We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Plesant and Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grace Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #19 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Plesant and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel 3 times now and would happily recommend it as the rooms are comfortable, well presented and have everything you would expect. The location is ideal for CBD business or as a central base for a Sydney city break. Close to numerous transport options and restaurants. The building was apparently Inspired by the neo-Gothic Tribune Tower in Chicago and I particularly like the Art Deco architectural style. I have yet to eat at the restaurant or utilise its pool facilities. As long as you avoid the hairdresser which I believe is run independently but is based at the hotel you should have a very nice stay.

Room Tip: High rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaznew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,468
    1,817
    423
    105
    64
See reviews for
664
1,945
316
1,301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely restoration of the old Grace bros. building, Staff were excellent, initial mix up on room was fixed quickly and graciously, excellent buffet brekkie, concierge was very helpful especially after we got a flat tyre thursday arvo before good friday he found us a place to have it repaired. It is a great location, rooms are clean and functional (not big ).

It is a little pricey (thats Sydney though, overpriced) but we got a good deal including breakfast by booking early through a seperate site! Parking is an issue and overpriced (Sydney again :) ! Small pool, spa and Gym were used

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The Air Con didn't work in my room and it was freezing and after numerous complaints and being told it was fixed they finally moved me to a new room. For the new room they room key didn't work and the TV had reception issues and that was the best room they had available.
I have stayed here a few times and held conferences here and it has been good but it seems to have gone down hill since last time I stayed.
I've had a terrible night and after almost 3 hours I am still waiting for the issues to be resolved - not the way I had planned to spend my night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Grace is a hotel that we will without doubt use each time we return to Sydney, the service is very efficient, from entering the lobby, to front desk check in or help from the concierge the service is superb, rooms are clean and generous with space, beds are big and comfortable, lifts are quick so no waiting around making small talk waiting for one to arrive. Breakfast at the brasserie is a bit pricey but good quality food, and you are so central to a variety of eateries from across the road, to Darling harbour or the Rocks all within a ten minute stroll. Rooms are well soundproofed, we never heard a peep from anywhere. Only downside was no complimentary wifi internet, a bit of a pity, so just relied on my cellular hotspot instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazza222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This place is excellent, I stay there every month for work, the staff are excellent and everything is quick and easy! The rooms are clean and homely. The Gym, pool and spa are excellent located on the roof with a nice view.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAdventurer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

This is the only hotel in Sydney that I have returned to for repeat stays. My stay this time was for 5 nights. I love the art deco elegance of this hotel and it is always a hassle free stay. The staff are attentive and helpful, breakfast plentiful with a good selection, rooms clean and comfortable and it's a short walk away from the lovely Queen Victoria Building. I walked daily to Darling Harbour in the sunshine, and taxis are right at the front door.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We initially chose the Grace hotel as my partner has a fascination with all things Art Deco, and the exterior and lobby of the hotel certainly does not disappoint. The service was brisk but very friendly and the history of the building was quite interesting.

Upon reaching our room we found it to be modern and largely interchangeable with every other 4 1/2 star hotel we have stayed in. This is not at all a negative, but if you were expecting the Art Deco theme repeated within the rooms you will be disappointed. We booked a non-smoking room facing away from York street on one of the higher levels and found it clean, in good condition and blissfully quiet.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, literally a few minutes walk from Wynyard station which is directly accessible from the train that leaves Sydney Airport. It is also close to the Queen Victoria Buiding and if you choose to walk like we did about 20 minutes from the Opera House by foot.

The breakfast buffet is straight from hotels you find in SE Asia - omelette any way you want it along with a variety of sides that any traveller used to staying in 4-5 star hotels in Thailand or Malaysia would find instantly recognisable. I was neither impressed or disappointed by the breakfast - I guess I have eaten this sort of thing too many times. Still, there are plenty of other places to eat within minutes of the hotel if this is not your thing.

In all I would happily stay here again as the service and location made the stay seamless. I could not fault any part of the hotel and the price we paid was in accord what you would expect to pay for this type of hotel in Australia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 178 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Property: The Grace Hotel Sydney
Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing