We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #95 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed here for six nights in Sydney back in September 2011.

The very best thing about this place is its location. You can walk or hop a train at Wynyard station to go anywhere you need to be. Many tourist attractions are very convenient, no train required. The room was clean, nicely remodeled, and refreshed daily at our leisure. A few days we were in the room when the cleaning staff came by, but they were happy to return when we stepped out. The room overall was fairly cramped with minimal space to walk and the bed was perhaps a full or a double, not even a queen. A bit tight for two, to be honest, but I suppose that’s all in what you’re accustomed to. The bathroom was large but had no vanity except for a tiny 3”x10” glass tray mounted to the wall. Obviously not meant to cater to anyone who has anything they need to use at the bathroom sink besides a toothbrush. Like a cosmetics bag, perhaps? All of that I could live with, particularly for the stellar price when considering where you’re located, but two things drove me batty about this place. First is the Internet service. It was $11 for the first ½ hour or $22 for a full day. That’s just highway robbery. Do yourself a favor, go across the street to Starbucks and pay for their internet for a far more reasonable rate ($6/day). The other thing was the NOISE. If you think you’ll be able to sleep in at this hotel, think again. I don’t know if the windows are made of paper, but from the 7th floor I could hear all sorts of traffic noise, people talking on the sidewalks, even the audible crosswalk alert – from my closed windows seven floors up and around the corner (we were NOT street facing). The sound through the closed door wasn’t much better. I could hear every word of conversations going on in the hallway.

The bottom line: You get what you pay for. If you want to see Sydney on a budget and can put up with a few inconveniences to do so, this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear Lacey_U

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken note of your comments. In regards to the internet, I understand it can be expensive in Australia when compared with USA and will look in to this further.

Look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    1,934
    1,127
    393
    208
See reviews for
806
1,534
414
1,020
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

the bed for the third person in a triple room is terrible with a sofa convertible. the room is not any larger and is terribly small - the service staff were not helpful when being approached and sounded proud when being questioned for directions and Internet options

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zayden_Zhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear ric78,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

Free Internet is not a service that is offered by the Travelodge brand in Australia so I do apologize if you expected this as a standard.
I am disappointed that the customer service that you experienced was not up to standard. I can assure you that this is no a Travelodge standard and that we are constantly training and updating our teams to improve in this area.

Please accept my apologies for that and if you could contact me directly with further details on your stay it would assist me in improving our service.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

My husband and I just recently stayed here and the location is very good. Although this is an old hotel the rooms are renovated, small but servicable and really nice. It is very clean and staff are friendly and helpful with tourist maps and information. This hotel is great value for a stay in Sydney. There is a major bus depot close by and the train is a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. At Circular Quay you can catch the ferry to multiple destinations. Circular Quay and The Rocks area is about a 12 minute walk from the hotel. When visiting the historic Rocks area drop into the Billich Gallery (free), definitely worth a visit and Pam the manager is very friendly and makes the visit more interesting seeing the works of Charles Billich. Gallery is located at 106 George St. Also for scrumptious cakes visit La Renaissance patissiere at 47 Argyle Street. The shop looks tiny from the front but there is a courtyard out back. There was also a market in Argyle Street on the Saturday. Friday night live music and drinks at The Mercantile Hotel and drinks at sunset try the Glenmore hotel rooftop- you wont be disappointed.
I visit Sydney regularly and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carri_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear Carri_10

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed Sydney and in particular the Travelodge Wynyard.

Look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sydney


Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Decided to add two days to a busy three week trip and chose this hotel for the price and location and really didn't expect much. The hotel is just 100 m from the Wynyard line which connects you fast and easily to anything, including directly to the airport...so no need to take a taxi.
The Opera harbour and George Street, the main shopping artery and the one street that easily connects both harbour areas is on the parrallel street. A shopping mall is under the plaza on the right of the hotel.

The room was ready at 2 pm and so I left my luggage with them... they have a locked room with apparently good security.

The people at the reception were friendly and competent. The person I had even knew how to tether my iphone so that I could use it with the plug-in Internet on my computer. The room was clean and well equiped. Supplies in the refrigerator were reasonably priced and just marginally higher than at the convenience store around the corner.
The Internet cable is behind the TV and the first evening, neither me, nor the person on duty could find it.

I didn't expect luxury and didn't get it...but that was fine. The bed was very comfortable but might have been a bit small for two.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are brighter...mine was at level 4 and felt a bit like I was in a closet. Lift is ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabgeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear gabgeneva


Thank you very much for you positive feedback.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

A spotlessly clean property and helpful staff, though I found the bed to be somewhat on the small side though very comfortable.

With the smoking restrictions in operation in Australia, lots of smokers and smoke outside the entrance to the hotel.

For value for money compared to hotel prices in Sydney in general, I was satisfied.

A restaurant serves breakfast only in the mornings.

There seemed to be lots of backpackers and overnight guests staying.

Would be happy enough to stay here again if in Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwfhunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear jwfhunts

Thank you very much for you positive feedback. I will make sure it is passed on to our housekeeping team

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed here for work as it was the only hotel close to the training I was attended to that was inside my TA rate.

When I checked in the staff were rude. The hallways are dingy and smell. In the morning the cleaning cart comes out early and takes up most of the corridor.

The bathroom was tiny but even worse it wasn't clean.

I have stayed in some very basic places, but this was awful. I didn't feel comfortable at all in this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wackijac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear wackijac

Thank you for providing your feedback.

You have flagged some valuable points that I will be addressing with my team in order to improve the guest's experience with us.

Once again thank you for highlighting theses issues and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back when you return to Sydney.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Great value for money hotel near Sydney city. Small rooms but who needs a ballroom when you only need to sleep there. Mine had a fridge and microwave. Lovely friendly staff who were very helpful and nice and smiling (boy am I sick of surly service elsewhere!). I would stay here again for the price, convenience and value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelQueenAkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear TravelQueenAkl

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed Sydney and in particular the Travelodge Wynyard.

Look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sydney


Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,696 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#46 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Toga Hotels, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing