We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Good Location, Needs Renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #98 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed May 23, 2006

The best thing about this hotel is its excellent location for the price you pay. All the sites, shops and restaurants are only a couple of minutes walk away.

The rooms are a bit shabby and the bathrooms the smallest I have ever seen and could do with a facelift. A letter was left on the bed stating that upgrading work was scheduled to start at the hotel shortly after we left, so these issues (not sure how the bathroom size could be addressed) may be resolved.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Happyfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,949)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,681 - 4,687 of 4,949 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights as part of an extended holiday. The location is great very close to Darling Harbour, the Rocks and only a short walk to Wynyard station where you can get the rail and buses. It is in the CBD so at night and weekends the area is a bit lifeless, rather reminiscent of the city of London, but it is not far to get to somewhere where there is some nightlife

The studio rooms are very large and are like a mini suite - it is well worth paying the extra. We had been travelling for two weeks by this point and it was good to have the option to just make and eat something simple rather than always having to go out to a restaurant. There is a supermarket in the station (you access it via the station entrance next to The Menzies Hotel, which is just opposite the Travelodge)

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't use the restaurant so can't really comment on that, but there is a Starbucks opposite if you need a caffeine fix!

It has a laundry, but no dryer so if you do do washing then you will have to drape things around your room.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hywel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2006

Just returned from a 7 day holiday to Sydney. Everything was wonderful except for the long, long flight from CA. The hotel is accessible to all attractions. Everything seems only a 5-10 minute walk away; The Rocks, Sydney harbor, Opera House, and lots of shopping. Daily breakfast was good, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, cereal,juice and good coffee, my son is a breakfast person and he loved it. The room was clean. The bed layout was different. There were 3 of us and we had a room with 3 twin beds, we were assigned a room on the 15th floor and it had a nice view of the city. Yes, there is costruction going on in front of the hotel but we never heard any noise from it, nor did we see people working at the site. Be sure to purchase the tour package for the Opera House, the first tour starts at 9:00 am, it is worth the money to hear about the history and see the inside. This is simple, no thrills, clean hotel located in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NPLFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Canada
24
Reviewed April 18, 2006

We stayed at this hotel in March 06 for 5 nights. It was clean and comfortable. Excellent location for tourists. Well worth the money if you want a budget hotel to sleep and shower in.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stoke-onTrent.UK
32
Reviewed April 7, 2006

Well positioned and within a fifteen minute walk of both The Rocks area and Darling Harbour. Room good size and clean and breakfast very good.
Mel & Karen.Stoke-on-Trent.UK

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2006

This hotel disappointed. We travelled as a family of 5. The 2 rooms allocated were shabby and the air condition was not working. Given the heat, this was not what was wanted. The hotel had a major air con problem that week. A helpful manager upgraded us to decent rooms after some serious negotiation: far superior, actually decorated this century with good beds, more room.....and working air con !

After that bad start, things improved. Good cleanliness. Excellent location. We stayed 5 nights. If we had been allocated the decent rooms initially, I would have had a far better view of the hotel, as it is only 3 star. There were clearly a number of rooms needing an overhaul however.

Only tried breakfast once: good but overpriced. Better deals available on several nearby cafes (though some not open at weekends as this street is primarily a business street). Bar OK, but closed early.

Very near the Wynyard station, making airport transfers easy.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, as part of a 'world tour' and found it to be excellent. The taxi driver found it no problem at all, once we had told him the Road name.

We arrived around 6pm and we were told upon check-in that we would receive a complimentary upgrade to a studio room, as the standard rooms had all been booked out! Our room was fantastic, and I would definately recommend paying the extra in the future for this room. One complaint however, is that the walls are very thin and that you can clearly hear what is happening next door!!

The hotel is ideally situated, with Darling Harbour a 15 minute walk away and The Rocks area 10 minutes. It is also only a 2 minute walk from Wynyard station.

All the staff in the hotel were more than helpful and the number of leaflets available in reception was fantastic (although it took me about an hour to read through them all). The maid was very understanding about our jet lag etc. and often went out of her way to ensure she still attended to our room, even if it was quite late!

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Sydney in the near future!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SallyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#104 of 178 in Sydney
5,059 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $139 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing