We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Art Deco Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #21 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed recently for four days at the Grace Hotel for a family break.
Really wanted a central location as we didn't intend hiring a car and found this to be a great base for exploring the city. The foyer is pleasantly decorated with an art deco styling. I wouldn't say the staff at the front desk were overly helpful or attentive however we found the concierge helpful and friendly throughout our stay.
The rooms were comfortable and clean and good value for the central location. Our only disappointment was that we had asked for rooms close to each other, so that we could be near to our two teenage girls. Unfortunately they were accommodated on the fourth floor whilst we were on the 10th. We did ask to have something closer on check-in, but they politely refused to rectify this.
A short walk to the city centre, Queen Vic building and also the Darling Harbour precinct. There is a free bus that leaves frequently from nearby the hotel if you don't feel like a longer walk to the Circular Quay/Opera House/Botanic Gardens precinct or train stations are close by.
For our arrival we pre-booked a limousine to take us from the airport to the hotel. We found this an economical option for four people and it took the guess work out of having to find the location of the hotel whilst carting all our luggage. For our return trip home we walked two blocks to Wynyard Train Station and caught the airport link train as we were leaving at peak hour and this was the most efficient way of getting to the airport at this time of day with the city traffic in gridlock.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarpeDiemExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,403 - 5,409 of 6,350 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Grace hotel is one of Sydney’s gems.

Stayed over the weekend through a Cudo deal, and enjoyed every moment of it.
The rooms are large, very clean and the bed in my room was one of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in.

Staff are obliging and helpful without pestering you.

The location of the hotel was perfect, walking distance to Darling Harbour, numerous restaurants and although a long walk, we managed to walk to the ferry terminal.

The only problem was; when arrived there was nowhere to unpack the car at the entrance to the hotel; a quick phone call to reception and we were guided to the car park in an adjacent street. Apart from this bellyache of mine the Grace is a gem of a place to stay.

A huge rap for all the staff as previously mentioned; from the car park attendants, porters, reception and restaurant staff, a hotel that does understand the meaning of customer service.

Room Tip: Higher floors have views of Darling Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The location of this beautiful hotel is excellent - right in the heart of the city, it is within walking distance to Pitt Street Mall if you're in for some shopping, or an easy stroll to Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, the Rocks, or the Opera House. It's also only about 100metres from Wynyard train station, so just as easy to hop on a train if you prefer.
We stayed in a Premium Room as part of a package (also receiving champagne and chocolates on arrival, late checkout, and a gorgeous little teddy bear), for 2 nights in December right before New Years, and although the hotel was very busy, we were well looked after, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Premium room is quite spacious and the bed is enormous.
The buffet breakfast is plentiful - hot and cold foods, including bacon, eggs, cereals, fresh fruit, cold-cut meats etc - and there is a chef on hand who will also make your eggs to order if you're after something other than scrambled.
If you have time and are feeling a bit peckish, I also suggest popping across the road to the pub on the corner - the Forbes Hotel - for a $10 lunch. Huge serving size, and really good food.
Also take the time to read about the hotel history in the hotel lobby - very interesting.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked this through expedia, and I didn't notice that it was non-refundable. I was really disappointed when no one would work with me when we wanted to spend ONE night out of five in the blue mountains.
The hotel was decent for the money. The beds were comfortable, and the rooms were a little sparse.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Location is the best all walking or few train stop to Sydney Opera house and Darling Harbour. Great breakfast. Only towels need better quality, the room is great but the towels are very old.

Big credit to Housekeeping

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Htein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Recently stayed at the Grace Hotel, this is the second stay we have stayed at the Grace Hotel . Rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable . Good value and located near Darling Habour & CBD shopping .Good Irish pub downstairs

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my partner and our 4 grown up children. We had 3 beautiful rooms and the only small criticism was that they were spread over the 3rd, 5th and 7th floors. Hotel is very well located half way between Darling Harbour and Circular Quay and very close to the main shopping areas. Would definitely stay here again if lucky enough to have the opportunity to visit this amazing city.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank H&RKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#20 of 182 in Sydney
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#77 of 182 in Sydney
1,461 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#20 Family Hotel in Sydney
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $144 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing