We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect position, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #95 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Perfect position, helpful staff”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We arrived in Sydney on an early flight, and had booked for the night before so as to get into the room straightaway. We stayed one more night, then went to Uluru for a couple of nights, and then came back to the Travelodge for three more nights in Sydney (we had planned to go out into the country, but flash fires still happening meant we were advised not to.) They stored our cases while we were away.

It was very easy to get to Wynyard Station from the airport, and the location of the hotel was perfect. We had been in Sydney a few years ago, and were delighted to find City Extra at Circular Quay opposite wharf 3 was still thriving, great for lovely breakfasts with free Wi-fi. Starbucks is just down the road from the hotel too, more free Wi-fi.

We benefitted too from the laundry on the top floor, as we were in the third week of our holiday. I had actually brought our own washing tablets as I have had the problem in hotels before of not having any, but in fact you can get powder from the machine up there along with the coca-cola and other refreshments! And you can even use the gym next door while your washing is doing, so I did do a quick workout on the treadmill one day.

We were in a high room, very quiet as we had asked for, we thought perhaps refurbished except the bathroom, maybe a little frayed at the edges but perfectly comfortable. We didn't eat at the hotel, finding the choices and prices not particularly tempting, but we enjoyed Barramundi on the corner opposite, and Giovanni's a little way further down the road towards the harbour. On Sunday night many restaurants are closed, but we ate that night at the Bavarian Bier Café just up from the station on the other side.

Reception was often very busy, but the staff were doing a marvellous job every time we came through, happy to give information, find us change for the washing machines, etc. We'd go back any time.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given one on the 12th floor at the back, no noise at all except v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear MelFinch,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you have mentioned the team’s efforts in relation to customer service; this gives us great motivation and will inspire the team to even further their efforts moving forward.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    1,934
    1,127
    393
    208
See reviews for
806
1,534
414
1,020
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, centrally located to train, bus and easy to ferry. Take bus 555 at Wynward station FREE to ferry, and city circle A nice location. Good employees especially Emily. Eat at Metro lots food locations

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janisue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Janisue R

We are pleased that enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I really like this hotel ... and have stayed here a couple of times. It is clean, reasonably cheap and quick and easy to get to from the airport via the underground. Circular Quay, Sydney Harbor Bridge, the Opera House and the Rocks are also within easy walking distance.

Wynyard Station directly adjacent to the hotel has a Coles supermarket and small shopping complex, but what I really like about this Travelodge is that on the upper floors it has a laundry with coin operated washing machines and dryers. After three months travelling in Europe and a long flight from LA, I was able to get a suitcase of washing done, rather than trying to do it in a wash basin or having it dry cleaned. It was also very cheap. The only thing was there was no soap powder dispencer. Thankgoodness for the kind English lady who left the rest of her's.

On arrival I was a bit worried with the room being on the third floor, but it was very quiet. The breakfast next morning was good, two prices: one for a Continental Breakfast, the other for a full English breakfast. In the front foyer were several computers with coin operated internet. The staff were not only friendly and obliging, but went out of their way to assist. So thankyou Travelodge Wynyard. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Geoffrey F,

The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed staying with us. Your review is inspiring to the team and a reward for their continued efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The only time I would recommend this property is if someone I disliked immensely needed a hotel recommendation in Sydney. While I know this is more of a budget chain, I have, quite honestly, stayed in hotels with lower rates and much better service and condition. If this hotel could figure out how to charge you to flush the toilet, it would. But you would have to have a working toilet first.

First off, our room was not ready at check in; it was not ready until several hours AFTER check in time. Yet, when we asked for a later checkout (30 minutes) they told us we would have to pay for an entire extra day! Really, our room was not ready until almost 8 PM, yet we did not get a refund for having to wait that long, or even an apology. When we finally got to our room, it was just gross. The linens were decent (towels and bed), but that is it. The AC was broken and Sydney had very warm and humid weather during our stay. We were on the 14th floor and sweltered our entire trip - it was too hot to even sleep. Our room never got below 85 degrees and only cooled down to that when we were able to open the window; 4 calls to the front desk in 3 days, the someone finally come up to fix it 10 minutes before we checked out. When he found out we were leaving, the AC guy walked away - I am willing to bet it is still broken. As was our toilet (never stopped running) and our sink (constant leaking). The bathroom was gross - rusty door hinges, broken towel bar, mildew all over the shower tile and in desperate need of repair. The carpet was filthy, the walls were full of hand prints and smudges and the window ledge was so dusty that when I put something down on it the dust flew up. We had to move the bed to get to a plug and it became very obvious that no vacuuming had been done in that area in months, if ever. The staff was rude and unhelpful, and the "free" wireless in the lobby was not available as we had a "special" rate. They have 4 "pay" PC's for internet, all with different prices (some offer 20 minutes for $6, others it cost $8) and they don't work. My PC kept freezing eating up my time but they would not help or refund my money. Overall, I would have rather slept in a box in a urine soaked alley than stay at this property. The only plus was they had plenty of hot water and are an easy walk to the harbor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaley1kt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear kaley1kt,

Thank you for your recent review of our property. The team and I are deeply concerned to read your review and find that your stay with us was well below par. I truly regret that we were not able to hear these comments whilst you were onsite as the management team and I would have appreciated the opportunity to engage in service recovery to restore your confidence in our hotel. I can only encourage others to please highlight any shortfalls to our management team as they occur so we can deal with them appropriately and ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible. As a service focused business feedback like this is truly disheartening however the team and I will use this to move forward with extra determination to avoid a reoccurrence in the future.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The manager with the beard and glasses was nice. Good dinner, good breakfast and service was excellent by Mos. Very nice location near the harbour and Opera House. We enjoyed our stay. Thank you Mos and all of you for looking after my group.

Room Tip: Good rooms are on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colette_sicot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear colette_sicot

Thank you for mentioning the exceptional service of one of our team members. I am delighted that we were able to assist you and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

It's a Travelodge so don't expect luxury! The room was clean, comfortable and had a good shower. Not much storage space but perfectly adequate for a couple of days. The big benefit is the location. 2 mins from Wynyard Station, so easy access to/from the airport and only 10-20 mins by foot from Circular Quay, Botanic Gdns & Darling Harbour. Plenty of restaurants nearby, so didn't eat in the hotel - used the food court in the Met Centre for breakfast.

1/2 hr free wifi each day in the lobby, just ask Reception for your daily password.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a higher room to minimise transport noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaroonTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear MaroonTyke,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Travelodge. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballaghaderreen, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Having took a chance and booking a mystery hotel stay through wotif, we were very disappointed to see the mystery turned out to be a Travelodge especially for the price we paid. We have used this chain a few times in the past and know there cheap and cheerful. Having arrived and checked in, the room was very nice and well maintained. The location is fantastic, excellent for the harbour bridge tour, the opera house, darling harbour and the bus for summer bay is right across the street. Wyndham train station is a 30 second walk from reception which was very handy when we had to catch an early morning train to the airport. This hotel is definitely a step about the usual travel lodges but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would have no hesitation in returning. The staff were very helpful with and queries we had.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Patrick S,

I am pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations during your recent stay. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,696 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#46 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing