We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and lacking service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney
Ranked #72 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The room sizes vary greatly and some are extremely small. The whole place needs n upgrade, pretty tired and average. The staff obviously feel this as well, service is lacking and they don't seem to care. The only thing this place has going for it is the location.... But not sure it stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina D, Manager at Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear DCsyd,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Vibe Rushcutters, we do appreciate your time.

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not great in some areas and would like to discuss this further with you. Please contact me directly to discuss your stay. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Assistant Hotel Manager
Kristina Dundovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,932 - 1,938 of 2,229 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very noisy especially with the large tour groups that seem to stay there, doors slamming and people in corridors carrying on not to mention being able to hear through the walls.

Location isn't the best especially at night time when Kings Cross (10-15 min walk in the dark) is your only option. During the day Westfield Bondi Junction is on a train stop away.

Staff are nice enough.

Don't stay at this hotel if you want decent sleep (paper think quilt) or to be near the action (other than Kings Cross). It seems to be a hotel that all the undesireables come to for their night out on the town. Not a corporate hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussieflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina D, Manager at Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Aussieflyers,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Vibe Rushcutters, we do appreciate your time.

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not great in some areas and would like to discuss this further with you. Please contact me directly to discuss your stay. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Assistant Hotel Manager
Kristina Dundovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a great stay at the Vibe Rushcutters Bay. We had Park view King rooms and they were a great size. Love the view and the location. Love the front desk staff - very helpful. Beds were firm and pillows not overstuffed - just the way I like them. It was very quiet but I suspect that was because our neighbours were quiet - not because the wall insulation was all that great. Bath was deep and showers were great. The pool area on top of the hotel had a fabulous view too - what a great way to while a way an evening.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 31Daria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina D, Manager at Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear 31Daria,

Thank you for your review we appreciate your time and feedback.

We pride ourselves in good customer service so it is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Rushcutters and you can contact me directly to book again if you like. Look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Assistant Hotel Manager
Kristina Dundovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The accommodation is very comfortable and great hospitality by Vibe's staffs. Rooms are beautiful(the refurbished ones), bath room is normal. Great view by the rooftop swimming pool and well equipped gym. The Curve restaurant looks classy and a little pricey. Morning run is perfect at the park beside the hotel. 10 minutes walk to King Cross Station and various supermarkets. Complimentary Wifi is limited to 30 minutes per 24 hours in the lobby and don't ever pay for the room's costly wifi.

This hotel is good for a quiet surrrounding and being accessible to nightlife and conveniently located nearby the King Cross station. It may be bad as it is not located directly in the city and you have to walk a couple of steep slopes to the supermarkets.

Overall, enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: Rooms that has a park view because morning view is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haesecneret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina D, Manager at Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear haesecneret,

Thank you for taking your time to comment about Vibe Rushcutters, we appreciate your feedback and I will be sure to share with the Vibe team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Rushcutters and feel free to contact me directly at the hotel for your next booking with us, I would be more than happy to assist you.

Kind Regards

Assistant Hotel Manager
Kristina Dundovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our first visit a month ago was okay but nothing to recommend it other than location. Our second visit ( once again chosen for location) was painful. The room was even smaller than the first visit, I referred to it as half the size of a postage stamp. There must be very little insulation in the building as noise was a constant problem. The beds are badly joined to form a king and need a topper to provide "some" comfort. The location is the only plus for us however even this will not be enough for us to return next time.

Room Tip: go to another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DubboNSWAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina D, Manager at Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear DubboNSWAustralia,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Vibe Rushcutters, it is very useful and we do appreciate your time, I will be sure to share your comments with the Vibe team.

Please contact me directly on (02) 8353 8988 so that we can discuss your stay further, I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Assistant Hotel Manager
Kristina Dundovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you don't want to stay in the middle of Sydney this hotel is a bit of a walk from Kings Cross Station. The room was good and it looks like the place was refurbished not too long ago. A dead give away was the shower over the bath which isn't our favourite bathroom scenario. There was nothing to rave about but nothing to complain about either - we would stay here again. The restaurant (Curves) had a great happy hour with pints of beer and house wine $4 between 4 and 7 - that was a bonus.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mackasx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina D, Manager at Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Mackasx2,

Thank you for taking your time to comment about Vibe Rushcutters, we appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Vibe Rushcutters and feel free to contact me directly at the hotel for your next booking with us, I would be more than happy to assist you.

Kind Regards

Assistant Hotel Manager
Kristina Dundovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently stayed at the Vibe Rushcutters Bay Hotel. The hotel is in a good location, and my room was clean and quiet from street noise. The king sized bed was actually two separate mattresses joined together, so when I slept in the bed I could not sleep in the middle, I had to sleep on either side of the bed as sleeping right in the middle of the bed was uncomfortable as it was the join between the two mattresses. Also when I checked in at reception it would have been good if the staff member had of explained what amenities and facilities the hotel has, I had to access the Internet via my smart phone to discover that the Hotel has a roof top swimming pool and gym etc. There was no mention of the hotels amenities and facilities in my room, so if I had not of used my smart phone to access the Internet to view the hotel amenities and facilities I would not have known there was a roof top pool and roof top gym etc. I would stay at the Vibe Hotel Rushcutters again, however for the price per night I believe there is better value accommodation in Sydney. I liked how I could control the room temperature in my room. Hotel staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveldude25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina D, Manager at Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear traveldude25,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Vibe Rushcutters, it is very useful and we do appreciate your time, I will be sure to share your comments with the Vibe team.

Please contact me directly on (02) 8353 8988 so that we can discuss your stay further, I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Assistant Hotel Manager
Kristina Dundovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Macleay Hotel
#47 of 181 in Sydney
898 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 181 in Sydney
5,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Double Bay
The Savoy Double Bay Hotel
The Savoy Double Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Double Bay
181 reviews
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#83 of 181 in Sydney
1,108 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#80 of 181 in Sydney
3,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney

Address: 100 Bayswater Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Rushcutters Harbourside)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $112 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whilst a guest at Vibe Hotel Rushcutters, enjoy high fashion amidst the boutiques of Sydney’s Double Bay and craft markets of Paddington, which are situated only a two minute drive away, or if you jump in a taxi you can be in the Sydney CBD in five minutes, for the delights of Pitt Street and George Street shopping. With the hotel located on the fringe of Sydney’s CBD, the Eastern suburbs beaches call you to brunch by the surf, with the world renowned Bondi Beach and its iconic lifestyle only minutes away from your Sydney hotel.And at the end of your busy day, return to your park and bayside hotel and relax, take a dip in our heated swimming pool or work out in our rooftop gym and health & fitness centre. Enjoy the vibe at your Sydney hotel with personality – Vibe Hotel Rushcutters! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing