We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, fair price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #94 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location, fair price”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is a very good choice and in a good location to start your Sydney sightseeing. Just a short walk to circular quay and shops/cafes conveniently reachable. The room size is big enough to also feel comfortable if you stay in the entire day in case of bad weather and the staff was very friendly, efficient and helpful with luggage and in terms of questions concerning sightseeing directions. There is hardly any noise from the traffic surrounding the building hence the windows have a good isolation. Would def book it again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandmspore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear mandmspore,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sydney.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    1,992
    1,154
    403
    215
See reviews for
834
1,579
423
1,056
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel offers pure convenience and location - directly opposite Wynyard Station and a 15 min walk to Circular Quay . There are 2 supermarkets a liquor store and a great range of coffee shops all close by in the Met Centre and Wynyard Arcardes .As a bonus the staff are incredibly courteous and helpful .

We travelled as a family of 2+2 and got the interconnecting room for the kids which worked well.

It's a bit dated but the decor has been given a facelift and I thoroughly recommend this hotel for the right reasons !

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MICHAELJC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear MichaelCowley,

Thank you very much for your positive review.

The team are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you and the family back soon.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Sydney is an expensive city even at the best of times. So trying to rate anything in my home city is difficult to review especially for international visitors based on true value for money. So let me say that the Travelodge for Sydney priced standards was reasonable. (i imagine for some international guests you will think it is way over priced, which it is....but thats the price of things in this city.....very expensive).

The hotel is based in the north of the city, so the area is fairly quiet but you will get some traffic noise. Its not far from here to some of the major attractions of Sydney including the Quay and The Rocks, the Opera House and Domain and only a short walk to the major shopping district.

The staff are polite and efficient and the rooms were sufficiently comfortable and quiet. Breakfast had a reasonable selection for money.

Would i stay again, no. Would i recommend it to first timers to Sydney on a budget... yeah, but you could find equivalents or slightly better for around the same money.

Room Tip: stay up higher levels to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyteoficarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Flyteoficarus,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback.

I'm disappointed that you do not intend to stay with us again but if you do reconsider please feel free to contact me directly so I can ensure you have a great experience with us.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I really don't know where to begin. This was arguably the worst hotel experience of my life.

From the first night we knew that this was not going to be a good time. We were awoken rudely at midnight by violent pounding on the door by a group of people with loud cheering. When we approached the staff, we were told they would look at the security footage (there was a camera outside near the door) but when we went back to the staff we weren't told of any outcome and simply provided the excuse of "people like to have fun on the weekends". That should have been the first warning.

The rooms themselves are small, the beds old and uncomfortable (lumpy) the windows were very thin and not in any way able to keep out the noise from the street, which was very loud (I live in a 4th floor apartment and am used to city noise), to the point we kept checking the top window to see if it had been opened (it never was). The noise from adjoining rooms was quite loud, conversations could be overheard, and much more (unpleasantly).

The fridge was absolutely tiny. It was filled to overflowing with minibar items which had to be removed in order to fit any personal things in. The fridge door was broken and nothing could be stored in it without falling out when opening the door, and finally the fridge itself took up about 1/4 of the volume of the cupboard it was in, pretty much useless.

The television in the room had most channels, and a few cable channels. The in house movies never worked, some channels were snow, which was pretty boring but unimportant to anyone except those who spend more than an hour in their room doing anything other than sleeping, showering or getting dressed.

The water restrictor in the shower reduced it to a paltry trickle, and it was a case of dancing under the shower to get clean, any attempt by the hotel to save water by using less is negated by the fact I had to spend three times longer under it to get enough water to wash off the soap.

There is no wireless internet, only very expensive cable access in the rooms themselves (forget hooking up anything other than a laptop/desktop up) or an internet cafe in the foyer. The staffs attitude is reprehensible, when inquired about the response given was "There is internet access as advertised, we never said it was free" which was a disgusting response.

The best kept rooms were actually the gym and laundry on the top floor which were quite obviously recently refurbished, that being said the dryers were constantly broken.

The last straw however was when we had organised an extension to the room and paid for it a month in advance (a requirement to book the room at the discount rate), there was no record of this and we had to pay again in order to not have to spend the night on the street. Not only this, but the staff were entirely uncooperative and unsympathetic to our displeasure. The end result was clear intimidation by the burliest of staff who used measured non verbal intimidation to get the hotels way. Nobody was capable of dealing with an unhappy guest, there was no attempt to acknowledge my issue and offer to look into it, there was only dumb innocence and an attitude of "pay up or leave" and finally intimidation to resolve the issue in their favour. This issue I have begun to follow up with corporate.

I am so glad to be home where I can finally get a nights sleep which I desperately need after this ordeal. I have now removed Travelodge as a preferred accommodation supplier for my company and would recommend others reconsider staying at the Travelodge Wynyard at the very least.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Kiint,

Thank you for sharing you feedback.

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you have raised such a large number of issues, may I please ask that you email me further details to vfaisca@travelodge.com.au so I can investigate these matters further.

I am particularly interested in details with regards to the team members you spoke with because as you can see on the vast majority of the feedback on tripadvisor regarding our team is very positive.

Look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Travelodge Wynyard Sydney is located directly close to central Sydney and reachable by train from the airport easily. The rooms are large, the shower is good, there is no shower curtain. The window isolation is good, no noise could be heard. For breakfast, there are plenty of alternatives.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pinta12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear pinta12

Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the beginning of July 2012. We were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is ideally located, with all the highlights within walking distance. We arrived very early and the staff was very friendly and did their best to accommocate though not much was possible (we got our room around noon instead of 2pm). We definitely recommend the Travelodge Wynyard and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GhentFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear GhentFamily

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

I am delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

great ideal location easy walking distance to both darling harbour and the opera house/harbour bridge. Any british booking don't be put off with it being a travelodge, they are nothing like ours, toiletries provided serviced everyday, gym laundrette on site. only fault is you have to pay for internet access which wouldn't be so bad but it's very slow!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teapot1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Teapot1972,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We hear your comment on comparing us with Travelodge in the UK quite a lot. We are a 4* full service hotel which is quite deferent to the Travelodge brand in the UK.

I look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Sydney.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 177 in Sydney
4,769 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Toga Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing