We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great economical hotel close to city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #96 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Great value for money hotel near Sydney city. Small rooms but who needs a ballroom when you only need to sleep there. Mine had a fridge and microwave. Lovely friendly staff who were very helpful and nice and smiling (boy am I sick of surly service elsewhere!). I would stay here again for the price, convenience and value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelQueenAkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Dear TravelQueenAkl

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed Sydney and in particular the Travelodge Wynyard.

Look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sydney


Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,743 - 4,749 of 5,321 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2011

We arrived from Sydney Airport and were greeted by a staff member standing at the top of the stairs, he welcomed us but made no attempt to assist us up the stairs with the bags, obviously not part of his job description, our next contact at the desk was a couple of minutes of sheer frustration as neither my wife nor I could understand what this young man was saying. He was also not particularly friendly more robotic. Memo to the management of this Hotel, don't put people on your front desk who do not speak English well! We had just spent 10 days in a little country whose people speak English as a third or fourth language and we had no problems at all.
The room was small but clean but we could hear every bit of the conversation of the two girls in the room next door, must have paper thin walls. There was no exhaust working in the very small bathroom, which makes for a very stuffy experience when showering and a rather unpleasant experience after using the toilet. The airconditioning seemed to have two settings, hot and cold and nothing in between.

Room Tip: Across the park is the Menzies you will get a good room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimberBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Dear TimberBlueMountains

Thank you for your feedback.

I am disappointed that the customer service that you experienced was not up to standard. I can assure you that this is no a Travelodge standard and that we are constantly training and updating our teams to improve in this area.

Please accept my apologies for the poor experience.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Great location 2min to the subway station, around 8min to sydney opera house, ferry terminal, 8min to city center, 10-15min to chinatown.
Great helpful and friendly staff.

The hotel condition is worn though, loose furniture on some places, heater broken, AC thermostat broken, so it was throwing out cold air all the time. Worst part was the cumstain on sheets, eeewww (I did not touch it).
Now I know why some people complained about the noise. There was 1 or 2 night I heard noise from the street, from construction of some kind. Really late, somewhere around around 23-02 o clock.


Great location and friendly staff. And great japanese restaurant next to the hotel.
But really not worth the money for that standard.
For that standard I rather go to a hostel. Next time I will try a hostel or another hotel/appartment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PingSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Dear PingSwe

Thank you for your feedback.

I have noted your comments in regards to your stay with us and will be investigating further. I can assure you that the linen is changed daily so I am concerned with your comment in regards to this.

If you could be so kind as to contact me directly with more details it would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Travelling with young teenagers we needed two rooms on the same floor and the hotel was happily able to assist with this. The rooms were very comfortable and serviced regularly. We enjoyed being within walking distance of the city centre and highlight areas like the Harbour Bridge, Opera House, The Rocks, Pitt Street Mall and Darling Harbour. Taxis stopped outside and the underground train station was only a few hundred metres away. The options for eating nearby are plentiful and a Coles Supermarket only a block away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rprinsep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Dear rprinsep

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed Sydney and in particular the Travelodge Wynyard.

Look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sydney


Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Let's start with the good: good customer service from front desk and duty manager; good location as you can walk to Circular Quay, Darling Harbor, and the Rock pretty easily.

The bad: the room and the furniture/fixtures are old, dirty, and sticky (remote control for the tv, bedside lamp, light switches, etc). The first room they assigned to us was really smelly. Smells like mildew/wet carpet and old milk. After complaining and having their "engineer" to come up to our room, they said that we had to stay there for the first night since they are sold out. The next morning we called them again and was promised that they can move us. The second room was smell free so it was good but similar to the first room, everything is old and dirty.

Housekeeping was horrible as well. They never gave us a hand towel. We have to call every day to complain about it with no improvements. We stay there for 6 nights and it happens every day. They also didn't refill toilet paper and tissue paper.

We paid around $135 (Australian dollars) on average per night but so it was not super cheap. It makes us think that we need to spend more on hotel in the future or avoid all travelodge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy and John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Dear Tracy and John R

You have flagged some valuable points that I will be addressing with my team in order to improve the guest's experience with us.

Once again thank you for highlighting theses issues and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back when you return to Sydney.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The location of this hotel is excellent. It is within walking distance of most sites. The hotel is clean with comfortable beds. The rooms are on the smallish side. The laundry is clean with full size machines. This is a very busy hotel. Although the staff is friendly they are really too busy to help with tourist type questions. We ate two meals in the hotel restaurant. The food was good but they were so short staffed that the service was very disappointing. Within two blocks is a business building with a food court that is open for breakfast and lunch. The food is very good at good prices. One does have to go further afield to locate a restaurant for evening meals. Darling Harbour is within walking distance and many restaurants and cafes are in this area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoneStarTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Dear LoneStarTrvlr


Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We are delighted you enjoyed Sydney and the Travelodge Wynyard. I will ensure I your feedback is shared with all of our team. I'm sure the kitchen team will be thrilled with your comments on the food. We will also be looking in to the staff levels in the restaurant.

Look forward to welcoming you back to our property when you next visit Sydney.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Even though the reviews for the hotel were largely positive, I still had a sense of dread that this hotel would be similar to the soulless, dreary and low quality hotel of the travel lodge chains in Uk/Ireland. Not the case. Despite my reservations, I booked the hotel because of the location and I have to say the location was better than expected. Yes it is handy for the rocks/circular quay and harbour, but it is also within easy walking of Darling Harbour. Its location close to wynard railway station is fantastic for the airport and is also a real bonus if like me you are visiting friends in Sydney and using the train. Downside is no wifi in the bedrooms, but Sydney just seems bad all round on this. We asked for early check in but did not get it. Overall though, this is my hotel for all future trips to Sydney.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducksinarow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Dear ducksinarow

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed Sydney and in particular the Travelodge Wynyard.

Look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Sydney


Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 181 in Sydney
5,448 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#21 of 181 in Sydney
6,335 reviews
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#110 of 181 in Sydney
2,014 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 181 in Sydney
5,035 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $115 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Toga Hotels, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing