We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goergous heritage rooms, and wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Ranked #16 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Goergous heritage rooms, and wonderful service”
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed here for my birthday last weekend. We were greeted at the door by the owner, Rees, and personally shown to our room. My husband had called the hotel the night before and mentioned that it was my birthday, so she upgraded our room and when we got there there were complimentary choccies and champagne waiting for us!

Excellent location, wonderful service, amazing decor. Will stay again as soon as we have the money! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beckthter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    160
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
116
564
75
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Celebrating our first wedding anniversary in Sydney, my husband and I decided to treat ourselves to 2 nights at Simpsons. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Ree and made to feel welcome as she showed us around the hotel.
Our room was comfortable and had the added bonus of a balcony - just the place to enjoy the bottle of sparkling wine and chocolates waiting for us in the room. We needed to borrow a few things in order to prepare for a wedding, and Ree was wonderful in assuring us that we were no bother to her.
The breakfast was lovely - simple and healthy, and provided in the sunroom out the back. We did not get a chance to enjoy the sitting room (with complimentary port and sherry), but this will definitely not be our last visit.

Room Tip: Smokers: ask for the room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozfiredancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2011

My partner and I stayed there for there for the first time on the recommendation from friends. They were right, it was excellent and a good bargain. The hotel is Victorian and very clean - added a lot of charm to the trip. The staff couldn't have been friendlier - I mean it. They were excellent and there to assist at any request but certainly not bothersome at all.
The location was so much better than we expected. We walked to all the "big things" and there were lots of great restaurants and a great book store at the end of the street. Don't miss the lattes at the coffee shop across and up the street.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGoToGayGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the Simpsons Hotel. The rooms were impeccably clean, very large, very comfortable & lovely & quiet. The fittings and furnishings are lovely period pieces which give the hotel a lovely homely & elegant feel. The location is fabulous just a short stroll from the harbour & the fabulous Wooloomooloo Wharf & literally is about 30 steps from Macleay Street, which is full of great trendy cafes & interesting shops & boutiques!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
142 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

we were scheduled to spend four nights at Simpsons but earthquake in ChCh, NZ delayed us by several days. ended up with two nights at Simpsons. the building is beautiful. location is farther from harbor and center city than we thought it would be. our room was fine, comfortable. for those who are interested, there are no "views" to speak of. hospitality was odd. we felt a bit like we were intruders rather than guests. breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cvalent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
We were a lttle surprised to read this Review, as we had had extensive friendly correspondence with these guests over many weeks, before their arrival.

I spoke to the manager, and to the staff on duty that morning, (on their second morning the guests left before breakfast), and I am satisfied that the staff all went out of their way to try to help these guests make the most of their reduced time in Sydney. They seemed tired after their travel from New Zealand, and seemed to want to be left alone, which, of course, is perfectly fine.

Certainly we would not like our guests to feel that they are "intruding" on us, quite the opposite, as they are our mainstay, which is what we are here for !!

We are glad that they liked our lovely old heritage building, their guest- room, and the breakfast......all positives !! We do not claim to offer all the facities of a modern chain hotel, but hope to make up for this with personal and friendly service. We have the the occasional squeaky floorboard, and the odd paint chip that we may not have got around to fixing, but we hope that guests will excuse this in return for staying in an unique environment.

We are the closest suburb to the CBD, being only 5-minutes walk down the steps to the Harbour and Woolloomooloo Bay, 10-minutes to the Art Gallery, 15-minutes to Macquarie Street, or 20-minutes to the heart of the City.

Best of all, we are right in the cosmopolitan atmosphere of Potts Point, with its extensive restaurants, cafes, galleries and shops, and only 10-minutes stroll to Kings Cross for those who want to sample its varied nightlife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

My partner and I are getting married and we wanted to stay a couple of nights in a little b&b, however as we entered the hotel grounds to get information face-to-face, the landlady came out in a terribly rude manner treating us in the most offensive way. She neither introduced herself nor gave us any information claiming that she can't do it then. She refused to answer any of our questions, leaving us with a big question of racism in our heads. She was outrageously rude and acted as if we were invading her space.So shocked, we called the hotel later to get an expalanation, but her attitude remained appouling and she hang up the phone. The worst experience ever. No idea how they do business. Even if offered for free, never would go back there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlackSwanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simpsonshotel, Owner at Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2011
This incident is what every hotelier dreads. This group arrived late one night, and asked to be shown through the hotel, and specifically the Cloud Suite. It appeared that they had been out celebrating the impending marriage of two of them.

When the Manager, Ree, explained that it was very late, and most guests were already in bed, and that the Cloud Suite was occupied, they became insistent. The Manager asked for their phone number so she could check the room availability in the morning, and make another more appropriate time for them to come around to inspect the hotel. However, they would not leave their number.

About an hour later they called again, waking Ree, who again asked for their number to call them in the morning, which they again refused.

I am sorry that this incident occurred, and that Ree felt the need to hang up the telephone, or was otherwise thought to be rude, but when faced with that behaviour, late at night, she was obviously shaken, and felt that this was the only way to finalise a potentially difficult situation.

Occasionally we get people who do not appreciate that we are not a large organisation, with 24-hour reception and all-night concierge desk. Just last night I was awoken at almost 4.00.am. by a front-door call from a young man, sounding slightly intoxicated, looking for a room for that night, or what remained of the night !!

Fortunately, incidents such as the above are rare, but nonetheless they are distressing to all parties when they do occur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

No need to reiterate in detail what others say. It is charming, small hotel which is very well run by very helpful people. Had planned to stay for three nights, and enjoyed it and Sydney (a world class city) so much we stayed longer. The rooms are very nice, and the air conditioning (a real concern in the summer) very good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidgpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,174 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 178 in Sydney
5,593 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel

Property: Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel
Address: 8 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#5 Business Hotel in Sydney
#8 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Simpsons" is an intimate 12 - room B&B boutique hotel, situated within a restored 1892 Victorian mansion, and is very centrally located in leafy tree-lined Potts Point, a vibrant and cosmopolitan area, being the closest suburb east of the City, with many interesting restaurants, bars, galleries and cafes nearby, yet only a 20 minute walk to the beauty of Sydney Harbour and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Simpsons of Potts Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Simpsons Of Potts Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing