We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not scure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Ranked #104 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My sister and husband and I were in Sydney for a Christmas holiday.

My sister had to change rooms three times due to smell and broken AC.

On our second night there we discovered that the keys to our room and my sister's room were identical. I don't know how many other people had keys to our rooms (we were tempted to go up and down the hall testing, but the hotel was full)

The night staff was completely dismissive of our concerns, the manager was uncontactable for our entire stay though he did follow up with an email after we had gotten home.

Other people's comments about the lack of privacy in the bathrooms were right on the mark, the rooms were dark and tired.

I had left a glass of wine with a small mouthful in the bottom of it on the bedside table and the cleaning staff left it there for three days.

Breakfast was excellent and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lahmalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 714 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We felt very lucky to find this hotel. It is a clean, elegant, friendly property at a fraction of the price of neighboring hotels. In the heart of the CBD (Central Business District), it is extremely convenient to everything. It doubles as the NSW Masonic Club, which may account for its warm, welcoming nature Each floor has a washer and dryer at the end of the hall. Free, not coin operated, including soap packets. It definitely deserves a 5 star rating for value. A few things downrate it to 4. The rooms are extremely small (but we have stayed in expensive hotels with equally small rooms.) There is no view -- frosted class in all windows, except those facing the street. (Important only if you plan to spend lots of time in the room). Our air conditioning worked, but I had the impression that it was not working in the rooms facing the street.
The hotel had a noise problem that was not its fault. Building construction was taking place next door, and sometimes continued through the night, in violation of the construction permit.

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms are next to the construction site. Front-facing rooms are slightly larger and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosenblatt98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We got a deal on this hotel and im glad we did because i wouldn't be happy paying full price..its a typical city hotel, grand entrance but rooms all crammed in to make as much income as they can so you hear everything..not that any other guest noisy. We had no natural daylight coming into our room and there was a constant noise all night. Building work going on next door so not sure if some sort of generator. If you just want somewhere central to stay thats clean but basic then its fine..staff are really friendly and helpful ..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Extremely hard to find without precise address.... hidden along the sidewalk with hardly any signage. Promised air conditioning did not exist for us. Bed was tired and smallish. Entire hotel is trying to keep up with the times. Large Keys needed to operate elevators. The good: Staff friendly and helpful. Other nearby hotels seemed more adequate--- at least in presentation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pablored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

If your preference in hotels is lots of glam and glitter, and the hotel itself is the object of your travel, then stop here and look elsewhere. If your preference is a clean, convenient and reasonably-priced place that you'll use as your base while you explore a city or area, then read on. Having read other reviews of the Castlereagh, I was a litte hesitant to book this place, but having done so, couldn't be happier. As noted in other reviews, the rooms here are a bit smaller than usual, but certainly within the range of being comfortable. The only thing lacking was a rack to place a suitcase on -- the floor and desk worked just fine for our two. Cleanliness? Spotless. Convenience? It's an easy 15-minute walk from Sydney Central train station, 20 minute walk to the Opera House, and 2 blocks from the CityLink St. James train station to get you to or from the airport. (Cost from St. James to the airport's international terminal is $16 AUD. St. James is located at the end of Hyde Park.) If you'e into shopping, you're in the heart of the central business district (CBD), with glamorous Pitt Street being just one block over. Cost? We paid $149 for the night, MUCH less than the big-name hotels within a two-block radius of the Castlereagh. Just a minute or two away, at 135, is the Palace Chinese Restaurant (see my review elsewhere) for a good Chinese dinner. (Scallops with pea pods -- yummy!) Bottom line, the Castlereagh is a bargain compared to its neighbors, and just as convenient. Next time in Sydney, we'll be staying here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room -- #612. No issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very run down, not updated at all. Itchy from sleeping in the bed, the toilet did not flush, service at front desk poor, lift was slow, room tiny, no parking on site, wall paper coming off the walls I don't know how this has a 4 star rating ? Who rated this 4 stars ? I would give it 0.5 star. Felt dirty staying there.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaygal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were a bit stuck for choice in Sydney as we were on a budget but needed to be in the CBD. Location was excellent - an easy walk to Hyde Park and the cathedral, and we even walked to circular quay (to save money).

Check in was a bit slow, and one night when we came back to get our key there was no one on reception, but we could clearly see all the room keys on display - anyone could have grabbed them TBH. We had to wait ten minutes until a member of staff came...

The room was tiny, like, REALLY small, but adequate, and everything worked including the shower. In this price bracket I'm thinking there is little else to choose from in this location. It was OK, and considering how expensive Sydney is for Brits, OK value for the location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conchwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#132 of 180 in Sydney
2,265 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#64 of 180 in Sydney
313 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#85 of 180 in Sydney
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlereagh Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Address: 169 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $109 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlereagh Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel is an elegantly restored, heritage-listed property ideally located in the heart of Sydney's commercial, retail and entertainment centre. The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel has a variety of public bars and dining areas to suit the needs of casual visitors and hotel guests. No stay at the Castlereagh would be complete without dining in the splendor of Cello's Restaurant, our Grand Dining Room, one of the last of its kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castlereagh Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlereagh Boutique Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing