We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business overnighter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #50 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Business overnighter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and easily reached by train from the airport (get off at Museum). The room was roomy with the usual amenities including comfy armchair and coffee table. Bathroom had separate bath and shower. Staff all very helpful but having the conceirge on the first floor and the baggage area downstairs gets messy when there are large tour groups in the hotel.
WORST thing about the hotel however is the ridiculous internet charges. In this day and age hotels must do something about the excessive prices they charge for internet access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We are very fortunate to be situated in such a prime location within Sydney’s CBD. We do have two Concierge desks available, one on the lobby and lower lobby level, giving our staff and guests more access at peak times.

Internet is at a charge and if you are a member with our Priority Guest Rewards programme you are entitled to a 50% discount.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    877
    362
    131
    61
See reviews for
366
613
170
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a great hotel if you are looking to be close to China Town, Paddy Markets and Darling Harbour. Room not so big but adequate. Staff at front desk could be a little friendlier, concierge very nice. Typical city parking $60 - 24 hours - not that cheap. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLMSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
As mentioned we are in close proximity to many of Sydney’s attractions.

I hope you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location - close to Sydney CBD. Room was comfortable.
The hotel needs to do something about the functions they have there as the lobby gets congested with people attending these functions, blocking access to elevators and making it difficult for guests entering/exiting the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you Nicole W for your feedback. I have noted your comments and will discuss them further with our Conferencing team.

I do hope to see you again soon at Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed two nights on a business trip and felt Rydges World Square was the perfect location. The staff were friendly and very helpful. I was a little confused when I arrived as there are two entrances and as i had quite a bit of luggage struggled to get to the Front Desk (as was dropped at the wrong entrance by the taxi).
The room was of good size and had a spacious bathroom with a great shower! They had a great breakfast selection if choosing a Bed & Breakfast option.
Would highly recommend if staying in Sydney for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlacierSouthernLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Many thanks for such a rewarding comment. We are fortunate to have two entrances which makes it very convenient for our guest entering and exiting the hotel.

I will pass on your kind comment to our chef and his team.

Overall it sounds like you have enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The convenient downtown location of this Sydney metro hotel is the main feature for choosing to stay. It must be noted that the check-in desk on the first floor (reached by either elevator or escalator) can be deceptive. There is no clear delineation as to where to stand to either check in or out. In other words one has to stand back and wait for someone to beckon you forward from others also standing around. ( would help if there was some signage or queue system).
The room was fairly standard, basically equipped, comfortable but bland. A large screen budget nondescript maker LCD TV is provided.
My room on the 20th floor looked West into a central courtyard with no view except for other rooms and surrounding high rise apartments, etc, and down into a mall.
The dining room was adequate and convenient if one did not want to go to myriads of restaurants in surrounding streets or close by Chinatown.
The hotel is close to Museum Station (3 block walk to/from Rydges) and very convenient coming from Sydney Airport as the station is on the airport link loop, ie next stop from Central Station.
I feel the room price is somewhat exorbitant for what is provided, but I suppose the captive market and the hotel location can sustain the asking price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tastony2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are very fortunate to be located in such a central location within the CBD. Our location provides us with limited views.

Our Reception desk is not limited to only check in or check out lines and our staff are able to attend any issue. It definitely makes it quicker and more convenient in our peak times.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buddina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in a family room for 3 nights. Room was spacious with a king bed in one room and 2 singles in 2nd room. Both rooms had flat screen tv's which was great for the kids.
Close to Darling Harbour and a lot of good Asian restaurants as you are basically in China town.
Retail shops in the complex, including Coles.
Bit of a walk to Circular Quay but you can catch the free bus that runs up and down George St, bus No 555.
My tip is to join Rydges Priority Rewards (free online) and booked early. We received a good price including parking (normally $60/night) & breakfast got 4. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desmonds7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you Desmonds7 for a wonderful review. It certainly sound like you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope to see you and your family here again at Rydges World Square.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This centrally located hotel is close to all the actions in Sydney CBD. China Town, QBV, Pitt Street Mall, Hyde Park, Central Station all within 5-10 walk. Downstairs you have countless restaurants, shops and supermarkets.

However the hotel rooms look very tired. Although clean, the furnitures need replacement and the room need renovation. I would rate it 3.5 star rather than 4.5 star.

Staff is friendly and courteous. Breakfast and coffee are actually very reasonably priced (comparable to cafes outside of hotel).

The price is on the high side for this standard, probably because of the location. We paid the same price for a 5 star hotel, Amora at Circular Quay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
As you said we are centrally located in the heart of Sydney’s CBD, making it very accessible for our guest to explore the likes of Sydney.

We have currently undergone a refresh of the lobby area which has given the space a very lively feel. Our next project we hope to have underway next year will be a refurbishment of our guest rooms.

Kind regards
John McIlwain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#72 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Property: Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing