We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't check in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #19 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't check in!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Abysmal experience on check-in, and while ordering room service. The reservation was wrong, the girl at reception couldn't work her printer or the eftpos machine, the details which did make it into the computer about my payment were also inaccurate. A high 'incidentals' rate of $100 p.n. (and the reservation girl's maths was appalling, 2* $100 apparently equalling $300). Suffice to stay that despite the cbd location, I won't be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Kylie C,

Thank you for signing up to TripAdvisor and providing us with your feedback on your recent stay.

I am very disappointed to read your comment and I have sent you a direct message to discuss your experience further as I would require further information to follow up on this feedback.

I look forward to your replies.

Warm regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,012
    2,137
    474
    129
    73
See reviews for
826
2,348
373
1,531
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I will definitely be returning to the Grace. It's location is great, rooms nice and are clean, staff are all lovely. We were very surprised with the high quality in comparison with the price. The place is spotless and doesn't smell of over floral cleaning products, even the carpets in the hallways smell clean

We stayed in a room on the seventh floor, there weren't any issues with noise as other reviews suggest. We loved the huge shower recess which seemed as though it had been placed where a bath had been before renovation. I just don't see the point in putting 'spas' and 'baths' in hotel rooms when you can barely fit in them.

My one issue was that the pillows were almost as high as my shoulders. The first nights sleep was terrible as I had to sleep on the mattress and my arm. The second night I slept better as I'd asked the concierge if an older (lower) or softer pillow was available and house keeping brought one straight up. It was a little odd that the bed was only made up with a base sheet and duvet. We left a note for house keeping requesting a second sheet when the room was serviced and so this was an improvement, however they did only leave it folded up instead of making the bed properly.

I was very impressed with the breakfast buffet. I require a gluten free diet and it was the first time that I've seen a separate station with a couple of different gluten free cereals, bread and separate toasters than those for the other bread. The only thing that would have made it better is a gluten free muffin as the 'normal people' had an array of pastries, cakes and muffins to choose from.

It is really easy walking distance to pretty much everywhere, 5mins to Darling Harbour and very close to Westfield and QVB. Great that there are a few restaurants and a pub on the ground floor, saved us having to venture too far for dinner after a long tiring day.

We didn't use the day spa but the 'recreation centre' on the top floor was great. It had a spa, shallow lap pool, sauna and steam room as well as some gym equipment. Few people seemed to use it even though it's accessible for all guests so we had the spa and sauna to ourselves. Lucky we had the assistance of the maintenance man as we weren't the best at following the instructions to turn everything on. There's a nice view from the spa as well.

We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendoll911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear kendoll911,

I appreciate the time took to review our hotel on TripAdvisor for your visit to the Grace Hotel.

It is very pleasing to read that you had a pleasant experience in the hotel, loved the room, enjoyed our breakfast in the Grace Brasserie and had the opportunity to experience our team member's warm hospitality.

The Grace Hotel has been fortunate to be located in close proximity to Sydney's main attraction in the city.

Please accept our sincere apologies if your first night sleep was terrible because of our pillows. We do our best to provide an excellent services to our guests. I have also passed on the comment to Housekeeping Department regarding the bed sheet.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Grace Hotel, Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We always stay at The Grace Hotel when in Sydney. It is centrally located between the shopping precedents of Pitt Street Mall and the restaurant and entertainment areas of Darling Harbour and Cockle Bay. It is also about a 10 minute walk to the historical Rocks and Circular Quay Ferry Terminals. The rooms are of a very high quality and extremely clean. If you do want a bath rather than just a shower make sure you request it at the time of booking. Also ask for higher floors as there are several pubs in the area which can get rowdy on Friday and Saturday nights, but afterall you are in the city. There is an indoor lap pool and gym which are well maintained. The buffet breakfast would accommodate most people and is served until 11:00am. The staff are friendly and very welcoming of small children, even giving my 4 year-old a ball and telling her to throw around the room. There is 24 hour room service, a restaurant and Irish pub is also on site. I could not recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debkevmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear debkevmeg,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Grace Hotel and taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

It is always pleasing to read a positive feedback from our guests, especially on our customer service level, room cleanliness, and the location of the hotel. The Grace Hotel has been fortunate to be located in close proximity to Sydney's main attraction in the city.

Our breakfast at The Grace Brasserie is served until 11:00am on the weekend and until 10:00am on the weekdays.

In addition, The Grace Hotel also has both internal and external rooms. If you stay over the weekend and you prefer a quiet room, we can always allocate an internal room for you. So it does not get noisy at night.

Once again thank you for your positive review, and hopefully we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Grace is a preferred hotel whenever I attend Conferences in Sydney, This is partially because they offer a Corporate rate, but also because of its proximity to the Pitt & George St district, and its importance in Sydney's architectural and cultural history, It has been tastefully restored true to its original Art-Deco style with great attention to detail, which of course gives it an old-world charm...so much better than the impersonal, clinically-styled hotels you find everywhere these days. Of course the rooms and facilities are top class and modern, and the service efficient and unpretentious. Unfortunately the Mezzanine Bar was closed for refurbishment this time, but the Irish bar (PJ O'Brien's) was a great alternative.

Room Tip: Extra single beds are available on request for visitors, but you will also need to upgrade to a larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAF10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear FAF10,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Grace Hotel Sydney.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room and our unique Art Deco features. We pride ourselves not only on our location but also our excellent customer service.

We are also delighted that you are satisfied with your hotel room and the amenities provided. Our housekeepers really do work hard to provide you with refreshing new rooms day to day.

Your great feedback on TripAdvisor really helps us continue our work in providing superior hospitality to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grace Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at the Grace for the second time in late August for a couple of days. It was the HQ for the Grace Bros department store and has been refurbished into this architecturally interesting hotel.

Check in was quick and professional. I was given a room on the 3rd floor, being the lowest accommodation floor on the York St side (See comments below).

The room was large and comfortable and looked like it may have been recently re-carpeted and painted. However the furniture and fixtures have seen better days and let the room down somewhat.

Bathroom was clean and more than acceptable for this class of hotel. Bedding was also good.

The hotel is right in the heart of the city and is within easy walking distance of just about everything. The downside being on the lowest floor and facing onto York St the noise from the traffic from 5pm - 7pm was intrusive as it turned into a bus parking lot below. I simply made sure that I was not in my room during this period.

Breakfast was a very good buffet on the second floor catering for mostly western tastes.

Overall this is a good but not great hotel located in the heart of the city. Would recommend if you are on a budget, but make sure you request a room on the top floors (approx 14 Floors from memory) to try and escape the noise.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top floors to escape traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expl0rer63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Expl0rer63,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Grace Hotel and taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

It was very pleasant to read that you enjoyed our Neo-Gothic designed heritage building, our room spacious, and cleanliness.

I am very sorry to read that we have not met your expectations during your recent stay with us regarding the noise from traffic. For guests who prefer quieter rooms, the Reception can also allocate internal facing rooms instead of the streets.

We hope you choose to return to The Grace Hotel again and we look forward to again welcoming you with our hospitality.

Warm regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the hotels Neo King Room which was really nice, big enough and very clean. Staff at the hotel were all polite and attentive. When checking the room the safe would'nt operate and within a few minutes the problem was solved. Lots of mentioning that bedding is very good but that can only relate to single beds. The kingsize bed was firm and probably nice too, if you could have used it alone. Whenever one turned over the mattress would move so we havn't had a real good rest, but as I said, you are better off booking two single beds. Location has been mentioned before and yes it's really central but so are many other very good hotels too. Breakfast was a bit of a let down but again only because we have choosen to stay 5 nights. Having just a couple of days it will be enjoyable as you get the typical ingedients like scrambled eggs, sausages, beans, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes and some asian style options. We could not eat the same breakfast for five days so ended up eating more yoghurt and fruits and some stale croissants. I dont understand why they cant just refresh the bakery goods by putting them quickly in the oven before servicing them on the buffet, it would make such a difference. Coffee was good and hot. The real disappointment came on the last morning when we had an early check out (6.30am - that's when the breakfast room opens). We ordered the day before a "boxed" breakfast so we could take it to the airport and eat there after checking in. Well it was not worth to carry it. For the close to 30AUD per head you get 1 apple, one little orange juice, 1 yoghurt and two tiny tiny cupcakes of mini muffins (which of course were cold and stale). It was ordered for 6 am and I had to ring reception at 6.10 to see where our breakfast is. Either they have forgotten to prepare it (in that case I want a refund) or it is a complete rippoff, so make sure you don't book for a breakfast if you can't eat it in the hotel. All in all would we come back? It would depend on the price, we paid NZ$ 250 for room 910 per night including breakfast. That was probably too much for what we got. But we enjoyed the room size, location and clean room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIN4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a stunning hotel with some old world charm of yesteryear; this does not infer old or dated in anyway. Stunning decor in the foyer/common areas. Our Neo room was fantastic; very clean, well-appointed and great bathroom with independent shower. Staff professional and efficient. Troy the concierge was a great guy and very well informed. Hotel is well located with us being able to walk to Darling Harbour within 10minutes, Circular Quay and the Rocks with 15 mins, and of course it is in the heart of the shopping district being 5 mins walking to the great department stores of David Jones, Myers and Queen Victoria Centre. Great coffee just over road diagonally at Dolce Luna.
Although a very good Irish bar in the complex, we missed the complex having a nice house bar. Also think $35.00 is too much for Hotel Breakfast.

Room Tip: We had an outside room that provided good natural light although while on 9th floor view was just ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazza63_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Dazza63_13,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us in our newly refurbished Neoroom equipped with a luxurious walk-in shower. It is great to read that you have had the opportunity to experience our warmth hospitality especially from Troy, our Chief Concierge who is an asset to our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at the Grace Hotel for your next Sydney trip.

Warm regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#68 of 178 in Sydney
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Property: The Grace Hotel Sydney
Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing