We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #94 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
690 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The benefit of this hotel was that it was in an almost perfect location situated just 100 metres from the station on the main line to the airport.....and chosen for that reason. it is also within easy walking distance of the main attractions around the harbour. The hotel itself is pretty non-descript...a travellers' hotel with average rooms, it has a good laundry and restaurant...but didn't eat there ..but might have done if I'd been on a tighter budget. Overall nothing to write home about but it did what it says on the can ....provided good value accommodation in a good location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear njhharrogate

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Travelodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    1,993
    1,155
    404
    215
See reviews for
837
1,580
424
1,057
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This Travelodge like so many was excellent. Perfect location within easy reach of the Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. The hotel was in good order with a superb restaurant attached. We did have dinner there on our first night and was very pleased with service and quality of the food.

Room Tip: Request room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevesyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear stevesyred

Thank you for the feedback. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and in particular our restaurant. Thank you for sharing this experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

After a long haul flight the last thing you want to find is a damp and smelly room. Comfort factor zero for the room. No privacy in front bedrooms unless you pull the shutters and put the light on even in the middle of the day. Very tired bathroom and one lift out of action for part of our stay. Picture on Web nothing like our room. Hotel up a steep hill from The Rocks, Circular Quay, George Street and Darling Harbour. Transport to airport booked by hotel for our onward flight failed to turn up but to their credit, hotel paid for a taxi for us instead.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank richard0837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Richard0837,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all guests have a fantastic time whilst staying with us and to hear that this was not the case on this occasion is regrettable. I must encourage all guests to speak to the service team at the property if they are not satisfied in any way during your stay, this will enable the team to find a solution and ensure that your time with us is as enjoyable as possible.

Regards

Sean McKinnon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

chicago
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The room was okay, the furnishings were worn, the airconditioning worked okay. There are much nicer hotels but it is close enough to Darling harbour and the Opera House. It was a very economical hotel. The photo is of a screw embedded in the mortar of the bathroom floor, sort of summed up my view of the hotel in a photo...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bthaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear bthaynes

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Travelodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night on business. It was well located and had friendly front of house staff. While a busy hotel with tour groups, everything ran smoothly. I didn't try the restaurant for dinner, as Darling Harbour was in walking distance and provided a wide variety of dining options. My room was well equipped, but in need of some updating. The wooden shutters instead of curtains were cumbersome, and the lack of double glazing on the windows meant little sleep due to traffic and late night roadworks near the hotel. The clunky shower/bath system was frustrating, again a relic of days long gone. This hotel has some good points, but I won't be staying there again when in Sydney.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, not one that faces York St
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan_61_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Susan_61_10

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location and customer service. With the hotel positioned in the heart of the busy Sydney CBD it often is difficult to avoid some street noise from time to time and we do advise light sleepers to request a high floor to combat this issue. We wish you safe travels.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. This hotel is very aged. The rooms were musty. The rooms are small. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything your neighbour is doing or saying. It is more like a 3 star motel in a country town than a capital city hotel. The shower leaked all of the time. The TV reception was like having a bunny ear aerial. One of the rooms on our floor ordered room service and left their tray outside of their door for collection. We had to walk past the tray of left overs for 2 days. The bed was comfortable. Heaps of noise from trucks in the morning. Location was good. 10 mins walk to The Rocks or Darling Harbour. Wouldn't stay again though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandN20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear BandN20,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us and I encourage yourself and future guests to report any issues to our team directly during your stay so we can provide a solution and ensure that you get the most out of your time with us.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I booked this room in a flash deal that included a late check out to 12pm - we wanted to head out for dinner and drinks in the city - and it was perfect for our stay. Only a 10 minute walk in any direction to Darling harbour, George Street, the Rocks, etc. Subway, pharmacies, and convenience stores were only around the corner. I was asked for $50 deposit, which I paid for in cash, and I got it back in cash no worries. We actually got free parking - somehow they never charged us for it. The rooms are really clean, a good size, and contain everything you want (quality TV, tea and coffee, fridge, table and two chairs, good air con, electronic safe, wardrobe, mirrors, etc.). If I had any complaints, it would be that the bed was fairly firm (but this is a subjective preference) and the bathroom is a little squeezy. Also, the staff originally asked me if a double bed plus one single was okay, even though I had booked a king room online. I pointed this out to her and she was very helpful and accommodating - she got us a king room higher up. I would recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Holly J

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Travelodge. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 178 in Sydney
4,777 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Toga Hotels, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing