We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel to stay in prior to taking a Cruise from Circular Quay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #94 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
King Island, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Hotel to stay in prior to taking a Cruise from Circular Quay”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The reason for selecting this Hotel was that it was close to Circular Quay where we were to join our Cruise Ship. The Hotel is centrally located, close to public transport, & shops. Although aging, it was clean and comfortable, however, please request a higher level room overlooking Wynyard Park, to avoid the noise from surrounding streets. Please ensure you confirm this request earlier, as our written request did not show up on the hotels computers. Unfortunately, we hired a car at the airport, However, when we arrived, the car park was difficult to find, being located underground & accessed via a small alleyway. Also, we were not informed prior that the parking charge would be $35 per night, so that was a shock, but not nearly as much as the miniature parking spaces. Obviously, these parking spaces were originally made for motor bikes, as a normal small car had trouble negotiating the underground spiral drive way, before coming to rest in a less than average size parking bay. Free Wifi is only available in reception if you request a code from staff, and customers can access 30 minutes free per day. Otherwise, there are machines in reception where internet use can be purchased. Overall, the Hotel met our needs, was clean and comfortable, reasonably priced, & staff were helpful. We would recommend this 3 star hotel, and would definitely consider staying there again if we take another cruise from Circular Quay (& note to self.....don't have a rental car).

Room Tip: Request rooms at a higher level overlooking Wynyard Park to avoid street noises. Don't take a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 549larrainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBush25, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Larraine N

We greatly appreciate this feedback. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and the team and I wish you happy and safe future travels. See you again soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    2,081
    1,206
    413
    230
See reviews for
890
1,621
444
1,129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastwood
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The customer service was great, friendly staff and professional, made me feel welcome. Hotel room was comfortable & clean just what you need for a short stay. The Hotel was conveniently located near public transport, bars & restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBush25, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Tom W

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted that you have taken the time to acknowledge our team for their customer service efforts, this is very encouraging for the team and much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cook
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Good location in the middle of the CBD, close to the Rocks, Darling Harbour, Opera House and shops and public transport. Very cheap compared to others in the area and clean.

Had trouble regulating the hot water in the shower, but this was relatively minor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBush25, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks for the feedback Greig R. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Exceptionally friendly and welcoming staff. Pleasant stay and value for money. Excellent location. They should invest in free Wi-Fi for the rooms though. The bed and pillows were quite hard and a strange set up of the bed covers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBush25, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Angela M

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted that you have taken the time to acknowledge our team for their customer service efforts, this is very encouraging for the team and much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The bottom line up front is that this hotel offers good value for money and is located close to much of what you will want to see and do in Sydney.

One of our main considerations for choosing a hotel when we were visiting Sydney was, more than anything, a central location at a reasonable price, and on this criteria, the Travelodge Wynyard hits the mark. We were within walking distance of several of Sydney's most important features, like Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, The Rocks, and all sorts of top restaurants and shops. We only had to use the bus or taxis a few times, since the hotel's location is just that good. Some hotels, like the Park Hyatt in The Rocks, appear to have a better location because of the view of the Opera House, the Harbour and so forth, but such hotels are also farther away from other parts of Sydney. The Travelodge Wynyard is more equidistant to a number of attractions, not just the common ones.

I must also compliment the staff of this hotel for being courteous and helpful, both in terms of helping with printing boarding passes and with giving good advice on where to find certain things in Sydney.

That said, we found certain hotel features slightly lacking. The washroom in our room was somewhat dated, as was the decor in general. The bed was fine, and probably above the average of the quailty of beds that we experienced in Australia. Our room was about halfway up the building, and street noise was fairly audible - nothing too loud or disruptive, but certainly ever present. We became used to the noise after the first day, but it is something to note. There is a gym facility on the top floor which was sparsely equipped, and while I understand that this is not important to a lot of people, it does matter to us. We have started noticing that many hotels around the world are taking their gyms a lot more seriously, so perhaps in a few years with the next round of renovations, this hotel will also take this into account.

If your main consideration is the combination of price and location, then you can stay with confidence at this hotel.

Room Tip: This hotel is in a very busy part of Sydney, so you will want to request a room on the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ippocalyptica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBush25, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Ippocalyptica

We greatly appreciate the suggestions in terms of the recommended updates and will bear this in mind for future renovations. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Conveniently close to everything, comfortable, and friendly helpful staff. Close to buses and trains, walking distance to many tourist attractions and shopping, eateries etc. In-house dining good, and room service if required.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBush25, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Ian J

We greatly appreciate this feedback. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and the team and I wish you happy and safe future travels. See you again soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach Waters
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Fabulous location. Within walking distance to major tourist sites, shops and restaurants. Very close to all forms of public transport, which saved us having to hire a car. Friendly staff and very comfortable beds in an average room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBush25, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks for the feedback Angie H. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
4,955 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing