We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great affordable hotel in the heart of Sydney.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grace Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #21 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“A great affordable hotel in the heart of Sydney.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

A wonderful experience at the Grace. Although the room I was in was small, it had everything I needed – comfortable bed and very clean. Plus, it was super-quiet, which is probably due to it being an older Art Deco hotel that was built to last! I was in a low-level room with a view of York Street and barely heard any traffic at all.

Probably the best feature of this hotel is the location. Since it’s outside of The Rocks, it’s much cheaper than some other hotels, yet it’s still well within walking distance (10-20 minutes depending on your pace). As a bonus, it’s also within walking distance of Hyde Park and Darling Harbor - you couldn’t pick a better hotel for its geographically central location to all of Sydney’s attractions.

The hotel has a nice selection of restaurants in the local area….everything from McD’s if you’re “frugal” to mid-level Thai and Bavarian and high end steak houses. I chose to opt out of the hotel extras, which I thought were a little high. I’m way too cheap to spend 25 bucks for wifi and 35 for breakfast when I can walk a block to McD’s and get both for under 10 dollars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hootbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,322
    1,734
    401
    100
    64
See reviews for
604
1,831
294
1,264
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The Grace in Sydney is in an old building tastefully decorated. Rooms are comfortable, reasonably spacious with great beds.
Dining is fairly standard fare but for a few $ you can get breakfast at nearby cafes.
I would have stayed at this place more than any other hotel and one thing it lacks is personal service. I would have been asked 10 times whether I have stayed before. Reception is sullen, impersonal and very uninspiring.
In case you're wondering why I go back, it is close to work in Sydney and at short notice there is always a good rate on a room. I guess there is a clue about its popularity in the last comment.
Never noticed a tour desk. Gym is ordinary. Pub underneath does a nice meal.
Wish the service was better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our group stayed at the Grace Hotel a few nights and all of us loved it! The rooms are beautiful as was the lobby. We attended a Melbourne Cup party and loved the food and the wait staff! Everything was delicious and we never wanted for anything!

The rooms were beautiful and tasteful. I was wishing for more time! There was also a great pub on the bottom floor that was great!

The Grace Hotel is a wonderful choice and wont break you while you enjoy all that Sydney has to offer. There are many places to stay in Sydney and it can be daunting to try and make a decision but when we go back, we are definitely going to stay at The Grace!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyin4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Grace Hotel Sydney has a fantastic location as it is close to all major precincts of Sydney, within walking distance (& only a short walking distance) to Darling Harbour, Pitt Street Mall, Circular Quay, Chinatown and more.
This is not a high rise hotel so do not expect those fantastic harbour or city views.
The room was comfortable for our 2 night stay, the king size bed was a dream, like floating on a cloud.
Convenient dining onsite at ground level with the Irish Pub, although we did find the noise of patrons leaving close by pubs/hotels at 3am at little of a distraction, being that you are not high rise and away from street level noise.
Beautifully appointed hotel, excellent customer service and would stay again.
Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor (highest floor is 11) and one that faces outward to the street, for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOMERSET
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Very pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and the quality. Nice to have a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoyed a swim and a jacuzzi. Staff very friendly, especially the concierge guys who were really helpful. Told us where to eat and ordered us a limo at a set price for our trip to the Airport. Close to Darling Harbour, Train Station and everything you need. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GKWSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Grace Hotel is in an excellent location. My room was spacious and immaculate. The Hotel was relaxed & sophisticated plus the staff were friendly & helpful. I really liked the Art Deco features. I thought the seafood buffet was very good value - $39 all you can eat & a glass of wine, beer etc

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neats61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I got a pretty good deal from a hotel-booking website for Grace Hotel.
Located right in the center of Sydney's business district, the hotel is a gem Entering the hotel, you will definitely feel the grandeur of the hotel. They preserve the neo gothic design as it has a historical value and I really liked it.

The room was spacious as it can accommodate extra bed for the 3rd person without cramping out the space inside. I got the 8th floor room, so the noise from busy street and traffic was not a problem at all.

The downside of this place was the hotel's restaurant, The Grace Brasserie. The buffet breakfast menu were not much of a variety. some of the food, such as the congee tasted bland. I mean, when you stay in a four star hotel, you'd expect the restaurant to serve gastronomic food.

But overall, i enjoyed staying at Grace Hotel. Great location & great value if you can find a promotional package!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors so that the noise from the traffic is not a trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,050 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Property: The Grace Hotel Sydney
Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing