We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for one night - but no more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #97 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed April 4, 2009

My wife and I spent our last night of a two week trip in and around Sydney at this hotel.
Clean and ok for one night. But the service is very limited and not friendly at all. Double room is standard.
Hotel is perfectly situated next to Darling Harbour and Circular quay, both at walking distance.
When we checked out, I paid for the two cokes and bottle of water we took from the fridge. But I have to say that I was very angry when we arrived back home, a few days later, we received a letter from the hotel saying that they charged us for a small bottle of whisky that we didn't pay for when we checked out. The truth is that we never drank / took away this small bottle. Someone may have stolen it when the room was being cleaned after we left.
Anyway, as it was a small amount, I didn't want to waste my time trying to get it refund (especially being back in the UK). I don't appreciate being charged afterwards for an item I didn't take.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moss11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,005 - 5,011 of 5,383 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2009

this hotel is well situated near Wynyard station in the centre of Sydney. It is an easy walk to both Darling harbour & Circular Quay. Shops & restaurants are also nearby.
Reception staff were very busy & checking in was a long, laborious process which wasn't helped by staff trying to deal with several people at once and also constantly breaking off to answer the telephone.
We stayed on the executive floor but found the rooms very basic and small although clean.
I would not stay in this hotel on future visits but if you want somewhere centrally located, reasonably priced and don't mind basic facilities then it should be ok

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akky1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

This is a travellodge but not as my brit compatriates will know it as...Its formerly a 4* hotel and the level of service is still at that level. The rooms are adequate and the location is extremely handy for the transport system as wynyard station is literally 100 metres down the road.

Staff were unphased by us turning up at 7am to check in, bags were stored until our room was available and in general this is a good place to stay if you want to explore sydney...A few metres down the road and you can pay double the cost of this hotel....try their website directly for best rates....happy traveller...

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcs1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

This hotel is within walking distance of everything - the Harbour Bridge, the Opera House and public transportation - buses, ferries, trains, monorail etc. The room was well equipped and most comfortable. Staff were most helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisOntario.Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

The hotel is in an excellent spot for walking to see the sights of Sydney. The rooms are average travelodge rooms. The continental breakfast is simple. The staff are friendly and helpful. There were several computers for internet access in the foyer - nice touch. The laundry was really handy for those of us travelling with 20kgs of luggage on long holidays. We didn't try the evening meals so can't comment on them. Out of the front door and to the left is a great little inexpensive noodle cafes. Out of the door and left, across the road and on the corner a great little bar that does fantastic food. Sorry I don't know its name! The hotels lifts need to speed up a little - maybe they have by now.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damaskfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

last time we were in sydney we stayed a couple of hundred metres away in george street, so knew it was a good location, roughly halfway between circular quays / the rocks, and darling harbour. the hotel was comfortable, a fair size room , large double bed, and well eqipped. we were a fair way up above the street so it was fairly quiet inside and outside the hotel...the lounge was comfortable to sit in and have a drink..we didn't have breakfast but had an evening meal that was good.,the staff were ok/ average.. only downside we had a room facing onto york street and at times felt like we were in the film " rear window " with the buildings accross the street having people in them who could look in....tip if you want to save yourself a walk uphill from george street go into the wynyard station entrance up two escalators inside and you come out just accross the road from the travelodge..

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank droob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We stayed at the Travelodge due to wanting a cheaper hotel as a base for touring the city before we moved to a more expensive hotel on Circular Quay for our wedding day. The Traveloge was perfect for this purpose. After a lot of research I selected this hotel as I found this to be the cheapest of a quality looking hotel that was so close to Circular Quay and George Street. As I lived in Sydney a few years ago, I knew the area that we wanted to be in, and I am very pleased we selected the Travelodge. The rooms were very clean, the bed was massive and the room itself was very spacious. The only downside is the only view we had was the side of a concrete building!
The restaurant was quite expensive for what it was, so we only ate in there one night. The internet kiosks in reception were very handy, and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to someone who wanted a reasonably priced quality hotel. The only downside was that upon checkout, they tried charging us for 6 nights parking at $180!! We didn't even have a car! This was sorted out however quite quickly, and they admitted they had made a mistake.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachscott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#108 of 186 in Sydney
5,550 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,432 reviews
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#42 of 186 in Sydney
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $133 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Sydney Travelodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing