We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfortable room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central
Ranked #85 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable room!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a great location, just minutes away from George Street and Pitt Street, which are the most common and central streets you need to use to get to attractions like Darling Harbour, Sydney Fish Market, Harbour Bridge and The Rocks. Take the free shuttle bus 555 from George Street to get to these places or simply take a leisurely walk. Surrey hills and Chinatown are in our backyard, very convenient to get to cafes and paddy's market.

The best Thai food I've ever had at Chat Thai, just literally next door. Go there for lunch or dinner but personally prefer lunch as there will be lesser people.

Basically, a comfortable hotel (we booked a triple bed room) with excellent location! We walked everywhere and saved a lot on transport. Service was okay, not top notch but no complaints! Will stay again, very happy with the hotel. The hotel provides airport transfers as well, $14 one way, so ask them!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fullofcolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Fullofcolours,

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney and for the time taken to leave your review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you took full advantage of the great hotel location to visit the nearby areas.

We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation to our guests and it is really positive for us to hear back from our guests when we do something wright.

I will forward your feedback to our team for their update. Feel free to contact us if you have any further remarks.

We will be looking forward to your next visit in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    352
    223
    56
    36
See reviews for
208
215
77
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The location of this hotel was excellent - very close to (and easy to find from) Central Station. The décor was quite modern and what I would expect from a city hotel. The price was reasonable. However, there were some downsides.

The room was small, which is OK if you are only sleeping there. The bed was comfortable enough, but the sirens from the fire station up the road woke me several times as did the sounds of shouting on the street. (I was on level 3)

And the bathroom was clean, but tiny. I admit to being larger than average (I am a size 24) but I could barely squeeze through the shower's sliding door. The taps were so tightly closed I could not open them from outside the shower. So my choices were either stand in there and get hit with cold water, or forgo my wash. I was pleased to be staying just the one night. If you are large like me, this is probably not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraKim67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Larakim67,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you have had an overall satisfactory experience with your latest stay.

It is true that our hotel location is great for both business and leisure travelers. Regarding your comments about the room size, please note that our hotel offers many room sizes and for your next stay I would suggest you to try one of our Suites. They are great for those traveling with or who simply want some extra space to feel more comfortable.

I have forwarded your review to all relevant staff members for their information.

We will be looking forward to have you stay with us in the future. In the meantime, should you have any further remarks, feel free to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Bourke Street
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

*Small bathroom
*Poor soundproofing
*Wi-Fi was slower than dial-up, many pages just would not load. Do not pay for Wi-Fi here, just tether your phone.
*Room service prices were extremely expensive, just order food up to your room
*Extremely small wardrobe

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear SteveD,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are all disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us and please rest assured that we will always do everything within our power to resolve any issues that are brought to our attention.

Please accept our apologies that you feel the stay was unsatisfactory and that these issues were not fully resolved to your satisfaction as this is not the experience we wish for guests to have.

We hope that we may welcome you back in future however if you do have any concerns or issues that you wish to discuss further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

centrally located, just 5 mins walk to Central station, heaps of restaurant, cafe and shops when you walk out the hotel, chinatown just around the corner.
Room is reasonable size and clean, abit old especially the bathroom.
rooftop swimming pool added value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heraliwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Heraliwy,

Thank you for the positive feedback pertaining your latest stay with us.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and hotel location.

We will be looking forward to your next visit in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed for just a night at the Metro Sydney. The hotel is about half a kilometer away from Central station, so it's not really walkable if you have lots of luggage with you. The room was rather small although there was sufficient space to open up 2 suitcases. The bed and linen was clean but we found the mattress to be slightly sunken down the middle.

The hotel is a 3 minute walk to World Square which has a good variety of shops and restaurants. It is also around the Haymarket/Chinatown area. You can also take a long walk to The Rocks and Opera House.

Price was on the high side, but then again most Sydney hotels are priced around this or upwards.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Bly76,

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hotel location.

I will forward your feedback to our relevant departments for their review.

We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This hotel is in a convenient and central location in Sydney. It is opposite the Capitol theatre which and walking distance to the George Street entertainment district, Chinatown, Haymarket and Central station. I found the room smaller than average and while it had a bath the toilet had been jammed into a small corner. As person of only average height I could not sit squarely on the toilet without hitting my knees on the wall. The enamel on the bathtub around the plug was flaking off. The reception staff were slow at check in and even after I had indicated I needed a toilet it took a protest before the male staff member found a gear above dead slow. Outside of these issues the room was clean and well presented with a comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Choose a high room on the Pitt Street side of the hotel to avoid street noise from the Capitol Theat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Greg M,

Thank you for leaving this review regarding your stay. We are happy that your overall stay experience was a positive one.

It is true that our hotel is in a great location in the City that gives you access to all the sites and attractions. With easy access to public transport, we are a great choice for both leisure and business travelers in Sydney.

Please note that apart from our standard rooms, the hotel offers suites for those who need more space to unwind or for families traveling together...

We will be looking forward to your next visit in our hotel. In the meantime, should you require any further assistance, feel free to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pambula
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed for one night during a transit in Sydney in June. Selecting a conveniently-placed hotel in Sydney is easy although prices differ widely. Luckily, the Metro offered a great location only ten minutes walk from Sydney Central railway station, and at a competitively affordable price.

Reception was quick and efficient and the room looked out from the 10th floor on a pleasing CBD landscape. The room was quiet and medium-sized and as comfortable as I had hoped without being luxurious. All the usual amenities are provided - good towels and bathroom amenities, sufficient though not over-abundant. The bed itself was firm and not the standard of mattress that I have experienced at other similarly-priced hotels nearby.

But overall this visit was comfortable and convenient, and the front office folks did their best to react quickly and effectively to requests (e.g. for data connection and use of printer downstairs). I would stay here again for a short visit though the hotel would not necessarily be my first choice. There are others that can match the price and offer a bit more comfort, particularly in terms of bed quality, though they cannot compete on location generally.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from Sydney centre road traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingCodger_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear WanderingCodger,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel and for the time taken to write your review. We are glad that your overall stay experience was a positive one.

Regarding your comments about your room bed, please note that our hotel is in the process of upgrading all our older beds to new more comfortable ones. This is part of our commitment to offer a great value for money accommodation to our guests and is coming after our full room upgrade that took place last year. Maybe you can ask our friendly reservations team to be allocated in one of these rooms for your next stay.

I will forward your feedback to all our relevant departments for their review. I hope that this reply has assisted you with your concerns.

We will be looking forward to your next visit in our property.

Kind regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#53 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#80 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central

Property: Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central
Address: 431-439 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central is minutes away from all that Sydney offers. Located opposite the Capitol Theatre and walking distance to China Town and Darling Harbour. Boasting 220 well appointed guest rooms & suites, this hotel with its rooftop pool is an oasis in a busy gateway city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing