We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very quiet, pleasant staff, affordable prices...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grace Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #17 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, very quiet, pleasant staff, affordable prices...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay at the Grace Hotel. The location is wonderful...you are near shopping on Pitt Street, a few blocks from both Darling Harbour and Circular Quay and have a train stop, convenience store and other perks very close. The hotel is an older hotel, but it is clean, has decent-sized rooms and was extremely quiet. Was a perfect launching point for daily excursions. The staff was pleasant and helpful, and all of this at reasonable rates (compared with some very pricey competitors). Some minor hiccups in our stay....the internet is very costly and is average, the self-service laundry was ridiculously expensive and the breakfast is probably not worth the price. But overall, we were happy we chose The Grace, and would probably stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,664
    1,923
    440
    114
    64
See reviews for
717
2,082
341
1,375
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lower hutt
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Grace Hotel, I felt the location was excellent, the rooms were spacious and property was clean. Staff were great including the cleaning staff the concierge guys were great - even funny!!! Enjoyed the pool and spa and the lovely view from the deck at the top (wish this area was open later than 9pm though). Lighting was not great in the rooms for applying makeup :) other than that would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

I booked at the Grace as part of a "mystery hotel" deal on an accommodation website and enjoyed a change from my regular stays in Sydney.

Upon check-in, my boyfriend and I were informed that a king bed room was not available for the deal we had (I was told this might be a possibility on booking). We were offered an upgrade to a larger room for a small extra charge which I was happy to pay.

The room was very clean, tastefully decorated and surprisingly quiet, given our windows faced the road. The bed was amazing, and we both slept very soundly.
The location was great for us, as it was a short walk from most of the places we usually visit, and the close proximity to Darling Harbour would make it a good choice for people visiting Sydney for the first time.

Car parking under the hotel was comparable to other weekday rates in the CBD.It was fully staffed by valets, so it feels very secure.

My only complaint would be that they charge for internet, which is a common gripe for Australian hotels. Given that it would cost them almost nothing to provide this service with the infrastructure they already have, it baffles me as to why so many hotels insist on having their guests pay to check email.

Overall, I would recommend the Grace to Sydney tourists looking for a comfortable and quiet and relaxed place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photosynthesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

Great location, within easy walking distance of attractions and shopping, good service, quiet spacious room. We loved the fact that you could have a lovely cheap breakfast in their cafe. Just a bit disappointed we didn't get a complimentary newspaper. We'd go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

I most recently stayed at the Grace Hotel for 2 nights.

As has been previously mentioned, it has been renovated from i believe a large store and also office building. It is quite impressive from outside in terms of its style and they have tried to keep many of the art deco style in the lobby and public areas.

Overall i was happy with my stay. My first room was on a high floor overlooking the main road outside. It was a little noisy, so i requested a room change to an interior room, which overlooks a sort of courtyard below. Thsi room was very quiet indeed and i was able to relax and i slept well. The room and bathroom was very clean indeed and so , once again, i was happy with my choice.

Although i was quite happy overall, it wasnt really for me. So i am not sure i woudl return.

However, i am sure that there are those that return time and time again. Its just a matter of personal taste and what you like!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hemikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

This hotel was very grand, steeped in history and was in a wonderful location, the rooms were spacious and very clean BUT you paid for it. Because we stayed here for 5 nights including New Years Eve the price TREBLED and you had to stay a minimum of 3 nights which really took the edge of the enjoyment of the hotel. At normal rates I would say this was an excellent hotel, at the inflated prices charged it became a very expensive hotel that you expected more from. One person worth mentioning was troy the concierge, he was extremely helpful and very professional. We had a mix up when trying to collect some already booked tickets for a New Years Eve cruise but he took control and sorted it for us.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Grace hotel. The staff were lovely and accommodating, breakfast was great and there is a lovely little pub accross the road! Short walk to everything in Sydney CBD - highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay in the future. Rooms were large and clean with everything we needed (tea, coffee replaced daily).

Thank you to all the Grace staff who made our stay so lovely!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kissmeekatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Property: The Grace Hotel Sydney
Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing