We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable affordable business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #53 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable affordable business stay”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Finding an affordable hotel in Sydney on the budget allowed by my employer is a challenge. Being a member of Rydges Priority Guest program, I was able to take advantage of a special price on condition that check-in was not available until after 8.30pm. Check-in was smooth and the service was great - smiles are always appreciated. The room was a good size for one person on a business trip and the bed very comfortable. I especially appreciated the peace and quiet which made for a restful night. The bathroom surprisingly had a separate shower and the only negative for me was the vanity unit being somewhat lacking in surface space for cosmetics etc. A note for housekeeping - more attention to detail is required, the hair in the bathtub was not attractive.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out onto the central atrium are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyday59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
happyday59, thank you for taking the time to review. I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to our Reception team who provided you with a friendly and efficient check in. I will also pass your feedback on to Housekeeping to ensure we are maintaining our standard of service.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    897
    369
    131
    61
See reviews for
373
623
173
578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
365 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is surprisingly good and in a great location. The service and check-in was easy and we were upgraded to a suite. The view was looking at another building. The room was very quiet and clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was also good quality with plenty of healthy options.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a suite with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tania d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Many thanks Tania d, for your great review. I’m glad we were able to accommodate an upgrade to one of our suits on your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was surprised by this hotel. Check in was a breeze, super quick and we were located on the 19th floor overlooking Pitt St. For a hotel in the middle of the city on a Friday and Saturday night, I was very surprised at how quiet it was. The room was a good size, clean and the bathroom large with separate bath and shower. The location above World Square was good, an easy walk from Museum station, to Town Hall, QVB or Westfield and plenty of food choices directly below as well as Coles open 6am to midnight. Had a drink at the Square Bar, which was good, didn't use any other facilities. I would stay again.
We booked through HotelTravel.com and got a good deal and no problems.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your check in was quick and efficient.

I hope to see you again at Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
528 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had 3 nights at Rydges World Square in October and would certainly stay there again. It is such a convenient location, less than 5 minutes walk to the Museum station which is on the airport train line. The hotel is in an area which is chock full of restaurants, bars and shops, which offer great value. Nearby is Darling Harbour and the Pitt Street Mall for department and chain stores. We were able to walk from the hotel to Oxford Street, Paddington and Circular Quay in 20 minutes. The World Square shopping centre is not much, and there are much better shopping centres all within 15 minutes walk.
We were fortunate to get a room upgrade and our room was well fittted out and in excellent condition. If you are a Rydges Priority Guest member you can enjoy a discount at the bar. We had a couple of meals at the hotel and they were good, though a trifle expensive if you don't have a discount entitlement.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
It definitely sounds like you had a pleasing stay with us. We are in a prime location of Sydney’s CBD and as mentioned in walking distance to many of Sydney’s attractions and shopping precincts.

Our Priority Guest Rewards Program does offer our members discounts throughout our services and facilities and also accommodation discounts upon making your reservation.

I hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We loved staying here and were lucky enough to be upgraded to an executive suite and also some free champagne plus a personalised note wishing us a happy 2nd anniversary! We had so much fun, it was a great location and would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
It’s wonderful you enjoyed spending your anniversary with us at Rydges World Square. I’m glad our amenities made your day extra special.
I hope to welcome you back to Sydney.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Picked this hotel on location and the Rydges name which once meant good quality and value for money. Cost nearly $400.00 for what is a very basic hotel, with a very run-down feel. Bathroom cleanliness was only moderate (hair in the basin, definitely not mine!).

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Paul W, it’s disappointing to hear on this occasion we haven’t met your expectations. This is definitely not our usual stand of service. We have addressed your comments to ensure your next experience is a more favourable one

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here for our business trip for 3 nights. The location was just perfect to get around Sydney CBD. There are many kinds of restaurants to choose and the mall is very near if you love shopping! We walked from the hotel to Sydney harbour bridge and Opera house about 15-20 minutes. The room was old style but clean. The breakfast was great. I would recommend this hotel for those who want to stay in the city of Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siri_bebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
It’s wonderful to hear that you have had a pleasant stay with us at Rydges World Square. We are defiantly in a prime location to many of Sydney’s popular attractions.
I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#75 of 178 in Sydney
1,654 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#26 of 178 in Sydney
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Property: Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing