We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Club like atmosphere - which is what it is!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Ranked #96 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Club like atmosphere - which is what it is!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel is actually the Masonic Lodge in Sydney - which has an olde world club like atmosphere that some love and some really dislike. I tended to waiver between the two! Not really a good place to meet business guests, unless they are over 70. Staff friendly but helpful in a club like manner. Lifts broke down and no real way to get off the sixth floor, until i found the service elevator ( no phones in left lobby ). Room very dark, mustard color with low wattage energy saving gloves, no windows - felt very gloomy. On the positive side, very quiet, lovely old building, good rates, very clean, and safe. Might recommend this place to my Mum!

Room Tip: Only stay here if you like club like atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevor_townsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    253
    145
    68
    47
See reviews for
60
282
59
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

We were overnighting in Sydney before traveling onto our next destination and after reading the reviews decided that we would give the Park8 a try. One very big mistake for the night rate we paid it was overpriced and overrated having stayed in other Hotels through out the world, they gave us a dark and dingy room on the 5th floor no natural light, small rom and the room was not clean.
The only thing going for this hotel that the reception staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryM385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Stoke sub Hamdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We have stayed here for the first time was Aug 2010 for 6 nights and we quickly realised we had found a gem of a Hotel. So much so that when we returned to Sydney in Jan 2012 we rebooked even though we found cheaper hotels available. The location is great for exploring Sydney close to several train stations and walking distance from circular quay and Sydney’s nightlife. The hotel its self is a gem from the past the foyer is from its Victorian past and as you walk into the hotel you enter a world of peace and tranquillity! The staff are very helpful and friendly and check in was faultless and quick. The rooms are small but they do have everything you require from a hotel room the rooms are very clean and serviced every day. There is building work on one side of the hotel, so if you want a quiet lay in ask the staff for a room on the other side of the hotel although this side is darker. We love this hotel and l we are looking forward to our next visit

Room Tip: the east side room are effected by building work noise however they are nice and bright! the west si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Ontario
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Sydney is an expensive and difficult city for hotel rooms. If you are searching on-line for a room, rates can double or triple overnight. The Castlereagh is in a good location and comes at a fair price for downtown Sydney. It is close to the busses, trains and shopping and eating areas. It's clean and the rooms are well maintained. The staff are helpful and the carpets and furnishings are generally good quality.

The hotel is located in the HQ building of the New South Wales Freemasons. I am guessing that the hotel rooms were originally occupied by members staying overnight because they are very small and there is no storage space. The rooms are large enough for a single occupant but if you have a spouse, partner or anyone else camping in your room, it’s a bit cramped. The window came with frosted glass - probably just as well since it overlooked a brick wall and a building site. A kettle was provided along with tea and coffee supplies but no power point for the kettle. (You can plug it into one of the bathroom sockets or one of the sockets on the floor).

Wifi is available in every room but make sure that this is included in your room rate otherwise you will be charged $10 a day.

If you can live with the small room, lack of storage space and lack of a view, this is a good place to stay because of its location and price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KanataMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallerawang
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

it was a good motel they have got new carpet in the halls and in the rooms new shower head

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twosisters4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Hotel was in a great location walked every where. Got train from airport, train station very close.

Room was noisy with a construction site close by, but being early rises was not a big issue.

No natural light in room and no view from rooms.

Breakfast was too expensive so we ate else where.

Fast check in and friendly staff.

We had a great time visiting Sydney!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
188 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

I was initially attracted to the hotel because its price was so competitive compared to so many others hotels in the central business district (CBD). After I booked I was a tad skeptical because with a price that was anywhere from 1/3 to 1/2 of other hotels in the vicinity, the deal seemed too good to be true.

In fact I really enjoyed my 5 night stay at the Castlereaugh. Without a doubt, I would stay there again. The location, friendly staff, and slightly above basic room features made this a hotel a great deal.

My check-in was very quick and I have to thank Louis at the front desk for his incredibly quick, attentive, and professional service. He was always very quick and to provide me with my key on the many comings and going from the hotel. Room 609 was very spacious and had two twin beds. I was a single traveler so there was plenty of space to spare. DOn't expect a view though. The glass is smoked so you can't see out but some light is let in. On my last night I stayed in room 807 (a single and rather tight) because I added the last night on at the last minute. However, the absence of a view isn't really a big deal because there is nothing to see outside except other buildings and a skyscraper that is going up next to the Castlereaugh.

There is a noise issue with this hotel though because a skyscraper is being constructed literally right next to the hotel. I always sleep with earplugs in and this would be a good idea here. In my grading, I'm not faulting the hotel because it's really out of their control. However, it is an unavoidable nuisance. The noises started around 7am and ceased around 6pm. At times the noise level was quite elevated.

My two rooms were nicely but basically furnished. Both had a small desk, a smallish closet, and a minibar fridge. The wifi had it moments of strength but more often than not the signal was a bit on the weak side. The bathrooms in both rooms were probably the best feature. Not that they were spacious mind you, but there was lots of water pressure in the shower and I loved the wide shower head (they look like a sunflower or the type Holiday Inn Express uses in the USA). The tiling in the showers was very classy too. In fact the oddest feature of the entire room was having to step up into the bathroom. I found myself tripping over the ledge many a time.

The bedding was okay but not dazzling. Don't expect Westin bedding at this price. The mattress was on the firm side. I've slept in a lot worse beds and there are extra comforters tucked in the closet. Not once did I need the air conditioning though I did test it to see if it works; and it did.

Location is really what this hotel is about. The value of being about a 10 min walk to Darling Harbour, two blocks from either Town Hall or St James Cityrail stops, and half a block from a bus stop is immense. The easiest and fastest way to Circular Quay was walking to St James station and then taking the train to the next stop which is Circular Quay. There are numerous buses that depart Circular Quay and head down Castlreaugh St, so it's never more than few minutes for a bus.

There are restaurants everywhere and plenty of snack shops too. You'll never have to walk more than a half a block to find something to eat. I made frequent stops at the Woolworth store that is attached to the Town Hall Station. I stocked up on fresh fruit, veggies, and inexpensive priced snacks for my munching between meals. Queen Victoria Building and all of the associated shopping is also two blocks away.

Lastly, the staff were exceptionally friendly. Sophe and Louis at the front desk were real stand outs. It was a nice to be recognized by them after all the comings and goings (you leave your key at the front desk when leaving the property).

The Castereagh is not what I would truly label a boutique hotel. There is much character in this building especially in the lobby. This is an endearing part of the hotel, but the hotel doesn't make any claim to be trendy or even fashionable. The rooms are clean, functional, and as one would expect for the price, they were on the comfortable side of basic. I give this hotel 4 stars because the staff were so kind and warm and the location is so central. But this is not a 4 star in the normal sense as I would expect a Hilton, Marriott, or Sheraton to be. You will go without the extras like a fitness center, a pool, a doorman, and a concierge.

Guests that spend long days out of the room exploring the city or doing business then return looking for a relaxing place to rest that is both economical and yet comforting should find the Castereaugh a pleasant place.

Room Tip: Room 609 has two twin beds and is quite spacious. Room 807 is a single and is very compact. Noise un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RegionalRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#122 of 179 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#50 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#75 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlereagh Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Property: Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Address: 169 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlereagh Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel is an elegantly restored, heritage-listed property ideally located in the heart of Sydney's commercial, retail and entertainment centre. The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel has a variety of public bars and dining areas to suit the needs of casual visitors and hotel guests. No stay at the Castlereagh would be complete without dining in the splendor of Cello's Restaurant, our Grand Dining Room, one of the last of its kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castlereagh Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlereagh Boutique Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing