We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My fave hotel in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #19 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here most recently for our 2 yr anniversay, in a nicer room than usual (one of the cnr rooms) which we booked for a reduced rate on wotif. We love the Grace, and the 2 times we stayed other places in Sydney we were really disappointed. Everytime I have stayed at the Grace, the room has been gorgeous, clean and comfortable. I have stayed in a twin room with my mother there before as well (my first stay) and that was just as fantastic. For a place with good location, beautiful rooms and a fair price, the Grace is a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awful_in_aqua86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,931)
There are newer reviews for The Grace Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,474 - 5,480 of 5,931 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2010

I booked this hotel through wotif secret hotel (with a very good rate) for a business trip with my partner. From our previous experience with screte 4 or 5 star hotels through wotif, we usually get the most basic room because of the rate we paid. Offer at Grace hotel was more than our expectations! We were given a huge room with a king bed. We realy really enjoyed every minute of our stay.
1. Location. Perfect. Pitt Street mall & QVB are just 1 block away. Darling Harbour and Circular quay is 10 min stroll. The hotel is a boutique heritage building and is very nicely decorated giving you a early 1900 feel.
2. Room. We were given a large room with modern facilities. LCD TV, large comfortable king size bed. Good selection of tea and coffee making facilities. We were facing the inside of the building and was extremely peaceful and quiet. A small sofa with a good selection of magazines to relax.
3. Unfortunately we did not have time to visit the gym and the pool. Will try next time.
4. Service. Friendly, efficient staff and concierge.
5. I recommend not to drive. The hotel has limited number of parking spaces costing $40 per 24 hours.

We enjoyed every single minute of our stay at Grace Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanberraTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Ideally located, handy for both Darling harbour, Circular Quay & public transport, comfortable hotel, looks very much like an old department store - ala "Are you being served" ( UK TV program of old) , enjoyed PJ O'Brians bar & restuarant- only minus side being internet was pricy - although pretty common in Australia

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rogandrose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

The location is great in the center especially for shopping. Bed is very comfortable. The building is very stylish and beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

What a great hotel in the heart of Sydney, with easy access to the shopping domain of sydney, trains are a block away, and a little further is circular quay. The restaurants in and around Darling Harbour are a must.

This is the third time I have stayed at the Grace Hotel and still have not been wanting for anything. The service, reception, cleanliness is all what you would get in a five star. If you away for a relaxing weekend, well do yourself a favour and pamper yourself to the Grace Hotel.... mmmm the beds are great.

Obviously you pay for the location, but it is well worth it, did I mention all the good restaurants in and around Darling Harcbour and Cockle Bay, additionally the markets at the Rocks are good to browse over.

Would have no problems in returning to the Grace Hotel

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brisflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Stayed at this hotel to attend a friend's wedding on the day, and I had requested numerous times over the phone for guaranteed early check-in, however none of the staff would budge unless I booked for the night before as well. So I turned up on the day fully expecting to be denied check-in at my requested time, however to my surprise (and luck) they had a room all ready for me when I arrived. Very impressed!

Reading previous reviews, many users said something about the deep bath and it being difficult to get in/out of. However I didn't find the bath to be any different to other hotels to be honest, and certainly wasn't deep or large enough to fit any large-sized men as I would have thought from the reviews. Maybe it's just the room I had?

I got a room with a "king sized bed", which I quite enjoyed. It wasn't until next morning that I realised it was one of those "two single beds pushed together" king sized beds. The bed had thick layer of bedding on top, which certainly made the difference.

Other than the price (I would have never paid the going-rate for the room), my only complaint is that the room was really lacking in lighting. There was pretty much no way you could read at night unless you sat right below the lamp. It certainly made the mood more intimate, but not very practical in my opinion.

And lastly, I highly recommend the "Express Beauty Bar" downstairs in the hotel. They can do quick and inexpensive makeup on the go, and the staff are really friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csg001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

This is a lovely and I found the reviews very helpful in choosing it! The hotel itself is a restored 1930's building, well located within walking distance of all the lovely sights of Sydney. Lovely quiet rooms and very comfy and a great breakfast buffet too.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WindsurferNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#70 of 178 in Sydney
993 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $159 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing