We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location...thats about it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #99 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed August 20, 2006

Just returned from a 3 week round-the-world honeymoon, stayed at the Wynyard hotel while in Sydney. We arrived on a flight from Bangkok arriving in Sydney at 6.30am. We came straight from the airport to the hotel and asked about possibly getting a room immediately. We were unable to get it, and told we would have to wait until 2pm, maybe 1pm if we were lucky, the staff just seemed uninterested and unhelpful which is what you dont need after a long flight when you are tired.
(We were not the only couple who had arrived on an early flight)
So we made the most of a bad situation, we were able to use their washrooms to get changed, and so we started our Sydney sight-seeting immediately. Returned to hotel at 1pm and room was still not ready. Eventually got the room at 2.15pm. We did get a suite on the top floor which was spacious and clean. The hotel is very central. We climbed the Harbour Bridge the following day. Well worth it. Also went to the Blue Mountains and Hunter Valley. Also well worth doing.
The hotel does have a self service laundry service which was handy.
I would not recommend this hotel based on what I saw of other floors.

2  Thank Mrs_Cronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,956)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,683 - 4,689 of 4,956 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2006

Booked this with trailfinders

If you are looking for somewhere cheap and central this is the place. It is near the Bridge, Circular Quay, Opera House, Shopping, Nightlife and Wynard Train station.

We took a cab from the airport (mistake as it cost us $30) on way back we used walked 200 yards to the Train station and got train to the airport.

While in Sydney we purchased the Sydney pass $110 dollars, but great value. we got a day harbour cruise, night harbour cruise, the Sydney explorer bus, bondi explorer bus, all other bus and rail transport including out to airport. £40 sterling, it worked out very good value for a tourist type trip to Sydney.

The Travelodge was very basic, breakfast was available but not included in the price, but we availed of the local food courts which were terrific value.

We had a problem with the shower, it was either boiling or freezing and report it to the desk, but they didn’t appear to sort it out. Requested extra towels, but they never came.

However, all that aside when you are in Sydney for a holiday, you basically use a place like the Travelodge to sleep in. The fact that it was central was a more important factor.

Would stay here again, but would ensure that the shower was working first ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2006

We stayed here for 4 nights in May.
The first two rooms we were offered were pretty horrible. One had a very suspicious stain on the bed sheet and there was a really loud buzzing noise coming from the floor above and the other was a former inter-connecting room and as a result was very noisy, you could hear every word from the people next door!

We were finally offered a studio as no other rooms were available and this was much nicer. A good size room with a kitchen. However, the TV didn’t work, but someone fixed this the next day.
The front desk were nice enough and helped us out whenever we asked.

The best thing about this hotel is its location, a short walk to darling harbour, not far from Circular Key and good shopping close by.

All in all I would stay here again as it is good value for money, but only to stay in a studio not a standard room.

Stayed: May 2006
2  Thank han2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2006

Stayed for a week in this hotel and after visiting a Travelodge in Melbourne for a few days came back for a further week. The Hotel staff are really nice and couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast is a bit expensive but there is plenty of it. The Hotel is apparently undergoing some renovation at the moment and some of the rooms could do with it. Having said that although the carpet in our room was a bit shabby the room was clean and the bed linen all seemed new. The second time we stayed we had a room with a balcony which was a bit more expensive but seemed to have been one of the upgraded ones and was really nice.

The situation of the hotel was perfect. Five minute walk to Darling Harbour and ten minutes to Circular Quay. For us it couldn't have been better. The Hotel also has a bar and the restaurant does evening meals which we also sampled and could recommend.

The price is reasonable and you get good value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mazz-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Somerset, England
330
Reviewed May 31, 2006

Excellent location. The hotel is in the central business district, so a bit quieter at night than other areas, but that has its benefits. Very easy to walk to Darling Harbour which is briliant for a meal/drinks in the evening - all restaurants around a harbourwhich is lovely when all lit up).

Breakfast is a bit pricey, but other places fairly close by to walk to. Nice walk to Sydney Opera house - maybe 15 mins - in the morning you walk down the same roads as all those people going to work in their suits.

The hotel is being upgraded at the moment, so if you get a poor quality room do make a fuss to get upgraded. Room was £60 a night, so good price for such a central location.

There are a few travelodges with similiar sounding names so make sure you give your cab driver the address too.

Internet access available for a fee in Reception and lots of pamphlets on the surrounding area available in hotel. Small hotel bar, but not much to write home about. Seemed to just be used for people waiting for cabs to airport.

Easy to walk to shops, monorail station, Rocks and everything Sydney has to offer. Not the most luxurious hotel in Sydney, but remember it is a Travelodge, and you definitely won't be disappointed. Would highly recommend - for good quality, good priced accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2006

The best thing about this hotel is its excellent location for the price you pay. All the sites, shops and restaurants are only a couple of minutes walk away.

The rooms are a bit shabby and the bathrooms the smallest I have ever seen and could do with a facelift. A letter was left on the bed stating that upgrading work was scheduled to start at the hotel shortly after we left, so these issues (not sure how the bathroom size could be addressed) may be resolved.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Happyfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights as part of an extended holiday. The location is great very close to Darling Harbour, the Rocks and only a short walk to Wynyard station where you can get the rail and buses. It is in the CBD so at night and weekends the area is a bit lifeless, rather reminiscent of the city of London, but it is not far to get to somewhere where there is some nightlife

The studio rooms are very large and are like a mini suite - it is well worth paying the extra. We had been travelling for two weeks by this point and it was good to have the option to just make and eat something simple rather than always having to go out to a restaurant. There is a supermarket in the station (you access it via the station entrance next to The Menzies Hotel, which is just opposite the Travelodge)

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't use the restaurant so can't really comment on that, but there is a Starbucks opposite if you need a caffeine fix!

It has a laundry, but no dryer so if you do do washing then you will have to drape things around your room.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hywel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#104 of 178 in Sydney
5,063 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $140 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing