We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #22 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

everything was perfect area, location, except no free internet we bought a phone service for $30 with 500 minutes anywhere in the world and 500 mb of internet that was plenty for us it lasted for our 12 days trip

Room Tip: ask for higher floor and away from the main road because it get noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,124 - 5,130 of 6,144 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just had the loveliest stay at The Grace in Sydney.....We couldn't fault anything....great staff - very very helpful. So handy to everything and we couldn't have asked for more ! We had occasion to ask for advice from the Concierge Desk twice and both times with different Staff - each of them a delight - thanks - we will be back !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here on business.
First the positives - the building is wonderful, and the location is great, right in the middle of the CBD, a couple of blocks from Darling Harbour.
That's where the positives end.
We arrived to be ignored by one staff member and then served by another who proceeded to tell us how he didn't like working there and asked about what we did for a living and said he would rather be doing that. Fat chance.
Being in the middle of Sydney of course it's impossible to get a car park, so Grace stings you $45 for their valet parking, which isn't so much a valet service as it was one little man running around trying to jam as many cars into a basement as he can(we had to wait to park, then wait even longer to get our car out).
The rooms were obviously once fantastic but are now run down and not so clean. Many of the surfaces are worn or dirty(see pictures).
The thing that really annoyed my in this place was that they charge $25 for internet. This is criminal and shows just how far behind the times they are. I will never ever stay there again(and will go out of my way to make sure nobody in my business does) due to this fact alone.
This place is so money hungry they don't even give you a toothbrush - which was another source of annoyance because I had forgot mine.
They charge like a 5 star hotel but provide 2 star service.
Avoid this place - as another reviewer here has written if you are going to pay this much money you might as well stay somewhere where you are overlooking the harbour in a place where they actually care about their customers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoteltron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGraceHotelSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear hoteltron,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on our hotel.

I am very disappointed to read that your recent stay had not been satisfactory and that we have not met your expectations. Please allow us to apologise for the lack of customer service experienced and certainly will look into this matter internally as well.

The car parking facility which opens for public, Plaza Parking is operated by a separate entity and unfortunately they do not offer a valet service. However they do offer our in-house guests $45 discounted car parking rate for 24-hours access instead of the full price $65 overnight cost.

In regards to the internet cost of $25 per day, our management is currently reviewing this matter to provide better levels of service and experience for guests staying with us.

Once again, thank you for your time taken to write this feedback.

Kind regards,
Christina Mendieta
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Fantastic service....beautiful old world charm with modern options....staff were amazing...rooms if you can secure a corner king suite were fabulous and even standard rooms are plush..I loved the attention to detail and the marble bath... Writing desk for business was a nice touch...

Room Tip: Corner king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix5away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night with friend. Location is fabulous but no view. Loved the lap pool and spa. Our room was very nice. Breakfast was fabulous. We got our room on last minute.com secrets so we got a good deal. I probably wouldn't pay the $ they want on most web sites though. Love all the pubs and bars surrounding. Very quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here one night with the kids for a little weekend away, the room was good side and the beds was very comfy, the kids loved the indoor pool and spa, hotel restaurant food was well priced, and enjoyable as was the Breakfast buffet, would recommend for a little overnight stay in the city

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micheal1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Grace for work and it's a great location in the middle of Sydney but it does feel a little soulless. If you're going to pay that kind of cash get somewhere with a view of darling harbour.

Also I got the room service and it was pretty bloody average particularly given the prices.

Can't fault the staff and the room very comfortable and quiet and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingkiwi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#18 of 179 in Sydney
2,011 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#74 of 179 in Sydney
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $146 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing