We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
$107
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$195
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$270
$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$140
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cambridge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$96
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$275
$238
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$184
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,483)
Filter reviews
5,483 results
Traveler rating
1,046
2,353
1,355
471
258
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,046
2,353
1,355
471
258
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationcircular quayyork streettravel lodgetrain stationopera housewalking distancewould stay againcentral locationpublic transporteasy accessshort stayrockscbdconvenienceferriescafes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,058 - 5,063 of 5,483 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Tv supposed to have foxtel for free, skynews, 3 sports channels and channel 8 is what we got and some fm radio stations, not even basic foxtel, N o free to air digital channels just the analog. 3 movie channels at $15.95 a movie. $20 for continental breakfast. $14.50 supposed to be starting price for evening meals in the restaurant. True but only one course at that price then up to around $20 for the next and upwards. $410 for 3 nights stay with no meals in a standard bedroom suite. Air conditioned, TV, bar fridge and kettle, free milk, coffee and tea. Nice staff, clean place but next time we will stay in a 3 star cheapie. It won't be much different.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

we booked this hotel through Wotif, as a mystery deal, four stars guaranteed they (wotif) trumpeted. When we checked in we were told by the woman (girl) on the desk that we had been allotted a room with no bathroom or toilet!, "this sometimes happens with one-nighters, as they only decide the room the day before. I reminded her we were there for 2 nights and had booked and paid 1 month ahead.! she then agreed to give us a proper room. the room and service were quite good. the day before we were due to leave, we booked and paid for the shuttle bus service to the airport, for 12 noon. we had a good, and reasonably priced meal that night which we had billed to our room. on checking out today 17/feb/2010, we were presented with our bill for the extras incurred, ie. the meal. fair enough, but they also tried to charge for 2 nights parking, $60.00, when we didn't even have our car with us!. it pays to be vigilant......!
ok, all that was taken care of, so we dutifully presented ourselves out the front of the hotel at 11:55, so as not to miss our airport shuttle, at 12:15, my wife went in to check on it's progress, guess what?, that's right they didn't make the booking...... just took the cash. whilst they managed to get us on the next bus it didn't do much to help our stress levels, as we were trying to keep to a schedule.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wottafeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Although we were staying in Sydney for NYE and realised that accomodation would be expensive, we were charged £220 p. n. for a 3 night stay, this Travelodge is completely overpriced.
We reserved online back in March and because of favourable exchange rates at the time, wanted to exchange funds there and then. Travelodge told us that their payment policy did not allow forward payment.
About 2 weeks before our intended stay and whilst we were in Australia, we received a an e-mail, confirming that the charge would be taken (without our authorisation) from our credit card details that we had supplied at time of reservation. This really annoyed us, as because of the weaker £ our 3 nights actually cost us about £100 more!!!
Upon arrival we were assigned a room that we stayed in for 1 night. It smelt musty, the carpet in the corridor outside was heavily stained, our room was not that clean either, there were hairs on sanitaryware from previous occupants and holes in bed linen.
We immediately complained about a broken kettle and the smell, we were given a second hand kettle, some air fresheners and our bedding was changed.
However the smell lingered all through the first night and we complained again the folowing morning.
The duty manager agreed as a complimentary gesture to upgrade us to an executive room and offer complimentary breakfast, this we agreed to, but expected an executive room to have some style to it!! In fact although we lost the musty smell, the only difference between the 2 rooms was a mini bar (which obviously cost money)
The breakfast experience was not great either. The food lacked presentation and quality , the staff lacked any sort of finesse or style. We were hurried away from our table and the food was literally thrown onto the buffet bar.
On the up side (if there is one) the hotel although not having harbour views, is superbly centrally located.
To summarise, we would not stay there again, as we feel that the fiasco over our reservation payment was completely out of order and the hotel needs a complete shake up and severe renovation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank We2downunder09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

I stayed here whilst in Sydney with a group for the Edinburgh Military Tattoo. The staff went over and above the call of duty to ensure our stay was a happy one. The hotel is situated in an ideal location and the food is great. The rooms are looking a little bit tired however they are a good size (the bathrooms are slim).

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Having enjoyed our 6-night stay at the Wynyard Travelodge one year ago, we decided to stay there again, this time for 4 nights. The stand-out feature of this hotel is it is very good value for money, considering its brilliant location.

We booked a studio room. These spacious rooms are much larger (and thus more expensive) the standard rooms. We had a double bed, sofa and coffee table, small dining table and chair, desk and kitchenette area in this room. There was plenty of space for all our luggage. After a long day out sight-seeing, it was nice to have a proper area for two people to sit and relax. The TV is a flat-screen model.

The kitchen area had fridge, kettle, microwave and plates. This was fine for making our breakfast and lunchtime sandwiches everyday.

On the top floor there is a small gym with good quality treadmill, cross-trainer, bicycle and free-weights. It was busy when I passed by in the morning, but when I used it in the late afternoon I had it to myself. It is a nice gym, but if it's not too hot I recommend going running around the harbour which is much more pleasant with a better view! Also on the top floor is a coin operated laundry. This gets very busy, so it's worth trying to find a non-peak time to use it.

It is easy to reach from the airport on the train. There are frequent trains, and the hotel is just a few steps from Wynyard Station's York Street exit. The attractions of Sydney are very easily accessible from the Travelodge - Circular Quay for the ferries is a short walk, as are the harbour bridge, The Rocks, and the main shopping area. It's very easy to walk out and find a restaurant in the evening.

There is a Coles supermarket in the Wynyard Station complex. This is very useful for buying drinks and food to make your breakfasts, and sandwiches for lunch. It seemed much cheaper than the many convenience stores we saw.

It's not the fanciest hotel, but considering the price you pay, the location and convenience, it's a great base in Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyingbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews