We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #94 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location. Handy to ferries and city train station 80 metres away
Room was clean and had all facilities
Reception staff need to be more friendly. There was no smile or welcome just instructions!
Mini bar was atrociously over priced!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergranBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear supergranBrisbane,

Thank you for your feedback.

We will continue to train our front line team to ensure our guest service improves. I'm sorry you didn't experience the true Travelodge guest service.

I have taken note of your comments on the mini-bar prices and we will be reviewing this at our next meeting. We do have a couple of other options on-site, one of which is the bar being open 24/7 to our in-house guests and also the vending machines on the 21st level which dispenses drinks and snacks.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Travelodge Wynyard.
Kind regards,

Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    1,993
    1,155
    404
    215
See reviews for
837
1,580
424
1,057
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Nothing more, nothing less. Great location, really central in the city. A short walk to Darling Harbour, a little longer to Circular Quay. Rooms were fairly sized, clean and tidy. Shower was just a head over a bath, nothing luxurious. The biggest down points would be the Internet access, which for wi-fi was extremely over priced; also the lifts! Very slow and one was broken...not enough for such a large and busy hotel. Room service food was nice and we enjoyed that on our first night after a long flight. We did specify a late check out, which the man at reception must have misheard as he locked us out of our room for a while! Worth staying here for a basic, low maintenance few days, because of the location I would say.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Kirstie F,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

As you may have already read, the lift upgrade has been completed since your stay back in September and I am pleased that it has resolved the delays previously experienced. We are also working on providing improved Wi-Fi conditions in the hotel that may even include some free access so that should also improve that area.

I apologise for the team member that did not cut your key until your check-out time, and I hope you will visit us again.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We chose the Travelodge principally because of its location. Within 100 metres of Wynyard station and within walking distance of most of Sydney's sights. Darling Harbour, Circular Quay, Botanic Gardens and the Opera House all within easy reach on foot.

We arrived early morning after a long flight from the UK. We couldn't check in but we were able to shower and freshen up and our luggage was stored. The hotel staff were very helpful and approachable throughout our short stay.

On our first night we ate in the restaurant. The meal was good and the price reasonable (for Sydney).

Problems? The soundproofing is poor and we could hear a lot of noise from other rooms. Even conversations were audible. Crockery and cutlery from room service meals wasn't cleared away quickly, often there overnight or all day.

All in all though we'd still recommend this hotel as a base from which to visit and explore Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Steve U,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

I have passed your comments in regards to room service trays to our restaurant team to ensure this is actioned quickly.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed for one night at Travelodge, we found the rooms basic but comfortable, but good value for money, check in and check out very quick with very polite staff on reception. We didn't eat here so I can't comment location was good, few minutes walk to circular quay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kels44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear kels44,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

Look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sydney

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is a great value for the excellent location (closer to The Rocks, Sydney Harbor, the Botanic Gardens, the Opera House, etc.). The rooms were clean and well-maintained, although not as many frills as some hotels (if that's something you need). The food in the restaurant was great and I can't say enough positive things about the helpfulness of the staff. Everyone was very kind and helpful to make sure that our stay was wonderful. They were happy to provide suggestions and assistance with activities or restaurants, and their suggestions were excellent. Great place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Diana K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The location of this hotel couldn't be better for proximity to The Rocks, Sydney Harbour and Darling Harbour. The food served at breakfast is actually very good and the staff are super friendly and helpful. The downside is the rooms. We booked a wheelchair accessible room and whilst we did have a roll-in shower, you couldn't actually get through the bathroom door with a wheelchair! Unfortunately there wasn't a better alternative room so we stayed and made do. The rooms are spartan but clean and the bed was comfortable. I found the availability and quality of internet connection in the hotels a bit sketchy and the Wynyard was no exception. The people running this hotel far made up for it's negative points and i would give them excellent ratings!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Virginian_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Virginian_7,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I am quite concerned with your comments in regards to wheelchair access room and will have all these rooms inspected and doors measured as wheelchairs should fit in the doors. Please accept my apologies.

Thank for your comments in regards to breakfast and the team.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed in january 2013 and was surprised by the size of the room. I requested twin share and was pleasantly surprised to have 2 double beds, with still plenty of space in the room for the 2 of us. Check in and out was quick and the reported slowness of the lifts has been resolved. Ate dinner twice in the hotel restaurant and could not fault the meal, the Thai chicken curry was excellent although hot I loved it. I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others. I found the beds and pillows very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaW29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear TaniaW29,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

I have passed your comments on to the kitchen team who were thrilled you enjoyed your meal. I have to agree, the home made Thai chicken curry is fantastic.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Sydney.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 178 in Sydney
4,778 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Toga Hotels, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing