We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #97 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A nice hotel not fancy, but clean , nice staff and Great location! Within walking distance of train, can even catch the train from the airport. Walking distance to see the bridge, opera center, botanical gardens, Darling Harbor. Spent my 3 days enjoying Sydney and walked everywhere. Great location! Another nicety is that when you arrive early there is a guest shower you can clean up and go out and enjoy since checkin is not until 2 pm

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2travel3153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Luv2travel3153

Thank you very much for sharing your positive feddback with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back whne you next visit Sydney.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,295 - 4,301 of 5,157 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

I needed this particular location and this had reasonable reviews at a moderate price weekdays but is expensive for what it is on weekend. This is a basic hotel room with refrigerator and hot pot, nothing more. It's clean no bugs. If there are people in the halls, it is noisy but otherwise you don't hear a lot of noise. The airconditioner worked. If you get there early enough you can get parking at 35 dollars a day but the spaces are very small and there are posts making it difficult to park in. Had the full service breakfast at 25 dollars and was disappointed, terrible hashbrowns and OK eggs and beans, 3 choices of fruit slices, toast, cereal. Had dinner there once, small serving of lasagna and that food was OK. Starbucks is on the corner of the next block for a cheaper breakfast.
OK hotel if you need to be at that location, Swisshotel York on the same block looked nicer but is more expensive per night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiles030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear smiles030

Thank you very much for posting your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next return to Sydney

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

a convenient and easy to get hotel.

They need to get someone in with a good eye for details to tidy it up. Lots of little things could be fixed to make a big difference to the overall feel.

My room was fine, but lots of little superficial things like poor paintwork which made it feel a bit nasty. No bottle opener or utensils in the room. The menu in the room was out of date with none of the items I wanted available.

No big complaints, but if they jusy paid a little more care it would make a huge difference.
The bar is pretty disappointing, but I did have a very nice meal which made up for it.

Not sure if I'd recommend it considering how much choice there is in Sydney, but it's ok.

Room Tip: avoid floor 22 if you have a disability. This floor requires you walk up stairs from floor 21
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Mark C,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am surprised that the products on the room service menu were not available when you ordered. All menus are updated so they must have sold out on that particular day. We offer an extensive room service menu and you can also order the daily specials to room service. This menu is in the lifts and updated daily.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for a few nights in April. Hotel was ok, staff were helpful. Room was a bit basic and bathroom could do with an upgrade. Didn't eat there but has a restaurant. Free wifi but for 15 minutes only! Can't believe hotel did not offer free WiFi 24/7 in this day and age....
Plus point is convenient location, close to train station with direct link to airport (which definitely worth using over taxi).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChefGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear ChefGeoff


Thank you very much for sharing your feedback.

Look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sydney.
Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised staying here after the last time. I purchased the accommodation as a "secret hotel" and was a little disappointed when the hotel was revealed to me after the purchase but the disappointment didn't last long and I was only staying the one night. Because my plans had changed and I needed 2 single beds rather than a double the staff were very accommodating. The room was very clean and it seemed to have had a makeover since the last time Is stayed. I really liked the timber shutters which seemed to keep out the street noise and light and I had a very peaceful sleep. Checkin and checkout was efficient, the location excellent and the hotel was good value for money. Sydney is a very expensive city to visit especially during the weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Pauline2795

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. I will be passing your comments on to our team who will be pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sydney.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Location was fabulous, and has access to wherever you want to go, but we found at night the surrounding are was very loud/noisy, and you had metal shutters for blinds! draft near the window, and the bathroom wasnt exactly perfect, but our room had a television, fridge,ironing board,wardroobe etc, everthing we needed. It was clean and tidy, and the staff were friendly, but after staying for 4 nights all we wanted to do was move onto the next hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Sophie L

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback.

Look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sydney.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We booked this as part of a travel package so did not have any choice of rooms so ended up on the ninth floor overlooking a laneway facing an office block. I don't know the exact fee but less airfare would be about A$150 per night. I don't recall the exact rate for breakfast but from memory it was about $A30 per person for full breakfast which seemed a bit steep. We found a good breakfasts for less elsewhere such as Darling Harbour.

There is no free WiFi in the room but we were offered a 15 minute voucher to use in the lobby.

The windows were not double glazed so the garbage trucks wake one up during the evening.

The room and corridor smelled a bit musty and food trays were left outside an adjoing room for several hours.

On a positive note this is a good location. We loaned ome umbrellas at no additional cost and the check out was one of the fastest that I have ever experienced. The staff were also helpful in storing our bags with efficient storage and retrieval.

I have stayed at Travelodges before but this hotel was not up to the same standard that I have experienced and I would not recommend or stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not choose rooms facing the laneway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happytraveller1399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Happytraveller1399

Thank you very much for your feedback.

In regards to breakfast we have 4 different options daily that range from $4 for coffee and homemade muffin on the go, $12.50 for light breakfast, $20 for continental breakfast and $25 for a full buffet breakfast so we cater for all our guests requirements.

We have also been working closely with the local council and other businesses in the area and have dramatically reduced the amount of rubbish collections in the laneway. I believe this issue is now sorted.

We have also taken on board your comments about the trays on the corridors and have taken measures to prevent this.

I truly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back when you next visit Sydney.
Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,288 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#63 of 179 in Sydney
4,962 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
6,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $111 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing