We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for accommodations in Sydney's CBD (Central Business District)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central
Ranked #83 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best value for accommodations in Sydney's CBD (Central Business District)”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Best overall accommodations for business and touring people alike! Fantastic location, walking distance to Central Bus and Train stations, lots of Restaurants, Shopping, Touring sites and services all within walking distance.
Hotel and rooms are clean and runs efficiently and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear GHDias18,

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central and for taking some time to leave your invaluable feedback.

We are excited that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us. We are always trying to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service. It is true that our hotel location is excellent for business and leisure travelers alike as we are within easy reach of most Sydney attractions and just a short walk away to most corporate offices of the CBD.

We hope to see you again during your future visit in Sydney.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    371
    235
    60
    38
See reviews for
222
230
85
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Grindelwald, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we wanted an affordable and central accommodation for our stay in Sydney. The location was very good but in china town, which didn't bother us but maybe it does others. I wanted to book the room over booking.com but my credit card had some problems so I simply called. When I asked for the same price as they offer on booking I was told that they could only give the exact same room for 110 per night instead of 80 or so. After convincing the receptionist that the price was made by their hotel and not booking.com (which took me about 5-10')I was finally able to book it. The room was nice and spacious. Unfortunately they don't have free wifi. It was not bad but not very good

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesasosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Wesasosa,

Thank you for your feedback and recent stay in our hotel. It is great to see that you have had an overall enjoyable stay. It is true that our hotel is in a great location in Sydney close to all major attractions and only a short walk to public transport.

We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation in Sydney CBD and our rates reflect the general demand in the market. Although, in most cases, we are able and happy to match online rates over the phone, there might be cases where this is not possible due to restrictions in room availability.

In any case, if you find a rate that you are interested online, feel free to contact our friendly reservation team. They will be able to assist you book or offer you alternatives in case that your first preference is not available.

I hope that this email has addressed your concerns, for anything further you might need please contact me.

We are looking forward to your next visit in our hotel.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've stayed here a few times amps it is directly opposite the Capitol Theatre and easy walking distance to all of Sydney' attractions . M last stay this week saw me placed in an interconnecting room and I could hear everything next door. I call downstairs annd I was moved to another room which was lovely and quiet. Rooms are good, comfy beds and everything you need including fridge and coffee making facilities. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrybigbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear kerrybigbuzz,

Thank you for staying with us again, and for taking time to leave your feedback.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and service provided to you. We are always keen to help our guests make the most out of their time in Sydney.

With our great location and recently refurbished rooms we are able to provide a great value for money destination in Sydney.

We a are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have recently stayed at the Metro on a business trip and we were very disappointed, we found the staff to be apathetic and unhelpful. One staff member actually rolled her eyes when asked for a copy of the receipt for the airport shuttle, it was clearly too much to ask!
The rooms are adequate and clean, the beds are comfortable. There are a few things that were odd such as the toilet set up in one of our rooms (see photo) a partial wall is so close to the toilet it's awkward to actually use it comfortably!
We had experienced issues from the start with our booking however this was a result of some confusion with our booking as it was a business trip for the first two days then personal for the following two...we felt this was quite clearly explained in our request but was obviously too complex for staff to follow.
Breakfast was dreadful; the bacon, sausages and eggs undercooked. We actually decided after the second day to cancel our breakfast booking and eat elsewhere. Basic amenities are provided; tea, coffee, sugar and UHT milk. Little things that are common in other hotels that would be appreciated are sweeteners (such as Equal if you don't use sugar) and bottled water...not a big deal but we travel a lot for work and this is quite common).
Rooms are equipped with a bar fridge which was handy.
The hotel is in a convenient location to Darling Harbour, the Convention Centre, a variety of shops and there are many options close by for meals. Overall we felt the service was lacking and there are much better options in the area, we would be unlikely to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMR1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Mmr1316,

Thank you for your recent stay and time to leave your feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel location and room facilities as all the rooms have recently been refurbished to offer a better stay experience to our guests. It is true that our hotel is located in a great area of the City making it easily accessible by public transport and car. Most of Sydney's great attractions are within easy reach from our property either on foot or by public transport.

In our hotel, we always try to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service and it is concerning to read your commends about your check out experience. We take your feedback seriously and I will make sure to properly follow up with the relevant department heads and see what went wrong with your customer service experience. I will also forward your comments about breakfast to our food and beverage team for their review.

I hope that this has addressed your concerns. For anything further, feel free to contact me and I will be happy to assist.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Located in the city, the hotel is close to Thai town and China town. I stayed there in a superior room. The room was quite clean but the wireless was terrible (I spent AUD 50 for a weekly wireless charge). If you're looking for a good location hotel in Sydney with an affordable cost, this hotel is one of your choices!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NamwanMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Namwan,

Thank you for staying in Metro Hotel Sydney and for taking some time to leave your feedback. We are glad to learn that you have enjoyed your accommodation in our recently refurbished rooms. It is true that our hotel is located in a great area of Sydney, close to most major attractions and just a short walk away from public transport.

Regarding your comments about the internet, I will make sure to inform our IT department to check the connection in the room that you stayed for any issues.

We are looking forward to your future visit in our hotel.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times and will stay there again and again. It is close to china town so you can easily find food and it is near the famous shopping George street. This hotel is newly renovated so the room is very nice and comfortable. Breakfast is good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Alex,

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad that you have once more enjoyed your stay and hotel location. It is true that our hotel is located in a very convenient area of Sydney giving you access to everything that the City has to offer.

Your feedback is invaluable to us, as it helps us to improve any imperfections and connect to our guests. Our newly renovated rooms have been a great success and we are now looking into our next steps to improve our customer experience.

We will be looking forward to your future stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was not impressed at all with the metro. The positives were the location and the breakfast. The rooms were very tiny and need updating. The bathroom was dirty, small, and also needs major updating. I could not get hot water in the shower. The majority of the front desk staff were rude and unaccommodating. The wifi that you paid for did not work. I stayed here with a group so I did not choose it but when I return I will stay somewhere nicer. If you are going with friends or on business, it is a good place to stay but if you are taking a nice couple or family vacation, I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Maddie,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed the great hotel location and breakfast service and appreciate your feedback left.

I will follow up your points with the relevant departments to see what went wrong with your stay. All our rooms have been recently refurbished (including the bathrooms) and this is why your comments about your room concern me.

We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly and efficient service but it looks that we were unsuccessful in your case.

I hope that this reply has assisted you with your concerns. Please feel free to contact me should your require further assistance.

Kind regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#55 of 178 in Sydney
1,323 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,339 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 178 in Sydney
4,777 reviews
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#97 of 178 in Sydney
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central

Property: Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central
Address: 431-439 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central is minutes away from all that Sydney offers. Located opposite the Capitol Theatre and walking distance to China Town and Darling Harbour. Boasting 220 well appointed guest rooms & suites, this hotel with its rooftop pool is an oasis in a busy gateway city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing