enough to be within walking distance of many of the major sites of interest (eg 15mins walk to the Botanic Gardens or Art Gallery, 30 minutes from Circular Quay or the Opera House). For those less keen to walk, after a few minutes wait there is usually a taxi cruising along the street outside.
Our travel agency had incorrectly advised the hotel that we would be arriving during the afternoon. However, after a long overnight flight, we turned up unexpectedly at Simpsons at around 9.00am. We were warmly welcomed, invited in for some breakfast, and the preparation of our room was expedited such that we were able to move in within the hour. Keith and the team were really helpful in suggesting interesting itineraries during our stay and in recommending local restaurants for dinner (don't miss the lively fish and chip restaurant just a couple of mins. walk up the road - wonderful Sydney rock oysters and "market fish of the day" options - but call in early if you want to be sure of being seated straight away!).
During our holiday in Australia we stayed at Simpsons twice - at both the beginning and end of our travels. Both rooms we occupied were on the ground floor and were clean, spacious and comfortable. Continental breakfast was healthy and satisfying with excellent plunger coffee. We particularly liked the attractive drawing room with masses of interesting reading material, the opportunity for a complimentary glass of sherry, and use of computer terminal (which was a little slow, but perfectly fine for on-line airport check-in etc.).
Even though we needed to check out of our room by 10.00am - as it was required for subsequent guests, the wonderful hospitality extended through to the afternoon of our departure when Keith made sure that we were satiated with coffee and biscuits before having to depart for our long flight home. Note that luggage storage and a downstairs bathroom is available for early arrivals and later departures should rooms not be ready for occupation.
In summary, I have no hesitation in recommending Simpsons for a delightful stay whilst in Sydney and would certainly wish to stay there again should our travels bring us back to the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thankyou Dave!

That is a comprehensive, and well thought out Review.

It covers the points that I myself try to explain, and I am pleased that you were able to appreciate them as well. Thankyou.

It is very rewarding to have a guest review us so positively, and to know that we are generally on the right path.

We will keep on trying....as the old "AVIS" advertisement used to say; "we try harder because we are Number 2"

Cheers....Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed for four nights in August,good location and warm welcome. Wandered through Botanical Gardens each day for sightseeing, 20 mins stroll from everything you need to see or connect with.
Very spacious family room, I stayed here with my two daughters 11,and 14 as part of a round the world trip. Very comfortable, great breakfast and very knowledegable and friendly hosts. Potts Point quiet neighbourhood with good restaurants and a village feel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: family room at the top of the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamSoskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thankyou for this informative Review and helpful tips.

We fondly remember this adventurous English lady with her two lovely daughters who were on an extensive six month world trip!

Unfortunately her travel documents from England for her next stop (in Japan) had not arrived, but by fortunate coincidence we were able to introduce her to another guest, a resident of Tokyo, who explained all about the transport system, hotel, sightseeing, etc., and allayed a lot of her concerns.

The most enjoyable aspect of our little hotel is, to us, the lovely guests who stay with us. Most people have done their research to find us, and we invariably find they are interesting and adventurous travellers. We cannot claim to have ever linked up any guests romantically, but we are certainly aware that some long term friendships have been formed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,226 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,640 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Property: Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing