We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,241)
Filter reviews
7,241 results
Traveler rating
3,810
2,572
602
169
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,810
2,572
602
169
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews darling harbour great location art deco irish pub beautiful hotel central location queen victoria building room service the heart of the city within walking distance pitt street mall room was spacious wynyard station good size business trip buffet breakfast public transport
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 7,241 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018

Bed was very comfortable. Overall a good stay except for when I had a bite of mouldy cheese and biscuits from the fridge - 2 months out of date. When checking out there was no apology and made me feel as if I was just trying to get a freebie as I refused to pay for it.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank clareweate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night to attend a function in the CBD. Beautifully restored older building that’s retained its historical charm. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The room amenities were modern and clean. The buffet breakfast had a vast variety of choices. I was aware from other reviews that parking at the hotel is expensive so I chose a nearby CBD car park. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Cookiegirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018

Don't stay here if you are a smoker. Don't stay here if you don't like being ripped off.Don't use the parking (Which you pay for) as you then can't access you vehicle (they keep your keys). In the country parking at a Hotel for free is a given. Staff are lovely, but the place is a total rip off.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jcazaubon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

I would definitely bring my family back here again!
The building is old but in a classy and elegant way and the customer service was awesome.
-Vast variety of options for the buffet breakfast. I haven’t come across this huge breakfast in other Sydney hotels in awhile.
-Carpark available, they were really helpful.
ROOMS
-Super comfy bed & fluffy pillows.
-Very clean
-minibar
-Provide iron & board
-small complimentary bodywash, shampoo,conditioner,showercap provided.
-surprised that we also recieved complimentary bottle of wine too!
LOCATION
- 7minute walk to Darling Harbour
-7minute walk to Westfield & Shopping centre
- Lots of eatery’s nearby.
-10-15min walk to circular quay.
-minutes walk from the train & bus stations.
-Nextdoor is the BEST italian pasta restaurant!!!!!! must try

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank stephysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

I booked online and never imagined I’d be staying in a place where windows are only ornamental ... apparently for security reasons you can’t open any windows in any room. For me, this wrecked my stay entirely - and I truly wish I’d been warned . Rooms feel stale, and I am guessing that to “freshen” chemical fresheners are used to maintain an illusion of clean air.

It’s a nice enough hotel for someone who’s simply sleeping at the end of a day, but if you’re spending any time in the room it’s not pleasant.
It feels severely claustrophobic.

Be warned you’ll pay almost $20 to use the guest laundry. I found that a deeply offensive price given we spent nearly $1000 for 3 nights in this tank.

Additional issues include massive wait times to call the hotel to book, plus, the TV dubbing was out the entire time. So once again, if you want to watch a movie or something to relax, that’s a ruined experience also.

All in all I can’t get out of here fast enough.

On the positive - the room service meals were excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. If you could understand them..

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CountryCorporate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews