We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #92 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The location was perfect for the main attractions in shdney.
Not to far from the opera house was in walking distance of everything.
The coffee and expressos advertised were made just like the picture presented it was amazing.
Staff at the front counter were very friendly depending on the time

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rovad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Rovad S,

Thank you for sharing you experience on Tripadvisor.

I truly believe we have further improved our guest service since your stay back in April so I look forward to reading your comments when you next stay with us.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    1,888
    1,101
    384
    203
See reviews for
777
1,512
406
989
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My first time in Australia and it was so easy to get from the airport to the hotel, the train station is literally next door to the hotel... so nice when you are carrying stuff and don't want to get lost in a new place. The staff of this hotel is top-notch -- they are so friendly and helpful, they also have a great sense of humor. They were really helpful when I asked for directions or restaurant recommendations or things to see/do. I did have a chance to try a burger at the restaurant at the hotel, and it was fantastic. The room itself was excellent -- it looked like a pretty new and clean. View was ok -- although was not in the room much. The A/C worked reasonably well -- which is important for me because I don't like huge temperature swings when I am sleeping. They stocked the coffee/tea/milk pretty regularly -- I really liked their selections. There is a grocery store (Coles) near by. I used the baggage storage facility pretty extensively (over the 25 days I was in Australia). This hotel has a gym on the top floor with shower facilities. There is also a laundromat on that floor. All in all great place -- so convenient that you will enjoy the rest of your trip even more since you have so little to worry about. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Ragh P,

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback

Look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, had 2 rooms, 12th floor, on 3 & 4 Feb 2013. Booked through wotif.com,au and got such an amazing rate, I was a bit worried about what rooms we would be allocated, especially as I was taking overseas visitors there and had no knowledge of the hotel.
Arrived there 1 hour before check-in, hoping to leave our bags, but the rooms were available and we were able to check straight in. I'd requested adjoining rooms if at all possible and the hotel graciously honored that request.
Check-in took about 2 minutes, fabulous staff.
Rooms were immaculately clean, beds were wonderfully comfortable - which of course is very subjective considering other reviews. Loved, loved, loved the sliding plantation shutters instead of curtains, looked over York Street with a view towards Wynyard Park so a bit of green and CAN'T fault the location, 10 mins walk to everywhere and public transport almost at the door.
As a outer-suburban Sydney resident, when we go to see a show or have overseas visitors, we stay in another place for sentimental reasons but that 'un-named' place is awfully expensive and having stayed at the Wynyard Travelodge, this is the place of choice for now.
Check-out was fabulous and quick, we were actually asked if we needed to leave any luggage rather than having to request it.
Overall, a top-notch experience at this hotel which I would gladly do again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear SW17 ,

Thank you for your recent review, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it and and share your positive feedback.

I will share your feedback with the team and hope we will see you again when you are next in Sydney.

Kind Regards
Victor Faisca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

- clean
- awesome location
- fairly new amenities/ furnishings
- very comfortable beds
- restaurant in the lobby looked pretty good (though I didn't have the chance to try it out)
- bit on the pricey side for what you get, but you do get a great location

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BA31pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear BA31pilot,

Thank you for your positive review.

I will share you feedback with our team and we hope to see you back at - one day in the future.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

all god but nothing special. place is clean, bath is small but enough, bed fine. rooms were not noisy, staff is friendly and good. for sydney was a good deal, location is good, many buses close or central sub station nearby

Room Tip: we had 1318 which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanghaimarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear shanghaimarkus

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked this as a mystery hotel for one night. It was alright, but nothing special. When we arrived, our room was set up as two singles despite requesting a double. We called reception right away and they said they would send someone up asap. It took probably 1.5hrs for someone to come up and zip the beds together. The staff we spoke with were all pleasant enough though.

The room was just.. average. We had a decent sized tv screen, and a two seater couch. The view was disappointing, we just looked directly at the dirty concrete wall of the building next to us - and I was awoken early in the morning by what sounded like garbage trucks in the alley. The main room was a nice size but the bathroom was a bit on the small side, with a combined shower & bath. The icecube trays provided didn't freeze in the little bar fridge, the room smelt faintly damp so we kept the window open. Minimal toiletries & coffee/tea facilities were provided. The outside hallway to the room was very dark & dingy, with full length dark mirrors compounding the effect.

The lobby area was much nicer than the rooms & hallways, with a nice big restaurant. The menu seems quite reasonably priced for a hotel and we did get a free buffet breakfast with our room booking. The buffet had a decent selection of food available, including poached or fried eggs on request.

I'm not sure if maybe the nicer lobby & restaurant area bumps this hotel up to a 4 star rating somehow. The room itself definitely felt more like a 'comfortable essentials' 3 star room. Overall, we didn't have a terrible time by any means, but there was nothing really amazing about it either.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building haven't got a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mipanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Mipanda

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback.

I'm sorry it took so long to change the bedding configuration in your room. As you know, on the mystery deal the bedding configuration is subject to availability and not confirmed but we always manage to accommodate guest requests.

In regards to the star rating of the hotel we are accessed and rated by AAA on a regular basis and I'm sorry if the hotel did not meet your expectations.

Look forward to seeing you again at the Travelodge Wynyard.
Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in January and found it an excellent hotel. The location is a very short walk to the Rocks, The bridge,the Harbour, the shops and the CBD.
The room was clean, well maintained and the bed very comfortable. We did not have a good view but as we were not in the room in the daytime it was irrelevant.
We only ate in the hotel once and the food was very good and well priced.
We did not have breakfast in the hotel but found many cafes locally for a smaller breakfast.
The hotel is also near to bus stops and the railway station so very well situated for trips further afield.
Excellent hotel.

Room Tip: If a view is required ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twojays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Twojays_10

We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, thank you so much for sharing your experience.

We hope to see you next time you visit Sydney.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,588 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing