We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central
Ranked #85 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights with a bargain price , room was small but clean and functional even though in the city center there is not much noise from the streets, we had our car parked at word square and it was very convenient, only negative is there is no minibar in the fridge, we would definitely stay again if we get with this price.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Upho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Upho,

Thank you for your review and stay at Metro Hotel Sydney Central.

We are glad that you have had a pleasant stay in our hotel and that you enjoyed our facilities and great location.

Please note that since our rooms have no mini bar items (only mini bar fridges for guest use) our guests have access to onsite vending machines that they can use for their food and drink supplies.

We will be looking forward to your next visit in our hotel so you can take once more advantage of our great location...

Kind regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
There are newer reviews for Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here for one night to see the lion king. Hotel was very central to everything. We arived early and was lucky enough to check in straight away. The room clean and tidy. Bed was very comfortable. It was smaller than what I was expecting but was perfect for our one night. Staff were very friendly and pleasant. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Tmg72,

Thank you for your recent stay with Metro Hotels and for your positive review. We are always try to offer a good value for money accommodation with a friendly service and we are glad that you have enjoyed your latest stay with us.

We will be looking forward to your future visits.

Kind regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a great location, just minutes away from George Street and Pitt Street, which are the most common and central streets you need to use to get to attractions like Darling Harbour, Sydney Fish Market, Harbour Bridge and The Rocks. Take the free shuttle bus 555 from George Street to get to these places or simply take a leisurely walk. Surrey hills and Chinatown are in our backyard, very convenient to get to cafes and paddy's market.

The best Thai food I've ever had at Chat Thai, just literally next door. Go there for lunch or dinner but personally prefer lunch as there will be lesser people.

Basically, a comfortable hotel (we booked a triple bed room) with excellent location! We walked everywhere and saved a lot on transport. Service was okay, not top notch but no complaints! Will stay again, very happy with the hotel. The hotel provides airport transfers as well, $14 one way, so ask them!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank fullofcolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Fullofcolours,

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney and for the time taken to leave your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you took full advantage of the great hotel location to visit the nearby areas.

We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation to our guests and it is really positive for us to hear back from our guests when we do something wright.

I will forward your feedback to our team for their update. Feel free to contact us if you have any further remarks.

We will be looking forward to your next visit in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The location of this hotel was excellent - very close to (and easy to find from) Central Station. The décor was quite modern and what I would expect from a city hotel. The price was reasonable. However, there were some downsides.

The room was small, which is OK if you are only sleeping there. The bed was comfortable enough, but the sirens from the fire station up the road woke me several times as did the sounds of shouting on the street. (I was on level 3)

And the bathroom was clean, but tiny. I admit to being larger than average (I am a size 24) but I could barely squeeze through the shower's sliding door. The taps were so tightly closed I could not open them from outside the shower. So my choices were either stand in there and get hit with cold water, or forgo my wash. I was pleased to be staying just the one night. If you are large like me, this is probably not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaraKim67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Larakim67,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you have had an overall satisfactory experience with your latest stay.

It is true that our hotel location is great for both business and leisure travelers. Regarding your comments about the room size, please note that our hotel offers many room sizes and for your next stay I would suggest you to try one of our Suites. They are great for those traveling with or who simply want some extra space to feel more comfortable.

I have forwarded your review to all relevant staff members for their information.

We will be looking forward to have you stay with us in the future. In the meantime, should you have any further remarks, feel free to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

*Small bathroom
*Poor soundproofing
*Wi-Fi was slower than dial-up, many pages just would not load. Do not pay for Wi-Fi here, just tether your phone.
*Room service prices were extremely expensive, just order food up to your room
*Extremely small wardrobe

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear SteveD,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are all disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us and please rest assured that we will always do everything within our power to resolve any issues that are brought to our attention.

Please accept our apologies that you feel the stay was unsatisfactory and that these issues were not fully resolved to your satisfaction as this is not the experience we wish for guests to have.

We hope that we may welcome you back in future however if you do have any concerns or issues that you wish to discuss further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

centrally located, just 5 mins walk to Central station, heaps of restaurant, cafe and shops when you walk out the hotel, chinatown just around the corner.
Room is reasonable size and clean, abit old especially the bathroom.
rooftop swimming pool added value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heraliwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Heraliwy,

Thank you for the positive feedback pertaining your latest stay with us.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and hotel location.

We will be looking forward to your next visit in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed for just a night at the Metro Sydney. The hotel is about half a kilometer away from Central station, so it's not really walkable if you have lots of luggage with you. The room was rather small although there was sufficient space to open up 2 suitcases. The bed and linen was clean but we found the mattress to be slightly sunken down the middle.

The hotel is a 3 minute walk to World Square which has a good variety of shops and restaurants. It is also around the Haymarket/Chinatown area. You can also take a long walk to The Rocks and Opera House.

Price was on the high side, but then again most Sydney hotels are priced around this or upwards.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Bly76,

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hotel location.

I will forward your feedback to our relevant departments for their review.

We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Capitol Square Hotel
#155 of 178 in Sydney
506 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,463 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney
#44 of 178 in Sydney
713 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#52 of 178 in Sydney
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central

Address: 431-439 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $92 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central is minutes away from all that Sydney offers. Located opposite the Capitol Theatre and walking distance to China Town and Darling Harbour. Boasting 220 well appointed guest rooms & suites, this hotel with its rooftop pool is an oasis in a busy gateway city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing