We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decently priced, nice pool with view, but would not stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney
Ranked #75 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed September 15, 2010

They advertise rooms with a view, and we paid for one, but do not be mistaken, there is not! The hotel faces the motor way and even though it is beside a park / marina, only a few rooms will see this, or corners of it. The only view is from the pool area, which is admittedly really nice (see attached picture).

We've stayed at other Vibe hotels as they tend to be very trendy and a great atmosphere, but this one not so much. They have tried and I'll give them that, but the building and rooms are in need of an up-do. The bathroom was renovated and nice, and the bed very trendy and comfortable, but the rest a bit old.

Room was so-so clean, but the housekeeping tidied it up the second night, without asking. Housekeeping was very friendly. The front desk staff didn't seem thrilled to be there either day or any time we visited. Not rude, but disinterested and seemed a bit annoyed when asked questions.

Our biggest complaint was the location, only about 5 blocks from the red light district, although admittedly it doesn't run over. If you take the train home though, you will have to walk through it to get back to the hotel. This hotel is not good for children!!

Parking is horrendous. Underground and secure, but very tight (which I hear is common for Sydney) and way over-priced. It was over $25 a night to park although on their website and in the room even they advertise less.

Internet was $12.50 an hour or $25 for 24 hours I believe. Food is very expensive and no where's close by to eat unless willing to dine in the red-light district.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lil_calgary_woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your thoughts on our hotel. We are delighted that you have allocated the hotel with 5 stars for value and 4 stars for sleep quality as this has been a focus for us in recent times. Below are some comments on your feedback that our viewers may find helpful:
• View rooms overlook Rushcutters Park which is boarded by New South Head Road, the hotel does not advertise water views though some rooms have glimpses of Rushcutters Bay.
• For guests that feel uncomfortable using Kings Cross train station we recommend the use of Edgecliff Station which is the same distance from the hotel as Kings Cross station and can be accessed by the same train line.
• The Hotel is located less than 1km from the fine eateries of Darlinghurst & Paddington our staff can assist with recommendations however Kings Cross in its own right has many top rated restaurants worth considering.
We appreciate the feedback and look forward using these comments to better our operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,076)
There are newer reviews for Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,986 - 1,992 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2010

I spent three nights at this hotel with 2 kids. I recommend this hotel to anyone. It is A value for money hotel for the following 5 reasons: (1) Room charge was not expensive. This was because I booked a room online. (2) The size of the room was just right for one adult and two little kids (9 y.o.). (3) The location was very good. just next to a quite park facing a nice bay. You can enjoy nice walking every morning. (There was also a cafe in this park.). (4) Close to the stations (Kings Corss and Edgecliff Stations), a super market, and the central part of Sydney. And (5) the reception desk people were nice. (But Internet access charges and parking fees were a bit too expensive.)

子供二人と泊りました。お勧めのホテルです。理由は5つ。(1)宿泊費が安かった。オンラインで予約し格安で泊まりました。(ただし、一旦予約を入れるとリファンドはありませんのでお気をつけを。)(2)部屋の大きさが我々3人にちょうどいい大きさ。(3)場所がいい。最寄りの駅(キングズクロス駅およびエッジクリフ駅)まで10分。シドニーの中心街まで電車で数分から10分の位置にあります。(4)ホテルの隣は静かな公園になっていて散歩には最適。公園には小さいカフェもあります。(5)ホテルのフロントの人が親切。私も子供も大満足でした。(ただ、インターネット料金と駐車料金がもうちょっと安いと完璧でした。)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryPotterFinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

A very big complex close to the water and a 10 minute walk to King's Cross shopping area. Somewhat busy, but the reception staff work hard to get through the morning rush and are very courteous. My room was clean and modern, and smoke free.
Standard hotel breakfast selections, plentiful and fresh. Good evening meals and I was delighted by the personalised service when the chef came out to speak with me regarding a food allergy - very thoughtful. Free though limited wireless internet connection which was great. Many Australian hotels charge outrageous daily connection fees, so thanks "Vibe". I would definitely stay here again at the right price.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gnoleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Great location.

But

Grubby and worn . Shocking bed. Damaged unusable single chair in room. Parking fees not disclosed unless enquired about ; ridiculous internet tariff

And then there's the breakfast. I've been vaccuuming my mind trying to think of a worse breakfast, anywhere, anytime , any continent. No luck! This one gets the gong.

Appalling - cold rubber eggs , plastic toast , long extinct cereal , red things masquerading as tomatoes, doggie dodo sausages , coffee to die for (literally).

The Restaurant Manager should visit Vibe Sydney for breakfast to see how it should be done.

We won't be back

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisCypher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

The hotel is nothing special but if you can get it for a good price then it is worth it. Try to get rate with the breakfast included as it is a full breakfast (hot and cold) and there aren't many other breakfast restaurants around. The view from the roof is beautiful as you can see Rushcutter Bay but most views from the rooms are nothing special. The staff was helpful but internet was expensive at $2.00 for 20 minutes. A bus stop is just across the street and there is also a delicious pizza restaurant across the xtreet (not Elvis pizza). Overall a decent place that isn't in the middle of things but yet not too far away from the action.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank hollyjoy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Centrally located, modern style hotel, well priced for the area. Room views are either of the garden/bay or a busy street. Centrally located for the nightlife of the area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Admittedly, after reading reviews on here I was apprehensive about our stay at Vibe. A friend in Sydney had booked us in as it was close to his house and we would be spending a fair bit of time with his family.
Well I am happy to report that our stay here was great. We experienced none of the problems previous reviewers had.
Our check in was smooth and fast, the room was clean - we were in a junior suite which had plenty of room - and the bed was really comfortable! I was worried about noise levels as I'm a very light sleeper but sleeping here was bliss, no noise and excellent block out blinds so I could even have an afternoon nanna nap.
There was no top sheet on our bed and one was put on without fuss as soon as we asked.
We didn't find it necessary to eat at the hotel as there is an abundance of excellent cafes and restaurants within short walking distance from the hotel. We enjoyed eating out for every meal. My partner did have breakfast at curves one morning and said it was pretty average and overpriced. But with so many excellent places to eat nearby this was not a problem.
The location is excellent. Rushcutters Bay is beautiful and the hotel sits right on a lovely park. We walked through this gorgeous park many times to visit our friends living nearby.
If you walk to Kings Cross from the restaurant you may come across a small cafe called Uliveto - we had breakfast here almost daily. AMAZING! There are just so many great places nearby Darlinghurst, Potts Point (great for a girl to get pampered with lots of hair and beauty salons) Kings Cross and if you keep walking down Darlinghurst road the shops on Oxford street aren't that far away.

We had a really great stay at Vibe Rushcutters - the staff were all really helpful and friendly - especially the cleaning staff. Thanks for making our stay a memorable one (it was a very rare time for us to get away without the kids).

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrycreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#73 of 178 in Sydney
3,130 reviews
Surry Hills
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney

Address: 100 Bayswater Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Rushcutters Harbourside)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $120 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whilst a guest at Vibe Hotel Rushcutters, enjoy high fashion amidst the boutiques of Sydney’s Double Bay and craft markets of Paddington, which are situated only a two minute drive away, or if you jump in a taxi you can be in the Sydney CBD in five minutes, for the delights of Pitt Street and George Street shopping. With the hotel located on the fringe of Sydney’s CBD, the Eastern suburbs beaches call you to brunch by the surf, with the world renowned Bondi Beach and its iconic lifestyle only minutes away from your Sydney hotel.And at the end of your busy day, return to your park and bayside hotel and relax, take a dip in our heated swimming pool or work out in our rooftop gym and health & fitness centre. Enjoy the vibe at your Sydney hotel with personality – Vibe Hotel Rushcutters! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Toga Hotels, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing