We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Ranked #16 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Spent six nights at this hotel, we wanted to be close to the centre of Sydney and not at an impersonal large business hotel. The hotel is well situated just 20 minute walk through the Botanic Gardens to the Opera House and on a bus route into Circular Quay. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and the style a mix of colonial / antique with interesting art work. The breakfasts were superb being served in the conservatory. Keith was a mine of information about trips and places visit, which meant we maximised our time in Sydney. The hotel is located in a stylish residential area with three fantastic restaurants at the top of the road. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room eleven was a suite with an entrance area, separate dressing area, bathroom and shower, the bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are glad that these guests say that they would stay again! This is the best recommendation.....we do love returning guests!

Potts Point is a very convenient and sophisticated area, the closest suburb to the city itself, the " place to stay when you want to be in the City but don't want to stay in the City"! A pleasant 20-minutes stroll into town, which Marie does every morning to work.

We are also pleased that they enjoyed our healthy, complimentary, small breakfast buffet, which gives a good start for the day. However, for those who prefer a more traditional cooked "bacon and eggs" style, there are four great little cafes just 200-metres stroll up our street, and many more around the corner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    158
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
114
555
74
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, Californnia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We like to walk the city and staying here made sense. We loved our room (5) and having a glass of port before going to bed. The breakfast was perfect for fueling us to walk the town and see the sights. Thank you Ree for saying "Your room is ready!" after the flight over the salty pond. You had coffee for us, a twinkle in your eye and you made us feel so welcomed. Staying here five nights was perfect to see what we wished to see. Thank You! Ginny & Jim Knott

Room Tip: We only saw our room....5...right around the corner from the breakfast room. It was very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbk47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
How nice !

We also love that walk from Potts Point into the city, along the Harbour and through the park.

Last year during the whale season, a mother and her calf came into the harbour and gambolled around at the bottom of our street for an hour or so. And speaking of whales, another guest just last week came across on the ferry from Manly, and three whales raced alongside the ferry for ten minutes putting on quite a show for all the passengers!

Sydney is blessed by its natural harbour, and we are fortunate to live so close by.

Ree appreciated the compliment, especially the "twinkle in the eye!".

We do try to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. Sometimes we may not have all the super-modern facilities of a chain hotel, but if guests are prepared to overlook a few faults inherent in a century-old mansion, then we can assure them of a pleasant stay in an interesting neighbourhood, and we will do our best to ensure that they have fun in this great city of Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We decided to splurge on the last leg of our Australian vacation and stay at Simpsons of Potts Point. One word sums up our reaction upon entering our room - WOW! We discovered the next morning that we had been upgraded to the best room, and it was fabulous!!! The room and hotel was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Since we arrived late, we used the emailed instructions to let ourselves in and met the Ree the next morning. Breakfast was great - a variety of bread and pastry and an offer of a hot breakfast, which we didn't have time for. We did need directions for several locations, which Ree and her helper supplied - and they were perfect and very easy - very important for someone not used to driving on the left side of the road! We wish we were able to spend several more days in this beautiful hotel. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Book early (maybe you'll get an upgrade). Choose the front room - it's fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
How good that we pleasantly surpised these Californians on their last night in Australia?

It is always rewarding to receive such a positive Review.

Sydney is certainly a good "staging point" for a visit to our exciting and unusual country. We generally find that most guests are sorry that they did not allow for another day or two, as there is so much to do and see, both in Sydney, and nearby.

One favourite recommendation of ours is the last Riverboat Postman, on the Hawkesbury River, a scenic one hour train journey north of the City, and a pleasant few hours on the ferry, delivering the mail and groceries to little villages and townships only reachable by water!

Cheers...keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Last time I was a solo traveller and stayed in Barbara's Room; this time with my wife, we chose the Cloud Suite and wasn't it so soo sooo nice and comfortable; every item was as good as it could be; perfectly relaxing in all respects.

More imporantly, we arrived extremely early (0730) expecting to have to 'check' our bags for a half-day and advised we could move straight-in and have breakfast also; magnificent after a hard ten-days of cruising.

And we could hear this mysterious chime at various times of the day, but not on the hour? Where is the Grand-Father clock, Kieth? We don't have one... why do you ask? Sorry, no clock! And the chime continued till we spoke to Damien at breakfast the next day; the school across the road! But it wasn't loud or intrusive, just soft and inviting.

I don't wish to repeat the glory of Simpsons again, just see my previous review (September 2011), but it has not diminished in client and or accommodation at all. I will certainly stay again at Simpsons for a very long time.

Room Tip: Dormer or Cloud, all are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks Greville!

We often say that " the best guest is a returning guest"! Nothing more rewarding to an Inn-keeper to have a guest come back again !

Across the road, in those beautiful Victorian buildings, is the St.Vincent's College Music Academy....it is pure magic to be able to hear sometimes the delightful music occasionally being played or sung by the girls in the Convent.

Glad that you and your wife enjoyed us a second time.....hopefully there will be a third!

Thanks for taking the time to Review us again!

Cheers....keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and friends found this gem of a hotel.
We stayed 2002 for 1 week and the staff where the best.
It was an easy walk into town thou there are a number of steep steps.
We stayed in the Domer room and it was lovely.
A pretty hotel and comfortable stay.
Great resturants in walking distance

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperNanny11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
We remember this couple and their wedding group.

They had come all the way from England for the wedding, and I am pleased that tehy found us. It was adelight to have played a small part in their wedding plans, and to hear that it all worked out so well for them!

There are 116 steps down in the walk into town, but only 58 on the return (as you can run them two at a time!). I once heard Stirling Moss respond to a question as to how he kept fit, by saying that whenever he came to a set of stairs he would run up them ! It is not always easy though!

Thanks for reviewing us!

Cheers...keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

There's plenty of things at Simpsons that are easy to admire - but there are only three things that are important where accommodation is concerned:
1. A fresh, clean room with good facilities.
2. Peace & quiet - especially if you've just got off a long flight.
3. Good food.

Our room was "tired" and desperately needed a fresh coat of paint. There was no wardrobe and no drawer space. Room had a "kitchen cabinet" that housed an ironing board and all the cleaning materials - we had to empty it and clean it and make do with that!

The room was at the back, on the ground floor and behind the hotel was an alleyway that was used by motorcycles every morning, roughly four meters away, on their way to work - loudly!

Breakfast was meager - DIY toast from sliced white packaged bread and butter & jam from plastic peel-back packages. The breakfast area was bright and clean.

On top of all this, the "free WiFi throughout the hotel" didn't work and the owner wasn't inclined to rectify it. A shrug of the shoulders was all that was offered.

It's a beautiful old period building and a beautifully furnished lounge but for this money, I expect the three important things to be available.

The location was ok as long as you walked away from the hotel at the rear - nice walk via Woolamaloo up into the park and gardens.
If you walk from the front, along the main road, you walk through the middle of Kings Cross and you don't want to do that after dark!
As long as you stay close to the hotel, the cafe's and restaurants are very good and very friendly.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground-floor back and check the room before you accept it. It's a small establishment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review
October 30, 2012
Whilst we are grateful for their positive comments, we are very sorry that these guests had these other concerns. Naturally I agree with their list of three importanat items, but there are a number of inaccuracies I would like to address.

Their booking was made directly through an internet booking website, so we did not have the opportunity to discuss with them directly any room or other preferences in advance.

Firstly, their room. It is a ground-floor room, one of our smaller rooms, but with the benefit of a King-size bed. I have just carefully inspected it and do not understand some of their comments. There IS a wardrobe , which has hanging space with twelve wooden clothes-hangers, and five shelves for fold-up clothes. Inside is a neatly stowed ironing board, and one shelf has the clothes iron, a hair-dryer, an umbrella, a set of local phone-books, and a can of mosquito spray (should a guest like to sleep withe windows open during the summer months).! I do not understand the reference to "cleaning materials". These are not kept in guest-rooms, but rather in the housekeepers room.

This room is in generally very good condition (for a 120-year old building!). It also has a two-seater sofa, a luggage rack, bedside reading lamps, an air-conditioner, flat-screen television, small fridge with soft-drinks, tea/coffee facilities, ceiling fan and windows that actually open, and a small en-suite bathroom with shower; in other words most of the usual comforts that are needed in a hotel room.

These guests arrived in Australia at 05.05.am., checking-in with us before 07.00am., obviously tired from their long flight from England. We offered them tea and breakfast, AND had this room ready for them to check into straight away! Not too many chain hotels can arrange a 7.00am. check-in! Virtually an extra night at no charge. Most early morning arrivals into Australia (or anywhere!) would have to spend all day wandering the streets, waiting until their 3.00.pm. check-in (no "peace and quiet" in doing that!). These Reviewers have given us no credit for that convenience.

There is a street at the rear of the hotel, and there may have been a couple of motorbikes that morning, or others. At no time during their three-night did they mention this, or any other issues with the room, otherwise we may have been able to re-locate them.

Their comments about our breakfast are unfair. To trivialise it as "DIY white sliced bread" is misleading. You only have to read some of the other Reviews to see that most of our guests enjoy our healthy, small buffet. We offer a choice of at least five different breads. It is only recently that we have added white bread to this selection, following requests. We also have three cereals, three juices, five rotated preserved and fresh fruits, home-made rhubarb, boiled eggs, ham, cheeses, salami......the list goes on! AND the breakfast is complimentary! In other words we do not charge for it! If this buffet is not to their palate, there are five great "people-watching"cafes, serving more traditional breakfast, within 200-metres of our front door.

I have spoken to our current manager, Ree, who was on duty during their stay. She recalls their comments about the WiFi, but arranged to "re-boot" it, which is occasionally required, and most certainly we would do that immediately if it was required. Again, unlike many larger hotels we do not charge for WiFi, and which does generally work "throughout the Hotel". In the unusual event of a longer failure for some reason, we also have a complimentary computer in the front lounge. Ree is normally a bubbly, friendly personality, and is sorry if she gave a disinterested impression, which was not her intention, and she tells me she spent quite some time with theses guests, helping with planning their days.

As these guests indicate, our neighbourhood is interesting and friendly, with numerous cafes and restaurants within a short stroll. And yes, Kings Cross is only about a ten-minute walk for those who would like to sample the night-life, as well as convenient tourist shopping. We do a lot of our own shopping there, and neither Marie, nor I, have never had any problems walking through at any time, day or night.

We do try to give our guests an enjoyable and peaceful stay, and to provide for any reasonable requests, as far as we are able. However, sometimes it is not possible to please everyone, and many people may find the decor, or facilities, of a modern chain hotel more suited to their needs. However, if you can forgive the odd paint-chip, or squeaky floor-board, or any minor inconvenience, and would like to stay in a great Sydney neighbourhood, rather than with the tourists in the C.B.D., then "Simpsons" may be for you!

Please feel free to ask us any questions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Simpson's at Potts Point is a hybrid boutique and B&B accommodation in a convenient. quiet and safe location. The room was clean and comfortable with free wi-fi access. There is a cozy and quiet library stocked with different books to fit your need. Although we only had breakfast at the hotel only once, the breakfast area was quiet, had plenty of light and was a good place to start the day.

There are numerous restaurants, banks, convenience store + Woolworth and a few retail shops within walking distance of the hotel. Flagging a taxi was never a problem and you are about $10-$15 AUD away from most sites and shopping areas. Walking from the hotel to the Sydney Opera House and circular quay on a nice day while grabbing a bite at Harry's Cafe de Wheels and through Macquarie park either in the morning and/or late afternoon is an activity that I would recommend. If you start early enough, you can tie this activity with the Watson Bay to Bronte beach day trip as recommended by Keith and Ree....highly recommended although there is a bit of walking involved.

Having stayed at a 5 star hotel (up on a hill by The Rocks) and Simpson's at Pott's Point, my wife and I preferred and would consider staying at Simpson's if we visit Sydney again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rxchiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Very pleased these guest enjoyed our suggested walks.

The stroll down the hill to Woolloomooloo Bay, past the Marina and around the harbour to Mrs. Macquarie's Point, and through the Royal Botanic Gardens to the Opera House is pure magic. Marie and I walk this several times a week, and never tire of the magnificent views and ever-changing harbour scenery. Without exaggeration, it is one of the most attractive urban walks anywhere in the world!

Our other favourite in catching the harbour ferry to Watsons Bay, the walk through the National Park out to the South Head Lighthouse, then the convenient bus to Bondi Beach (lunch at the "Icebergs Club" overlooking the beach and the surfers), then the cliff walk to Bronte Beach for a coffee, and stroll back through Paddington, with its quaint Victorian terraces and boutique shops. A good overall way of seeing the city.

Sydney is blessed with very attractive harbour scenery, and the inner city with its various "villages", of which Potts Point is the closest to the city, and is also one of the most popular restaurant locations in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Property: Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing