We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughters 16th birthday memorable...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #21 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Grace Hotel was very elegant. We were in Australia to celebrate my daughters 16th birthday. Couldn't have asked for better concierge service! Very helpful. Rooms could have been straightened a little earlier.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koalaty47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,926)
There are newer reviews for The Grace Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,324 - 5,330 of 5,926 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2011

Checked in, arrived at WRONG room, called front desk, repeatedly NO ANSWER. Concierge arranged room error to be corrected. Day One, room not made up until 3:30pm. Day two; had to call for room to be made up at 3:30pm, towels not refreshed despite old towels left on floor. Left hotel for room to be cleaned, returned to find room service had taken spare key. Rang front desk, lodged complaint about poor service, "No problems Mr Stevens, we will send some keys straight up"...2 hours later guess what? Went to dinner, asked for new keys to be ready on our return. Manager greeted us after dinner and apologised, said that a letter and a gift was awaiting us in our room. Arrived at room, nothing, cheese platter and wine turned up 30 minutes later.

Room, decor and ammenities .... 5 star! Customer service...Fawlty Towers!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights the rooms are a good size, and one feature I particularly liked was that the shower was not over a bath and it was a good height (not sure if all the rooms are like this i.e. no bath and don't remember this being the case when I stayed a few years ago).

Hotel location is convenient - close to shopping area and offices while at night Darling Harbour is not far which offers a wide selection of restaurants for dinner.

Had breakfast in the cafe on the ground floor both mornings and it was good value (compared to similar hotels), as a result of that it was busy and service was somewhat slow. If you get in before the it gets busy it is ok.

Only negative was that the bins hadn't been emptied from whoever stayed in the room previously.

For the price could include limited internet access rather than charging additional.

Check in/check out was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dreamtime_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

3 sleepness nights thanks to loud tv's in the next room, traffic noise from below and banging doors from early tour group departures. Tired looking lobby but niceish rooms. Not impressed with $25 a day wireless fee, and $45 overnight parking fee. That being said, if you are willing to pay for an overpriced breakfast, the internet comes free in the cafe below. Fairly decent room service menu.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonGabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We booked the hotel through wotif for a really good price and were satisfied with it. It was just for one night as stopover but the rooms are quite big, the bed very comfortable. And we were so glad as we already arrived at 6am in the morning from a long flight and were able to check in directly! The hotel is really central, close to shopping malls and also other central sights, you can do everything by walking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krissi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

A few days before we visited Sydney,we attempted to book the Grace hotel via its website. We completed all details, including credit card identification, only to be turned down at the very end. After another go with the same result, we phoned the hotel. ‘Reservations’ told us that they had been having trouble with their site and took our booking over the phone.

Next day we checked our credit card account and found that we had been charged eight times for the stay. Another phone call and a request that we fax CC details ‘and a photo’ to ensure the payments would be reversed. The staff member seemed not too sure about procedure.

Time to phone the Duty Manager. He immediately took over, sent a message to our bank and lo and behold the seven extra payments were cancelled. Well done, Chris!

So, what about The Grace? Well, it’s a beautiful old Art Deco building near the centre of town. Our room was big and clean, the bed very comfortable and Housekeeping most efficient and cheerful. Food was a problem in the hotel – we went to the Cafe first evening because we had a theatre date. The food was overpriced, unimaginative, and ungenerous. After that we ate out; there are plenty of places nearby.

We tried the pool and spa. OK, so it’s a lap pool and we didn’t expect much. It was clean and warm, though. The spa pool was good; a couple of handles would have made entry and exit easier. But on the terrace outside there is a very dangerous step. It’s only about three inches deep but as the tiles are dark in colour, it’s almost impossible to see. Result, one of us tripped and only by luck sustained no injury. We contacted the Maintenance Manager and waited until he arrived to show him the problem. We understood that it would be fixed by a white line or similar. Three days later, we popped up to check: nothing had been done.

So, if you stay at The Grace Hotel, (and recommend you do if you can find a bargain) keep a wary eye on possible hazards, eat out and go to the Duty Manager with any problem.

Room Tip: The Irish pub just round the corner serves excellent food in comfortable surroundings
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed here for a Friday and Saturday night after booking mystery hotel on Wotif. Check in was easy and as I was in a rush due to late arrival of plane I asked the attendent to confirm that the restaurant I was going to in King Street wharf was left and left out of the hotel. He had to google it and then told me I would need to catch a taxi! Anyway after dropping my bags in the room went the 150 metres down the road to KSW. Room was on the 9th floor outside so good view of the cityscape. Room had very good supplies of anything you would need and was neat and tidy with the bed being very comfortable. Unfortunately the two long black hairs I found in the bathroom, one of which was still there when I left although I had placed them in obvious view on the side of the bath, was disconcerting. I disagree with the high cost of wifi internet in the hotel and was unimpressed when it kept logging out, using up the time. Hotel is in a very busy part of the city but there was no problem with noise from the many bars etc nearby. Hotel overall was impressive and I would stay again. It was a very easy to walk to Queen Victoria Building and then train to the Airport. at a cost of $15 and only about 20 mins.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeonieLordHoweIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#69 of 178 in Sydney
984 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $159 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing